• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Core i7 Dual-Socket Operation Possible?

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,319 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Intel's Core i7 processor in the LGA1366 package is currently leading in the performance front, some of the fastest processors for the desktop platform fall in this league. Despite lacking a directly competitive processor, the platform had its share of competition thanks to motherboard manufacturers competing within themselves. EVGA for one, is set to unveil a bleeding-edge motherboard later this year, which supports two LGA1366 processors. So far, enthusiasts working for EVGA have only disclosed that the motherboard would work with Intel's DP Xeon 5000 series LGA1366 processors, which are officially capable of working on dual-socket server and workstation motherboards.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
865 (0.29/day)
Likes
165
Location
Porto
Processor Phenom II X3 720BE @ 3.3GHz, 4th core unlocked
Motherboard Asus M4A78-E
Cooling Schythe Ninja + Dual 120mm
Memory GEiL 2*2GB Gold
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD5870 1GB + PhysX/Computing 8800GTS 512MB
Storage Intel X25-M 80GB O.S. + WD 500GB Data
Display(s) HP 2408w 24" LCD
Case Antec Plusview 1000
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic + Gigaworks SB750 7.1 THX
Power Supply BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 650W
Software Windows 7 64bit
#2
Ah reminds me of the Abit BP6 more than 10 years ago (wow, it's been that long!)



I had one. It was quite cheap (same as any other 440BX board) and buying two Celeron would cost less than a same speed Pentium 2 by then.

Unfortunately, having 2 CPUs by then wasn't useful at all, during the board's lifetime.
But hey, I was happy with it :p





Of course, this LGA1366 board will never be marketed towards budget systems..
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,818 (1.01/day)
Likes
262
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) R9 380X 4gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p12 093
#3
so in other words desktop i7s will work in dual socket lga1366 mainboards just as its xeon version?
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863 (0.82/day)
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#5
I would say great news, but that is actually something people should totally be expecting, since why make a Classified board that only real enthusiasts with 3K for spending in processors would get, I think that like only 10% of classified owners have a 975 instead of a 920.
Now spending 400+800 in a dual socket processing monster would be a lot more appealing to potential customers like myself
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,952 (0.41/day)
Likes
943
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#6
Hehe, had a BP6 with a pair of Celeron's in it. That was a fun rig, shame there were so few applications that took advantage of the second CPU back then...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
659 (0.20/day)
Likes
83
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#7
Hehe, had a BP6 with a pair of Celeron's in it. That was a fun rig, shame there were so few applications that took advantage of the second CPU back then...
I had a cant remember the name.

440BX dual Pentium III 550 mhz ;D
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,023 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,878
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
Guys,

This was actually first reported by me from CES an hour after being the first person to see the board hands-on, here: http://www.techreaction.net/2010/01/07/exclusive-new-evga-classified-dual-proc-board-270-gt-w555/

You guys definitely extrapolated on this, but S|A shouldn't be acting like they got the scoop.
uh yes, the board is old news, what is new (even though i think shamino hinted at it during the meeting) is that core i7 UP cpus might work on a dual socket motherboard using the IOH as bridge for the second missing QPI link on either processor
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#10
lucid hydra can make ati and nvidia gpu working together,
now evga try to make corei7 working with another core i7
i believe it possible.

hopefully someone try to make intel cpu working with amd cpu,:):):)
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#11
before anyone gets all huffy puffy about this i think it needs a bit of explaining.

to keep manufacturing costs down intel produces a single wafer of CPU cores and IOH cores, as they have for many years.

these cores are then divided and placed into their respectable packages.

xeons and i7s are all the same die.

what sets them apart is the xeon 5XXX series has 2 QPIs while the i7's and 3XXX series xeons get 1 QPI disabled.

this is also true with the intel 5520 server chipset which is used on the evga dual socket motherboard. it has 2 QPI links while the desktop counterpart x58 chipset is a neutered 5520 IOH chip that lacks the 2nd QPI link.

