1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra on a Hyper 412s

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by gasolin, Jun 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gasolin

Thanks Received:
    I have a Cooler master Hyper 412s and have bought some Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra for tim (i7 7700k delid)
    is it also safe to use for my cpu cooler ? I have heard it doesn’t work with Aluminum heatsinks.

2. Kursah

Kursah Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    I wouldn't.

I researched this same thing when I delidded my 4790K and applied CLU. I stuck with some AC MX-4 or Noctua NT-1 (iirc) for the TIM between IHS and cooler. I did use some RTV sealant to glue the IHS back to the CPU PCB. Dropped around 10-12C temps on each core. :D

Here's one of the links I found when researching this a while ago in the Googles. :toast:

10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Mr.Scott

Mr.Scott

Thanks Received:
    It eats aluminum.
    Your direct contact heatpipes are housed in aluminum, so no, don't use it.
    It's actually ok to use on copper but be advised, the only way to get it off is to lap it.
    I hate the stuff. :p

Last edited: Jun 16, 2017
  4. gasolin

Thanks Received:
    I happen to notice it doesn't work with aluminuim heatsinks, cooler master say 4 Direct Contact Heat Pipes / Aluminum Fins.

I have bought some Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra (getting it next week) because some say it's alot better than the Gelid GC extreme i used for tim.

5. dorsetknob

dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

Thanks Received:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Definitely do not use Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra
    It contains gallium and gallium does not react well with copper and or aluminum