1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core 2 Duo

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MiST91, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. MiST91 Guest

    hi, i really feel a twat/noob asking this but... i have just sold my old motherboard and processor so i can buy a core 2 duo, basicly, will a CORE 2 DUO E6300 be faster at stock speeds than my Pentium D 915 2.8GHz? and also how high will i be able to overclock the E6300.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    although i don;t know about the mobo question (cause i don't know the chipset) i can say yeap on the faster wuestion and as overclocking depend on mobo and chipset
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. MiST91 Guest

    sorry i forgot to write mobo and chipset, its a GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R using the Intel P35 chipset. oh, and i will be using 2GB (2x 1GB) of OCZ 667MHz Value series RAM
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    336
    Location:
    Blighty
    that board/chip combo should easily do over 3 ghz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    we all were once upon a time
     
  6. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Stock to stock? A C2D will be at least 25% faster. (depending on application/benchmark) Also, while both CPUs have some overclocking potential C2D has more. (Well, this depends on other components and quality of those components. Motherboard for one.)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. MiST91 Guest

    so, when i get my C2D i will notice a differance from my stock Pentium D 915 just doing everyday tasks (windows media player, web browsing and the odd game)?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Completely off topic...Where abouts in Rotherham you live Mist..?
    I too live around there..:)
     
  9. MiST91 Guest

    i live in kiveton park m8 (about 20 mins drive from town, about 10 min from worksop)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i dont understand why you are paying extra for a ddr3 board only to use the bare minimum that it will support (ddr2 667)?

    i understand if your wanting to upgrade later on and save $ now by using ddr2, but at least use 800 not 667, since there is only $5 difference in prices
     
  12. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,119 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Florida, US
    ohhh yeah definately the c2d will rape the pent D
    my e4400 at stock(2.0GHz) was much faster than my pent D 805 at 3.6GHz
     
  13. MiST91 Guest

    thanks, that webpage is great, and shows me i havn't just wasted my money :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. MiST91 Guest

    i bought that motherboard because i got it off ebay brand new for £50, why pay extra for just a DDR2 board when for £50 i can buy me some DDR3 when it comes down in price, and also i am fully aware that there is only a tiny differance in price for 667MHz and 800MHz but i am very short of cash as it is xmas, and i already have 1GB of OCZ so i bought another 1GB off ebay for less than £10
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,746 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    ok it makes sense now, you had me scratching my head :confused:

    now i understand the logic but it would have been great if you could have sold the 667 to get $ for all 800

    it sounds like you have a very nice system now :toast:
     
  16. MiST91 Guest

    yeah, i really wanted to get my self 2GB of OCZ Platinum XTC 800MHz RAM, its only £30 ($60ish), as soon as xmas is over that will be my next purchase :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. MiST91 Guest

    i know this is a little off topic, but my current motherboard only supports SATA I, when i get my GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R tommorow with SATA II, will i notice any differance?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,755 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,629
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I didn't, burst speeds may be faster, but if you get a performance based HDD or RAID there should be some performance increase.

    Also, I have an e6300 OC'd on a P965mb...check my system specs. These chips OC well, and 3GHZ is not asking too much from it, hell I can use low fan speed on my cooler and keep this thing well below 55C at low fan speed (~900rpm on AC Freezer 7 Pro).

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)