• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Announces DDR3 Memory Upgrades for Apple Computers

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
Corsair, a worldwide designer and supplier of high-performance components to the PC gaming hardware market, today announced worldwide retail availability of 4GB DDR3 memory for Apple Mac desktop and laptop PCs.

Corsair’s Mac memory kits are tested at Apple Developer Compatibility Labs and are guaranteed to work with any Mac desktop or notebook PC that supports 4GB DDR3 SODIMMs, including iMac, Mac mini, Mac Pro, MacBook, and MacBook Pro models. This includes virtually all models offered by Apple since 2010.



The new DDR3 Mac memory upgrades, like all Corsair DRAM products, are tested to exacting standards and come with a limited lifetime warranty.

An article detailing the installation of Corsair Mac memory in a MacBook Pro can be found on the Corsair Blog, here.

"Macs are often the platform of choice for video production, photo editing and graphics design, and these applications require lots of memory." said Giovanni Sena, Director of Memory Products at Corsair. "With hassle-free compatibility and renowned Corsair compatibility and support, our new Mac memory upgrades are a smart performance investment.

Corsair Mac memory upgrade kits are available in the following configurations:



The new DDR3 Mac memory kits are available immediately from Corsair’s worldwide network of resellers and distributors.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.02/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#3
How are these memory modules price-wise?
 
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
640 (0.26/day)
Likes
139
System Name Tiger1-Workstation
Processor Intel XEON E3-1275V2 / E3-1230V3
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 / AsRock H87 Performance
Cooling Corsair H80i Watercooling
Memory 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 780 Ti
Storage 2TB SSD(4X OCZ vertex 4 256GB LSI RAID0 + Crucial M550 1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell U3011 30" IPS
Case Silverstone Raven 03
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX--> Xonar Essence One --> SPL Auditor -->Genelec 8040B
Power Supply Corsair AX860i Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 Enterprise
#4
so whats wrong with my "non-mac certified" ram that I installed into my macbook pro the other day? (which works perfectly)
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,163 (0.47/day)
Likes
471
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Intel AIO
Memory 8x4GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Adaptec 2405 SAS|Hitachi SAS 15k 450GB|2xSeagate 2TB|WD RE Enterprise 4 TB|HP Ultrium 1760 LTO4 Tape
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Fractal Define XL Black
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi Uber>Schiit Asgard 2>Sennheiser HD600
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
so whats wrong with my "non-mac certified" ram that I installed into my macbook pro the other day? (which works perfectly)
It's not certified :p

Well you could end up with issues with "non-certified" types of RAM. A good example for this are servers, where you must use the so called "certified" RAM which was tested for 100% stability.
Same goes for HDD's with special firmware (HP firmware for example).
 
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
640 (0.26/day)
Likes
139
System Name Tiger1-Workstation
Processor Intel XEON E3-1275V2 / E3-1230V3
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 / AsRock H87 Performance
Cooling Corsair H80i Watercooling
Memory 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 780 Ti
Storage 2TB SSD(4X OCZ vertex 4 256GB LSI RAID0 + Crucial M550 1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell U3011 30" IPS
Case Silverstone Raven 03
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX--> Xonar Essence One --> SPL Auditor -->Genelec 8040B
Power Supply Corsair AX860i Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 Enterprise
#6
It's not certified :p

Well you could end up with issues with "non-certified" types of RAM. A good example for this are servers, where you must use the so called "certified" RAM which was tested for 100% stability.
Same goes for HDD's with special firmware (HP firmware for example).
so in another word - just pure gimmicks

oh right, so I need to swap out all my ram on my intel rig because they are not "intel-certified", oh and i probably need to switch out my ram on my AMD workstation as well, and replace them with "amd-certified" ram, because god forbid! amd tells me i do not have 100% stability.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,163 (0.47/day)
Likes
471
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Intel AIO
Memory 8x4GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Adaptec 2405 SAS|Hitachi SAS 15k 450GB|2xSeagate 2TB|WD RE Enterprise 4 TB|HP Ultrium 1760 LTO4 Tape
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Fractal Define XL Black
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi Uber>Schiit Asgard 2>Sennheiser HD600
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
so in another word - just pure gimmicks

oh right, so I need to swap out all my ram on my intel rig because they are not "intel-certified", oh and i probably need to switch out my ram on my AMD workstation as well, because its not "amd-certified"
That's why I mentioned servers and 100% stability, you don't mess with hardware parts there, even in workstations if it's mission critical. For normal desktop it doesn't matter.

AFAIK Mac's and such can be quite picky with hardware, but I could be wrong here ;)
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,381 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,103
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#8
Well you could end up with issues with "non-certified" types of RAM. A good example for this are servers, where you must use the so called "certified" RAM which was tested for 100% stability.
Server rams have ECC, and that is expensive. Nothing to do with certification or stability. Well, that is the main difference anyway.

I was under impression that Apple uses Intel controllers and you can just "plug and play", no?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,163 (0.47/day)
Likes
471
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Intel AIO
Memory 8x4GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Adaptec 2405 SAS|Hitachi SAS 15k 450GB|2xSeagate 2TB|WD RE Enterprise 4 TB|HP Ultrium 1760 LTO4 Tape
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Fractal Define XL Black
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi Uber>Schiit Asgard 2>Sennheiser HD600
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Server rams have ECC, and that is expensive. Nothing to do with certification or stability. Well, that is the main difference anyway.
:wtf: ECC is for stability reasons.
And certified RAM is guaranteed to work with a specific server/workstation. And like I said if you have a server you do not mess with weird hardware. The certified RAM is thoroughly tested for that specific machine.
That's why you get BSOD's (not often but it does happen) in normal PC's, because you mix a lot of different hardware with different firmwares.
The SAS disk I have in my PC is a HP disk made by Hitachi. HP only puts their custom firmware which was designed to work with a specific machine.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,381 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,103
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#10

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
I thought ECC is built in? Either you have ECC or you don't? :confused:
yeah, but its entire purpose is to improve stability by preventing errors from RAM.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,381 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,103
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#12
yeah, but its entire purpose is to improve stability by preventing errors from RAM.
Eh, perhaps I worded my first post wrongly :eek:

I meant to say that server RAM have ECC, and will always be tested before they leave the plant, so certification is not needed, other than just for "guarantee" reasons.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
Eh, perhaps I worded my first post wrongly :eek:

I meant to say that server RAM have ECC, and will always be tested before they leave the plant, so certification is not needed, other than just for "guarantee" reasons.
different memory controllers can cause compatibility issues. servers cant risk that.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,381 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,103
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#14
different memory controllers can cause compatibility issues. servers cant risk that.
That will be in specifications, no? Or servers actually certify each individual RAm for motherboards (or its controller)?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
That will be in specifications, no? Or servers actually certify each individual RAm for motherboards (or its controller)?
if you were running a mission critical server, you'd want every damn assurance it would be perfect and never fail under your unique circumstances - temperature, humidity, motherboard, CPU, the lot.


we're talking systems where a loss of system stability could cost thousands, or tens of thousands of dollars in the case of a failure. not a system that you can just slap in a new stick of ram and hit reboot and everyones happy.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,428 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,945
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#16
Mac has used Samsung RAM for years. I mean YEARS! Its good to see a new face.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,203 (0.83/day)
Likes
641
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | 3dfx Voodoo3 3000
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#17
1066 is a little slow these days...
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
894 (0.24/day)
Likes
141
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#18
How are these memory modules price-wise?
I just bought a kit of 2 of these (1066 2x4GB) for my Mac and they are awesome. $35 shipped after $10 rebate. You can't beat that (Until next week :laugh: ).