• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i7 965 XE Races Through to 4.20 GHz

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,820 (4.32/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
I can get 4.2gig on 1.35v :D .....taking into account that Nahlem is of course faster than Wolfdale clock for clock, lets say I can get 4.4gig on 1.425v ;) This kinda worries me abit, mainly cause it suggests to run at say 4gig 24/7 you are still gonna need like 1.6V.....thats just un-realistic.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,838 (1.05/day)
System Name Glow
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450M Aorus AM4 ATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3000Mhz C15
Video Card(s) XFX RX 580
Storage 500 Samsung 960 Evo Pro M.2, 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 276E8VJSB 27" 4k IPS
Case NZXT H500i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2
Software Win 10 Education / KDE Neon Dual Boot
I can get 4.2gig on 1.35v :D .....taking into account that Nahlem is of course faster than Wolfdale clock for clock, lets say I can get 4.4gig on 1.425v ;) This kinda worries me abit, mainly cause it suggests to run at say 4gig 24/7 you are still gonna need like 1.6V.....thats just un-realistic.
Even so, you only have half the logical cores and less than half the memory bandwidth. But, then again, your proc was half the price, and those won't matter in 90% of apps anyway (well, maybe 80). :) And yeah, doesn't seem to practical.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
3,635 (0.87/day)
Location
California
But, seriously, do we need Quad-cores over 4GHz?
If the slowest i7 core able to OC to 3.2GHz and with voltage under 1.3v, then I think it's already too good to kick AMD ass.
And according to the Vantage CPU score, Nehalem prove to be faster than the current QX ~25% clock vs clock.

We do not need Quad-core 4GHz for gaming, and I don't think there are many people like to run their CPUs 24/7 with a voltage over 1.4v
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,167 (0.76/day)
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
But, seriously, do we need Quad-cores over 4GHz?
If the slowest i7 core able to OC to 3.2GHz and with voltage under 1.3v, then I think it's already too good to kick AMD ass.
It's too good to be better? What? XD
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
557 (0.14/day)
Location
Bradford, PA
System Name Fenix
Processor AMD A8-3820 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard HP 2ACF
Cooling AMD
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6550
Storage 320GB Seagate
Display(s) Dell 19"
Case Unknown
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Bloomfield with 1.7 volts = Boomfield!

Dude, that thing would probably explode with all those volts!!!
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,918 (3.89/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.53/day)
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
not surprised by the results at all. I expected to be around 4 gig. I think the IMC has a lot do with this. What kind of cooling was used, BTW? Air, water?

And this is extreme version with unlocked multi, i wonder how the lower chips will do?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
3,635 (0.87/day)
Location
California
These things are barely any faster than a QX9770...
Check out some 3DMark Vantage CPU scores here:

Link.

I can understand why you think so, but let's me tell you something, which games at this moment can fully support 4 cores and 8 threads?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,697 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Check out some 3DMark Vantage CPU scores here:

Link.

I can understand why you think so, but let's me tell you something, which games at this moment can fully support 4 cores and 8 threads?
Not to mention being synthetic that it's practically all BS anyway.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,838 (1.05/day)
System Name Glow
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450M Aorus AM4 ATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3000Mhz C15
Video Card(s) XFX RX 580
Storage 500 Samsung 960 Evo Pro M.2, 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 276E8VJSB 27" 4k IPS
Case NZXT H500i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2
Software Win 10 Education / KDE Neon Dual Boot
Not to mention being synthetic that it's practically all BS anyway.
No it's not, synthetic benchmarks are intended to do the same things that would be required of your hardware during normal computing tasks, and even if not it still is a good indicator of raw power, although vantage is probably not the best, especially when considering game performance.

Also I wonder about the stepping, if this is an unfinished stepping the results may be less than at launch.

I mean, It's already better than AMD with a huge gap, even If it's not OC good.
The denab has been show at these speeds, if they have closed the clock for clock gap then those may actually be closer than amd has been in a while (since before core 2), at least w/ apps that don't utilize 8 threads (most of them). And I would wager those come in at much less than $999......
 

aquariuz

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
Fsb?

sorry guys, im not very well informed about these things, but I heard before dat the nehalems no longer uses FSB but instead something called quickpath. Alrite, but why was FSB mentioned here though? is there something im missing here? :banghead:

thnks guys.
 

karlotta

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Location
Oregon
I think somebody missed the real score. Look at the Everest cache and Memory bench...
No Wolfy is getting 16000, and 26.4 Lat. If you cant use that then stick with your Benchmark Game and clock till you drop. The X48 and p45 will be around for awhile ,though they are getting stale.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,838 (1.05/day)
System Name Glow
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450M Aorus AM4 ATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3000Mhz C15
Video Card(s) XFX RX 580
Storage 500 Samsung 960 Evo Pro M.2, 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 276E8VJSB 27" 4k IPS
Case NZXT H500i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2
Software Win 10 Education / KDE Neon Dual Boot
sorry guys, im not very well informed about these things, but I heard before dat the nehalems no longer uses FSB but instead something called quickpath. Alrite, but why was FSB mentioned here though? is there something im missing here? :banghead:

thnks guys.
Cpu-z has just not been updated most likely. They may still call it fsb, even though the architecture is completely different, but most likely after release it will be changed to qpi.

