• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Corsair AX850 850 W

crmaris

Reviewer
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
653 (0.26/day)
Likes
751
Location
Greece
#1
Corsair's AX850 is an 80Plus Gold certified 850 watt power supply that aims to be the highest-quality model in its segment. It is fully modular and shows excellent performance characteristics in our demanding test suite. With a price of $180 it is not cheap but quality has its price.

Show full review
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,898 (0.64/day)
Likes
633
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor i7 6800k 4.2ghz @1.28v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X99 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62 with CableMod
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX @3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe | Crucial MX300 750GB
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 Curved IPS 3440x1440 G-Sync | Acer XB270H Abprz 27" G-Sync | Oculus Rift
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | AKG K612PRO and Beyerdynamic DT880 (600-ohm) | Blue Yeti Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W with CableMod
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
Software Win 10
#2
Great review! :toast:

definitely my next PSU :rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#3
I really would expect much better voltage regulation than that.... Hope Corsair doesn't start slipping there!

but great efficiency marks
 

melkhior

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
96 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Spain
Processor Phenom II x4 955
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5P
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 + 2*Gentle Typhoon
Memory 4 GB @ 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) HD4870 CrossfireX
Storage 250 GB + 2*500 GB + 750GB
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Silverstone FT02
Power Supply LC Power Arkangel 850W
Software Windows 7 X64
#4
Very great PSU. My girlfriend has it and it's incredible. What I like more is that is almost silent even with the computer using furmark + LinX.

She's very happy with that PSU.

Ah, like always, great review :p
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#5
After you do the AX1200 think you could get your hands on a silverstone ST1200-G? Be nice to have all the gold, fully modular, 1200w supplies done under the same reviewer.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#6
The AX1200 I would be interested in seeing.
 

crmaris

Reviewer
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
653 (0.26/day)
Likes
751
Location
Greece
#7
I have reviewed it in the past but I will ask it again for TPU and stress it even more :D

From the Silverstone Gold ones I have reviewed the smaller 750 but I will ask for the 1200 too.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
484 (0.11/day)
Likes
57
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) MSI TF3 7970 OC BE + Kraken G10 & Corsair H55
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
#8
I just bought the AX750 this weekend its an outstanding PSU. And super quiet I wasn't sure the thing was on when I first powered it on.

If you can afford it MUST BUY!!!
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#9
Beware - you will not be able to power the 24pin, 2x8pin on the motherboard and running 2 video cards with 4x6pin directly from the power supply. You will need some kind of splitter.

I emailed Corsair about this and this is their reply:

Hello Nathan,
You will need an adapter something like this, LOGISYS AD202 12V Molex to 8pin P8 Adapter so you can run you 2 VCs and the 2 8pin 12V EPS on your MB. Thanks

Nothing in any review has touched on this.

This response directly contradicts Corsairs documentation stating "Only use Cables supplied"

Does the reviewer have any input on this?

I am trying to be positive and helpful. This is a great power supply and totally silent but this problem above bugs me as it is not documented anywhere.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#10
What? Why would you not be able to connect two video cards, an ATX motherboard, and dual 8 pin's for the cpu?

Do you have this setup? What exact setup do you have?
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#11
What? Why would you not be able to connect two video cards, an ATX motherboard, and dual 8 pin's for the cpu?

Do you have this setup? What exact setup do you have?

I have a MSI Big Bang Xpower motherboard (2x8pin 12V EPS)
I am not running power to the 6 pin PCIe power socket located near slot 1.


and two Gigabyte 460GTX (2x6pin each)


As you can see above Corsair admitted the cabling supplied would not support this setup and I would need an adapter.

I can wire it all up with adapter but the idea is to minimize the amount of cabling from the power supply - the whole idea of a modular design.

The AX1200 (Bigger Brother power Supply) fixes this by giving (I think) another 2 sockets for PCIe.

I would have taken a photo but it was late and my batteries were flat in the camera at time of install.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#12
Also there is no description on the cables or where they are to go in any paperwork or box graphics.
It only states what plugs are at the end of the cables. It does not clarify where exactly you plug a particular cable in on the power supply.

It seem logical enough to think any trained monkey could figure it out easy enough but when you look at the sockets on the power supply VS the cables supplied it gets a bit harder??

Maybe I got a box full of incorrect cables but as there is no clear definition of what cables are supplied (Power supply socket end) I have nothing to reference.

Edit:

Just to clarify this - the 2x8 pin 12v EPS cable does not have 2x8 plugs on the other end which plugs into the power supply. I can't remember exactly what it has maybe a (12 pin?) but it goes to a plug which has 4 pins left empty.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#13
I have a MSI Big Bang Xpower motherboard (2x8pin 12V EPS)
I am not running power to the 6 pin PCIe power socket located near slot 1.
http://www.pureoverclock.com/images/review/motherboards/msi_x58bbxp/msi_x58bbxp_9.jpg

and two Gigabyte 460GTX (2x6pin each)
http://images.bit-tech.net/content_...rd-review/gigabyte-geforce-gtx-460-1gb-ab.jpg

As you can see above Corsair admitted the cabling supplied would not support this setup and I would need an adapter.

