• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core2Duo rig not starting up at all, motherboard to blame?

Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,595 (0.62/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Right so this is just to make sure Im not missing anything here in regards to a motherboard possibly being dead.

The motherboard is an Asus P5N-T Deluxe, I have never used this motherboard before and it has been sitting in a cardboard box for a few years now.

Ok so what have I done so far, I googled the issue and tried most of it.
I now have the motherboard sitting on cardboard, CPU (e6750) installed, CPU cooler installed, 1 Ram stick installed and PSU hooked up (Yes both the big 24pin connector AND the 4/8pin cpu connector)
The CPU, the Ram and the PSU all work 100%, they have all been taken from another PC that works 100%.

I have tried to directly start the board using that "short circuit the start pins trick", but nothing happens.
(to make sure I was doing it right I tested it with an even older Pentium D + motherboard + ram stick and that started up fine)

The light on the motherboard does come on as soon as I flip the powerswitch on the psu.
Also the light on the Ethernet connector lights up for a second.

I also removed the battery for 5 minutes as the manual stated and moved that jumper back and forth numerous times. (could the battery be the problem or is it so irrelevant it should be able to start even without the battery installed (like the harddrive or videocard etc))?


So yeah Im a bit at my wit's end here, I kinda dont want to believe the motherboard is dead.
I mean visually it looks perfectly fine....

Is there more I can test? can I perhaps force start it a more direct way, circumventing that pin array your power button etc normally hooks up to?
Can I test things with a multi meter to see if everything is getting power etc and if it is, what could be wrong then?



UPDATE:

So the mobo lives now, how?
I used a heatgun on it...why? well honestly I dont really know why I tried it.
Recently I "upgraded" my ps3 and it involved heating up the mobo a bit so I could remove the IHS from the cpu and gpu.

During this endeavor I learned about reballing, the act of heating up a chip so much the soldering would melt and re-seat it self.
Because if this I thought a little heat...maybe it can fix something.

A well..it ffing did, I was/am super surprised but the motherboard now starts up
Wether or not its fully functional Ill update on later but for now, lets just say Im stunned.


UPDATE 2:

So the thing does "start", that is fans spin up.
At this point its still at a bare minimum setup, that is Mobo + CPU + 1 Ram stick + Videocard (also usb powered but analog signal speaker to hear the beeps).

If I leave the ram out I hear the appropriate beeps from this chart:
https://www.asus.com/support/faq/1029959
that is the: "No memory detected" beeps.

If I plug one ram stick in....I hear nothing at all.
The PC does not power down by itself either, it just keeps running but no beeps.

Problem is, there is no video signal either seemingly.
I tried 2 videocards which I know work fine.

So it starts up, there are no beeps and no video signal.
Only with no ram installed do I get the corresponding beeps indicating that at some level the beep producing part works.

Now googling this comes with a world of people with the same complaint which is a lot to get through, so I thought it might bare fruit to ask it here.

I did once again remove the battery and moved the jumpers around, that did nothing.
 
Last edited:

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,579 (3.15/day)
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Party On
Processor Xeon w 3520
Motherboard DFI Lanparty
Cooling Big tower thing
Memory 6 gb Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) HD 7970
Case a plank of wood
Audio Device(s) seperate amp and 6 big speakers
Power Supply Corsair
Mouse cheap
Keyboard under going restoration
Are you shorting the correct pins?

Rub a screw driver across them.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (0.84/day)
I'd reinstall the CPU and make sure it is installed correctedly. The mobo's symptoms seems similar to cases where CPU is installed incorrectly.

If not, then it's dead as GPU debates.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
493 (0.12/day)
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Cubito
Processor Core i7-8700K
Motherboard Asus TUF Z390M
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3000mhz Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070Ti
Storage 2 x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB + Corsair MP510 500GB
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG258Q + Asus ROG Strix XG258
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Audio Device(s) Evga Nu Audio + Sennheiser HD599SE / PC350 + Trust Fyru
Power Supply Corsair RMX750
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2
Software Windows 10 Home x64
Also can be a faulty bios, I recently had a problem like that with mine. Does the cpu fan spin?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,595 (0.62/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Are you shorting the correct pins?

Rub a screw driver across them.
Yes I am shorting the ones I am suppose to but I tried actually shorting everything, tagging every possible 2 pins with my screwdrivers and other metal objects.

I'd reinstall the CPU and make sure it is installed correctedly. The mobo's symptoms seems similar to cases where CPU is installed incorrectly.

