1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Core i7] Watercooling discussion thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mudkip, May 17, 2009.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,428 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,387
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I agree. Even for 775. But once you have it you love it. And you can reuse your loop again and again (or at least some of the parts) for each rig you build.
    For my q6600 my temps aren't fantastic... but my GPU temps are AMAZING. Easily giving me enough cooling to pencil mod it some.
    agreed. I hear i7's get hot.
    I mix mine with a 120.3 rad now. It brought my CPU temps up quite a bit when I added the GPU in. But it's nice to have everything in one loop. Cheaper, and sexy looking.

    I was hoping to see the temp differences in this thread between a i7 920 on air and on water... I guess I have to wait some ;)
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    you can mix cpu and gpu yes. but i wouldnt, especially not with multiple video cards.
     
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Kansas
    Get some chrome paint. BLING! :roll:
     
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,724 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,324
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    you can do it with multiple cards... you just have to have a BUTT LOAD of rad.
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,724 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,324
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    EDIT: Good lord fit... :roll: that's awesome...

    I still don't get it how Digital Storm and such can get away with i7 and triple GPU WC with 3 120 MM rads.



    look
    [​IMG]


    Am I missing something? How does that tubing not melt when everything is loaded?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2009
  8. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,787 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    My two 4890s and the q6600 are feeling fine in the same loop with single + triple rad. I think the CPU temp just got up a few degrees when I added the cards, noticeable, but not that much.
     
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,428 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,387
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thats awesome. So one in the front, one in the rear, and the big rad up top correct?
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,724 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,324
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    yep... im gonna clean up cables and add a black/green theme this week.

    It's totally excessive... But all of those fans are barely moving.:laugh:
     
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,428 (8.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,387
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hmmm i like it bro, keep us posted on that, imma go ahead and subscribe to your thread now. would love to see some updates of that rig :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,193 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    My water setup was S I L E N T.

    My 90mm/air cooled desktop.. not so much.. ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I need to get new fans in my setup... I added a orange fan I got from a friend and he warned me, but I wasn't expecting it to sound like a leaf blower....
     
  14. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,193 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    haha, I miss my tornado :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    Heh.. eVGA Classified Koolance / Naekuh Edition :p

    [​IMG]

    I personally require water on my main machine because its on 24/7. Also, fit is telling partial truth. But there are times when water will give you that extra OC depending on a good system.

    Example.. Sorry fit, a TRUE wouldnt get anywhere close to these temps:
    [​IMG]

    Look at my RealTemp Max Linpack values.
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    meh.... not impressed.

    i need to find some cheap high cfm(100+) 120x25mm fans.
     
  17. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    i can do that with push pull yates on low on my PA120.3. :laugh:
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i hate yates.

    i want some delta FFB1212EH 's
     
  19. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,193 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Water is better suited for high capacity cooling (Large heatloads), as thats what it was initially used for.

    Current air cooling has made great strides in effeciency/cooling capacity, but as always it brings the problem of air flow, which is always noisy when you bring high capacity into the game.

    Water brings the ability to manage the same or greater load while maintaining superior temperatures/Noise...

    However, YMMV with all water loops-> Not all perform the same. Different pumps different blocks, different radiators, different coolant mixes all will give different performances.

    If air is outperforming water, you probably need to rethink how your water setup is configured.
     
    CyberDruid says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    :nutkick:

    remember this picture?

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  22. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    :laugh:

    [​IMG]

    :toast:

    Try again?
     
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    mine are dual 560gtx's. i've got more surface area than you.
     
  24. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    yeah i saw that now.. lol... u win.. But i got more CFM though my rads. :X

    Shourded San Aces are unbeatable.
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    mine are 267cfm each...

    plenty for my setup
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)