by disabling the 2nd QPI on both the CPU and IOH you also loose features that require the use of the 2nd QPI such as Intel Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O which wouldnt make a huge difference on x58.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
865 (0.29/day)
Likes
165
Location
Porto
Processor Phenom II X3 720BE @ 3.3GHz, 4th core unlocked
Motherboard Asus M4A78-E
Cooling Schythe Ninja + Dual 120mm
Memory GEiL 2*2GB Gold
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD5870 1GB + PhysX/Computing 8800GTS 512MB
Storage Intel X25-M 80GB O.S. + WD 500GB Data
Display(s) HP 2408w 24" LCD
Case Antec Plusview 1000
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic + Gigaworks SB750 7.1 THX
Power Supply BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 650W
Software Windows 7 64bit
#12
hopefully someone try to make intel cpu working with amd cpu,:):):)
Back in the days of Socket 7, that would be possible.
Right now it would be a complete destruction of R&D resources.
 

EnJoY

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
129 (0.03/day)
Likes
19
Location
Massachusetts, USA
#13
uh yes, the board is old news, what is new (even though i think shamino hinted at it during the meeting) is that core i7 UP cpus might work on a dual socket motherboard using the IOH as bridge for the second missing QPI link on either processor
Right, clearly I misunderstand what S|A was reporting, but it was never meant to be a slight at your post. I just don't have an account at S|A.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,023 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,878
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
before anyone gets all huffy puffy about this i think it needs a bit of explaining.

to keep manufacturing costs down intel produces a single wafer of CPU cores and IOH cores, as they have for many years.

these cores are then divided and placed into their respectable packages.

xeons and i7s are all the same die.

what sets them apart is the xeon 5XXX series has 2 QPIs while the i7's and 3XXX series xeons get 1 QPI disabled.

this is also true with the intel 5520 server chipset which is used on the evga dual socket motherboard. it has 2 QPI links while the desktop counterpart x58 chipset is a neutered 5520 IOH chip that lacks the 2nd QPI link.

by disabling the 2nd QPI on both the CPU and IOH you also loose features that require the use of the 2nd QPI such as Intel Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O which wouldnt make a huge difference on x58.

http://ark.intel.com/inc/images/diagrams/diagram-17.gif http://ark.intel.com/inc/images/diagrams/diagram-16.gif
and the news post suggests that even with 1 qpi on each cpu you can magically make SMP work by using the IOH as bridge. we're not talking about enabling the 2nd qpi link here
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#15
oh i know... just wanting everyone to have some background on how things work so they can fully understand whats trying to be accomplished by EVGA here.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,360
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Very interesting, considering the outragous costs of 1366 xeons compared to the i7s.

I wonder how much of a performance hit we are talking about though, it can't be that bad compared to the drastic savings.

Though I also have to ask myself how many people buying this board will actually be worried about the cost savings...:laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.07/day)
Likes
15
Location
EU
#17
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
419 (0.12/day)
Likes
46
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Processor W3570 - W3540 - Q6600 - Celeron 360
Motherboard EVGA X58 Classified - MSI X58 Eclipse - ASUS Commando
Cooling Kayl Custom Built Dual Stage Cascade - IFX-14
Memory Corsair DDR3 Dominator GT 6GB 1866MHz - Cellshock DDR2 4GB 1066MHz
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX275 - 9400GT - 7600GT
Storage Samsung 750GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 21.6' 2253LW
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply TT 750watt - Coolermaster Real Power Pro 1000watt
Software Windows XP - Windows 7 - what else should I put here?
Benchmark Scores Too many to list :P
#18
Yay I really want this to happen, then I can run 2x W3570's (even though they are xeon they still only have 1 QPI), or my W3570 and W3540.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#19
I'm very skeptical. Intel has made it impossible to run desktop chips in DP configurations since the P3 (first FCPGA Celerons, later desktop Tualatins). After i875 they even removed such features from desktop chipsets as well, so no DP boards could be made using cheap chipsets. It would be odd if they suddenly don't block these things anymore.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#21
I had a cant remember the name.

440BX dual Pentium III 550 mhz ;D
Might have been Tyan Tiger, Thunder 100, or an Asus P2B? Some popular dualie boards back then.

I had dreams about the Thunder 100 and Thunder X...

 
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#22
DP boards...

were so much fun back in the day, I had a Tyan Tomcat with dual P166MMX processors. Woot