• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

core i7 920 OC and RAM question

Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#1
Ok, so I know that core i7 stock can't run RAM at higher then 1066mhz... and that with a 3.33 OC, you can make RAM run to 1333mhz....

What if you put 1066mhz bus or something and put a 3x multiplier... will it work? will it be stable? could you put a 2133mhz RAM (if you buy it at that speed) on there and it will be stable?

or maybe something less extravagant like 267 mhz bus at 12x multiplier...

what are the inconveniences of having a higher bus with a lower multiplier?

ty in advance :D

P.S: if there were none, i'm pretty sure many ppl would do it right?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#2
ummmm... ANYONE???????? :wtf:
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#3
Ok, so I know that core i7 stock can't run RAM at higher then 1066mhz... and that with a 3.33 OC, you can make RAM run to 1333mhz....

What if you put 1066mhz bus or something and put a 3x multiplier... will it work? will it be stable? could you put a 2133mhz RAM (if you buy it at that speed) on there and it will be stable?

or maybe something less extravagant like 267 mhz bus at 12x multiplier...

what are the inconveniences of having a higher bus with a lower multiplier?

ty in advance :D

P.S: if there were none, i'm pretty sure many ppl would do it right?
People do this all the time. That's how all the RAM OC records are done I don't see what you're getting at.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.56/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#4
Ok, so I know that core i7 stock can't run RAM at higher then 1066mhz...
Umm...yes it can. The i7 920 can run 1333mhz stock and on some boards (such as the asus p6t deluxe) can run ram at 1600mhz with pre-set bios settings.

I wouldn't worry about if a core i7 can run ram at certain speeds to be honest - if the ram is rated to run at a certain speed at 1.65v or less then you'll manage it on a core i7 as they overclock like a dream...

With overclocking you can run ram at 2000mhz+ but for that you'd need to do a decent overclock on a core i7 920 or have a i7 965 as well as have good cooling and amazing ram that can run that fast without needing much voltage over 1.65v.

All core i7 retail versions (not the engineering samples afaik) have unlocked memory multipliers which make this possible.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#5
Umm...yes it can. The i7 920 can run 1333mhz stock and on some boards (such as the asus p6t deluxe) can run ram at 1600mhz with pre-set bios settings.

I wouldn't worry about if a core i7 can run ram at certain speeds to be honest - if the ram is rated to run at a certain speed at 1.65v or less then you'll manage it on a core i7 as they overclock like a dream...

With overclocking you can run ram at 2000mhz+ but for that you'd need to do a decent overclock on a core i7 920 or have a i7 965 as well as have good cooling and amazing ram that can run that fast without needing much voltage over 1.65v.

All core i7 retail versions (not the engineering samples afaik) have unlocked memory multipliers which make this possible.
Thanks for replies :)

Just one thing, I've seen SOOOO many threads that it can't run at higher than 1066 (133mhz bus x8)... most people said to OC the bus to 166...

I just like to try to understand everything :p
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.56/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#6
Thanks for replies :)

Just one thing, I've seen SOOOO many threads that it can't run at higher than 1066 (133mhz bus x8)... most people said to OC the bus to 166...

I just like to try to understand everything :p
No probs :toast:

Yeah, the engineering samples for core i7 had locked memory multipliers, so the 920ES couldn't run 1333 which is where a lot of the misconceptions come from (people read the reviews on engineering samples and havn't read reviews on proper samples) as the retail/oem core i7s have unlocked memory multipliers :D

I know that some memory speed support such as 1600/2000mhz can be dependant on both the motherboard and the oc of your processor (i think some mobo's can auto oc your proc for 1600mhz ram, but for 2000mhz you need to oc the processor yourself to get a fast enough NB speed, i could be mistaken however).
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#7
NB, i believe is north bridge right? so is NB speeds referring to front bus speeds? sry for my inactivity btw, I had lots of studying to do :p
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.56/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#8
NB, i believe is north bridge right? so is NB speeds referring to front bus speeds? sry for my inactivity btw, I had lots of studying to do :p
Hehe you and me both, i've never had so many high level exams in one week in my life (nor will i ever again).

There is no "fsb" in the core i7 architecture, the NB (in cpu-z) is the speed of the memory controller in the processor, and obviously the faster it is the better it is for your memory.

Other than the speed of the memory controller there is also the speed of the QPI which is the link to the I/O hub (aka northbridge on older architecure procs) and there is also the bclk (base clock). The base clock is the speed of the logic (main part) of the processor and gives the cpu speed when the multiplier is applied, it also governs the speed of the QPI, the speed of the memory controller (NB) and the speed of the memory attatched to it (although the qpi and memory/memory controller speeds do have multipliers attatched to reduce their frequency when overclocking).

I know you'll probably know most, if not all, of what i've put there but it was easier to list all the different components/clocks of the processor than just one part :)

Any more questions feel free to ask although i've got an exam tomorrow after which i'm gonna drink away all i learned for my exams this semester so i may not reply until sunday/monday (feel free to shoot me a PM if i don't reply if you have any more questions).
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,027 (2.74/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#9
hehe thanks... just like that, NO I did NOT know most of what you said :p I am very new to computers etc... My last desktop cost me 2000$ and was 200mhz :p

I did try to learn though, so my knowledge isn't so bad...

but still... all that confuses me since I haven't bought my new rig yet... but all is good :)

Soooooo, do you think it is worth it to buy 2ghz RAM? btw is faster speed better than lower latencies? how will a cas 5 1600mhz ddr3 tri channel compare to a 2ghz cas 8 or 9?