1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i7 965 extreme or qx965 quad

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by zOaib, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    usually, on 1.39V (at least for C0) you usually get 4ghz
     
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,090 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    i get 4.2 lol.

    anyway @ op.

    if you have a 955 and a QX965 now. i say stick with what you got.
     
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    wouldn't it be cheaper to upgrade than to stay?
     
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,859 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Ohio
    nope. The i965 extreme is a thousand dollars on it's own. factor in a decent ddr3 ram kit which will cost anywhere from 150 dollars and up, a decent motherboard which will be 200 dollars and up, and if you don't want to be slow-roasting your processor, a decent watercooling kit, 200 dollars and up...
     
  5. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    i7 920 230$ DFI DK 220$ and 6gb of SuperTalent or Crucials 80$ + 9$ ship for DFI and 16$ tax for i7 (Microcenter) = 555$ + s1283V or s1284EE 40$ = 595$
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,584 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,513
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Damn thats toasty :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    and we love toasty :) at least the i7 handles toasty quite well :)
     
  8. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    That doesnt mean we should push it...It is not cheap so it ain't worth it.
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  9. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Its not cheap, but it is by far worth it...
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,584 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,513
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Agreed not cheap at all when you factor everything in, although it's an OEM chip so if it goes bang after 3 months no warranty :cry: Working on the voltage now to see how low I can get.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 28, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    nope , and yes i am talking about cpu , gpu , ram , mobo only =)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    How is it worth it exactly ? From 3.8 to 4.2 you get around a 3fps increase in Far Cry 2 and hardly 1 fps increase in Crysis....So explain to me what you mean with worth it ? Unless we are talking about Overclockers who like to brag about who has the most dry ice in their rooms :)
     
  13. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,859 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, most people like 4.0GHz better than 3.8GHz, just cause they were able to hit 4GHz.
     
  14. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    He meant worth it vs stock...

    DFI DK 220$ and 6gb of SuperTalent 80$ + 9$ ship for DFI + s1283V or s1284EE 40$ + i7 either used or ask a TPU member to buy it for you (a trusted one) and ship it to you 260$ or if you don't want a hassle just from newegg at 290$... = 640$ or so


    I don't think you need a tri-fire or quad-fire


    will be more specific later
     
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,859 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,657
    Location:
    Ohio
    He said "From 3.8 to 4.2". There are no i7 chips that run 3.8GHz stock settings.
     
  16. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    I must fail to see that quote... anyhow, I'm pretty sure this is a misunderstanding and he MEANT to say it's worth it to OC an i7, NOT OC from 3.8 to 4.2....

    Anyways... Here it is, 634$ without SSDs (ship inc.) or 912$ inc SSDs

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2009
    zOaib says thanks.
  17. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    that's awesome:)
    Wish I could buy SSDs
     
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    thxs :) Vertex are super duper good SSDs
     
  19. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    very nice N-ster u sure have pulled my interest in the 600+ upgrade here, i will not be getting ssds at this time since i dont think they r worth the price to pay right now , specially for 2 30gb ssds, ill most likely jsut get a 300gb ratoptor wd ............... now off to the egg to get this shiat.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    nono if you're not getting SSDs, get 2 of these and RAID 0 them :) or get another drive that is exactly the same as you already have for some RAID 0 goodness lol

    unless you already have RAID 0 from your WD drives... so without RAID 0 = 635$ with 2 500GB RAID 0 = 755$

    btw, I recommended that HDD because it is only 1 platter of 500gb instead of 2-3 platters :) (makes it much FASTER)
     
  21. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,022 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    question for you N-ster(I'm not trying to start a fight, I'm honestly curious about this), why do you keep recommending a motherboard that has a high rate of failure that you have acknowledged? What makes this board so good that it's worth taking a chance having to RMA it?

     
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    You don't need to bump the voltage as much (example maybe the DFI could get 4ghz on 1.35 stable instead of 1.39), and especially the GREAT BIOS with so many options... Also,, it is quite cheap :)

    and no your not starting a fight :) It actually is a good question to ask :p
     
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,584 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,513
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I do think perhaps it was early batches of the DFI DK, it's not just a problem that DFI have suffered with on in the early days of the X58 platform, there are been a number of issues with boards from EVGA and Biostar to name but a few.... however I acknowledge that it's still not good. Fingers crossed, my DFi has to date been trouble free, I am sure there are better boards out there, but for the price all I can say is "wow", it is really really nice to work with :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,001 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Tatty, don't worry :) usually when their is a problem, the problem appears very early... Hopefully the internet won't go bad on ya like Fits' board :p
     
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,022 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    ok, but what good is the good low voltage and great bios if the board don't work to begin with? Personally, if I was to buy that board on recommendation from you, it came DOA, and I found out you knew it had a high rate of failure and didn't give any warning of, I'd be extremely upset, and definently my opinion of the knowledge of the people that recommended me a known high failure rate board would go down dramatically.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)