If not, then it's dead as GPU debates.
Very well, I shall double check that to make sure.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,595 (0.62/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Also can be a faulty bios, I recently had a problem like that with mine. Does the cpu fan spin?
Nope, no reaction from anything at all, like Im not doing anything to start it, the only indication I have that something is getting proper power is the light on the motherboard and the light on the ethernet port.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,544 (0.90/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
Since you mention multi meter could you check the CMOS battery. I once read it could matter if it was too low. I think that I might have a similar problem in one of my older rigs, it reads just above 3 V and I never got around to replace it.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (0.84/day)
Nope, no reaction from anything at all, like Im not doing anything to start it, the only indication I have that something is getting proper power is the light on the motherboard and the light on the ethernet port.
That's how a motherboard reacts when it's not getting signal from CPU. Remove everything and reinstall CPU and try to boot. See how it goes.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
493 (0.12/day)
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Cubito
Processor Core i7-8700K
Motherboard Asus TUF Z390M
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3000mhz Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070Ti
Storage 2 x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB + Corsair MP510 500GB
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG258Q + Asus ROG Strix XG258
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Audio Device(s) Evga Nu Audio + Sennheiser HD599SE / PC350 + Trust Fyru
Power Supply Corsair RMX750
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2
Software Windows 10 Home x64
Nope, no reaction from anything at all, like Im not doing anything to start it, the only indication I have that something is getting proper power is the light on the motherboard and the light on the ethernet port.
Try to plug a speaker and let's see if there are some beep codes. In my case the fans worked and it was like it tried to start up but continuously rebooted, I don't know what can be in your case.

Like the others said, try to reinstall the cpu first and let's see.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,595 (0.62/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Since you mention multi meter could you check the CMOS battery. I once read it could matter if it was too low. I think that I might have a similar problem in one of my older rigs, it reads just above 3 V and I never got around to replace it.
Ok tried it, took the 3v battery from the working motherboard and put it in the not working one, sadly no result.
In fact, I put the battery of the non working mobo in the working one and that still started up fine.

That's how a motherboard reacts when it's not getting signal from CPU. Remove everything and reinstall CPU and try to boot. See how it goes.
Well I took it out and put it in again, the handy thing of tech these days is that I cannot even put it in wrongly, there are sticking out plastic parts that correspond with little ermm dents? in the cpu, to make sure you can only put it in one way.
But unfortunately, no result.

I even put the cpu back into the working motherboard to make sure I did not bust the cpu in the transfer and yep, that one still starts up fine.

So yeah, it all points towards this Asus motherboard being broken.
Still though, is there no way to force start the motherboard any other way? ignoring the usual pins, just to see if the fault lies there?
Or are there points to connect with a multi meter to make sure everything is getting the power?
At this point its not really about saving the motherboard, just find it hard to accept that a motherboard that looks in perfect fine order, does not show a single sign of life....well apart again from the LED light but yeah....
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (0.84/day)
Well I took it out and put it in again, the handy thing of tech these days is that I cannot even put it in wrongly, there are sticking out plastic parts that correspond with little ermm dents? in the cpu, to make sure you can only put it in one way.
But unfortunately, no result.
Some odd sockets let you install CPU in wrong direction. 2011-v3 is prune to that. I think 1155 was also.

Mobo is the fault, it seems. Give it a funeral with a hammer.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,059 (4.27/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Is the cpu power connector plugged in?
Silly question, but easy to overlook.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,595 (0.62/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Some odd sockets let you install CPU in wrong direction. 2011-v3 is prune to that. I think 1155 was also.

Mobo is the fault, it seems. Give it a funeral with a hammer.
Ah very interesting, never had such a socket/motherboard, odd that they go backwards like that :p
But, GOOD FFING NEWS, the device LIVES!

And ill tell you how, I did something I never saw anyone advice me to do, I just a heatgun on it, I warmed the shit out of it.
I know reballing needs a lot more heat then that but I thought, screw it, its broken anyway so what is the worst that could happen?
and low and behold....Life has sprung back into it!

Now if it will work probably in every way I cannot yet say, will report on that later :)

Is the cpu power connector plugged in?
Silly question, but easy to overlook.
Well thats why I typed in red that indeed it is :p
Thanks anyway ;)
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
3,191 (1.76/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX // XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.796 Firestrike | P31.547 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
You're a funny guy man, congrats haha
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,595 (0.62/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Samsung 750 Evo 250gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Right so more help is still much wanted :p


Here is the new needed info:

So the thing does "start", that is fans spin up.
At this point its still at a bare minimum setup, that is Mobo + CPU + 1 Ram stick + Videocard (also usb powered but analog signal speaker to hear the beeps).

If I leave the ram out I hear the appropriate beeps from this chart:
https://www.asus.com/support/faq/1029959
that is the: "No memory detected" beeps.

If I plug one ram stick in....I hear nothing at all.
The PC does not power down by itself either, it just keeps running but no beeps.

Problem is, there is no video signal either seemingly.
I tried 2 videocards which I know work fine.

So it starts up, there are no beeps and no video signal.
Only with no ram installed do I get the corresponding beeps indicating that at some level the beep producing part works.

Now googling this comes with a world of people with the same complaint which is a lot to get through, so I thought it might bare fruit to ask it here.

I did once again remove the battery and moved the jumpers around, that did nothing.
I tried the videocards in all 3 PCI-E slots as well, no change.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
3,191 (1.76/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX // XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.796 Firestrike | P31.547 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
Maybe bake it in a oven do it properly compared to that heat gun. :p maybe you have some luck again.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.35/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I've seen bad ram not able to allow a machine to boot, its either that or the motherboard.
 
Top