I think somebody missed the real score. Look at the Everest cache and Memory bench...
No Wolfy is getting 16000, and 26.4 Lat. If you cant use that then stick with your Benchmark Game and clock till you drop. The X48 and p45 will be around for awhile ,though they are getting stale.
That is of course the biggest improvement nehalem brings to the table, improved bandwidth and latency, truly utilizing ddr3 (actually what's really surprising there is the ddr3 is only running in dual channel). The performance of that system though, when matched w/ what it will cost ($1k for the cpu, $500 for the mem, untold for the board, untold for the cooling) is not good at all though. Still, promising for the future, but amd has some pretty good bandwidth themselves....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
567 (0.14/day)
Location
Germany
I didn't see mentions about the TEMP.

With 1.7Vcore I guess this baby is running HOT HOT!
 

Hitsugaya_Toushirou

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
sorry guys, im not very well informed about these things, but I heard before dat the nehalems no longer uses FSB but instead something called quickpath. Alrite, but why was FSB mentioned here though? is there something im missing here? :banghead:

thnks guys.
Intel's QuickPath Interconnect is still considered a Bus since the definition of a 3rd generation bus includes AMD's HyperTransport, which is more or less equivalent to Intel's Quickpath Interconnect. And since it is the bus which connects the CPU to the Northbridge, it is still called the FSB although a different kind of FSB to the traditional old architecture.
AMD has had their HyperTransport since 2001 but it has always been called a FSB so it is the same thing here.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,666 (8.51/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
sorry guys, im not very well informed about these things, but I heard before dat the nehalems no longer uses FSB but instead something called quickpath. Alrite, but why was FSB mentioned here though? is there something im missing here? :banghead:

thnks guys.
Bus speed x FSB Multiplier = CPU Clock Speed

Bus speed x CPU-NB interconnect multiplier = Interconnect speed

Example: Let's take Phenom X4 9750

200 MHz x 12.0 = 2400 MHz (clock speed)

200 MHz x 9.0 = 1800 MHz (HyperTransport link speed (equals 3600 MT/s))

Now, your altering the bus speed, affects both the clock-speed and interconnect speed. End of the day, the interconnect (HyperTransport for AMD K8 onwards, QuickPath for Intel Nehalem onwards) handles data transfers between the CPU and the northbridge.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (1.89/day)
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
1. I cannot afford.
2. WTF 1.72 volts, kill me now.
3. Multi surprised me. Alot. 21x wow.

Anyway, interesting offering to say the least. I think I might wanna do WC'ing if I go this route.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,893 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
and there are naysayers of deneb requiring 1.6 is too much, pfffttt, this just proves those people wrong, especially when intel specified anything higher than 1.6 for their CPUs is too much and will kill them quick.
 

bangmal

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
g200 fail? lol...I think that's only applicable at it's original 500+ price tag, but once the price cuts came into effect I can hardly say that the g200 isn't a good gpu...considering it takes 2 of ati's best cpus on one card (4870x2) to beat it...
takes 2 gpu? not really...
http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3415&p=7

and oh yes, G200 are utter failures, for the pathetic performance with transistors and die size like those
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,697 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
takes 2 gpu? not really...
http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3415&p=7

and oh yes, G200 are utter failures, for the pathetic performance with transistors and die size like those
I can't believe you just linked to anand. :shadedshu
That's sad.

And BTW, if that's real, apparently you missed the other 5,000 games that the geforces excel at.

And at that res (that no one will play at or use AA), it just makes it even more irrelevant.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.07/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
and there are naysayers of deneb requiring 1.6 is too much, pfffttt, this just proves those people wrong, especially when intel specified anything higher than 1.6 for their CPUs is too much and will kill them quick.
1.6V will kill a Deneb too, mark my words. ;) And people were saying Deneb needing 1.6V to reach 4Ghz is too much because of the Deneb FX 4GHz at stock rumor, meaning it's too much voltage for them to be able to release a 4GHz chip from the factory.

Besides, this Nehalem is running at 4.2GHz, it's altogether possible it only takes 1.6V to hit 4GHz. It takes huge voltage increases to get a few MHz when you are reaching the limits of a cpu. I'm willing to bet a 4Ghz Nehalem will easily outpace a 4Ghz Deneb in just about everything.

But at any rate, like I said in another thread, if this is indicative of what we can expect from the retail chips, it looks like I'll be sticking with my QX9650. I'll just pick up 2 new DDR3 boards(one Xfire and one SLI board), a good controller card, some DDR3, and ride it out until 1366 cpus clock better. Under DICE cooling, the QX9650 should be able to clock far enough to overtake the Nehalems.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,893 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well as its said, Nehalem is more of a Server System upgrade than an Enthusiast or average user upgrade.
1.6V will kill a Deneb too, mark my words. ;) And people were saying Deneb needing 1.6V to reach 4Ghz is too much because of the Deneb FX 4GHz at stock rumor, meaning it's too much voltage for them to be able to release a 4GHz chip from the factory.

Besides, this Nehalem is running at 4.2GHz, it's altogether possible it only takes 1.6V to hit 4GHz. It takes huge voltage increases to get a few MHz when you are reaching the limits of a cpu. I'm willing to bet a 4Ghz Nehalem will easily outpace a 4Ghz Deneb in just about everything.

But at any rate, like I said in another thread, if this is indicative of what we can expect from the retail chips, it looks like I'll be sticking with my QX9650. I'll just pick up 2 new DDR3 boards(one Xfire and one SLI board), a good controller card, some DDR3, and ride it out until 1366 cpus clock better. Under DICE cooling, the QX9650 should be able to clock far enough to overtake the Nehalems.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,791 (0.53/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GTX1070 8GB, and heap of dead GPU's in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores it does boot up
1.7v?
*cough*

Obviously, CPU-Z has no clue about the actual vCore...
*pokes people with a pointy stick*
 
Top