I can wire it all up with adapter but the idea is to minimize the amount of cabling from the power supply - the whole idea of a modular design.

The AX1200 (Bigger Brother power Supply) fixes this by giving (I think) another 2 sockets for PCIe.

I would have taken a photo but it was late and my batteries were flat in the camera at time of install.
Considering the additional mainboard power connection for PCI devices are rare(and often MOLEX) I would think MSI would have supplied the necessary adapters. Sounds like they provide a niche device along with 6 PCIE connectors it only seems logical that the mainboard manufacture would address this issue in either design of the board or with design of the power connections.
Sorry but I dont think Corsair is remotely responsible to outfit every power supply to fit any and all mainboard designs, even if they are claiming "Only use Cables supplied"
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
653 (0.26/day)
Likes
751
Location
Greece
#14
Beware - you will not be able to power the 24pin, 2x8pin on the motherboard and running 2 video cards with 4x6pin directly from the power supply. You will need some kind of splitter.

I emailed Corsair about this and this is their reply:

Hello Nathan,
You will need an adapter something like this, LOGISYS AD202 12V Molex to 8pin P8 Adapter so you can run you 2 VCs and the 2 8pin 12V EPS on your MB. Thanks

Nothing in any review has touched on this.

This response directly contradicts Corsairs documentation stating "Only use Cables supplied"

Does the reviewer have any input on this?

I am trying to be positive and helpful. This is a great power supply and totally silent but this problem above bugs me as it is not documented anywhere.
Yes you are right. In order to use the second EPS connector you have to sacrifice one PCIe cable (with two connectors on it) since the EPS cable is connected in the same place/connector with the PCIe one on the modular PCB.

Now why Seasonic/Corsair chose not to give two EPS connectors along with 4 PCIe. Well lets do the math, two EPS connectors can give approximately 2*300W=600W. 4 PCIe (8pin) can give 4*150=600W. Well we have 1200W in total (at worst case scenario) and only 850W max capacity, so they chose not to make available all above connectors at the same time.

However you can use some Molex to PCIe connectors with no problem since with your system you will not draw so much power.
 
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#15
Sorry but I dont think Corsair is remotely responsible to outfit every power supply to fit any and all mainboard designs, even if they are claiming "Only use Cables supplied"
That is fair but they do have a responsibility to alert the purchaser of the limitations of the product - and to a lesser/greater degree reviewers should also.

I am keeping my power supply for now - It is a great power supply but if I was not able to get around this problem myself it would be back to the shop for this one.

My complaint is that I was not able to know this limitation until I had opened the box and semi installed the product. That is Lame I think.

So that's all people reading this.... beware of this limitation or make all your own cables up or something.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#16
That is fair but they do have a responsibility to alert the purchaser of the limitations of the product - and to a lesser/greater degree reviewers should also.

I am keeping my power supply for now - It is a great power supply but if I was not able to get around this problem myself it would be back to the shop for this one.

My complaint is that I was not able to know this limitation until I had opened the box and semi installed the product. That is Lame I think.

So that's all people reading this.... beware of this limitation or make all your own cables up or something.
Am I wrong to assume that with most of the other modular 850W PSUs, you cannot run your setup either? or at least 90%+ of them can't? in which case Corsair shouldn't be blamed for this.

The motherboard you have is almost exclusively used for very high power users (1KW+), so is designed as such. I do not blame the Motherboard nor the PSU maker, and I do not blame you either. IMO it just is, stuff like that happens.

But I'm trying to understand, the PCI-E connectors and the 8 Pin for mobo connectors have the same plug on the PSU end right? *I actually don't understand atm lol, trying to make sense out of it* Yea this sucks, but if there is ANYONE to blame, it is the mobo not warning you that most common mid-high power PSU's won't run it because of the connectors.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#17
That is fair but they do have a responsibility to alert the purchaser of the limitations of the product - and to a lesser/greater degree reviewers should also.

I am keeping my power supply for now - It is a great power supply but if I was not able to get around this problem myself it would be back to the shop for this one.

My complaint is that I was not able to know this limitation until I had opened the box and semi installed the product. That is Lame I think.

So that's all people reading this.... beware of this limitation or make all your own cables up or something.
Honestly, I think you should have known about this prior to purchasing the power supply; that is if you researched your motherboard prior to purchase.

It's your responsibility to ensure compatibility, Corsair can only guide you. Yet their claim of 'completeness in a bag'(new term :) ) covers about 98% of all configurations.

It sucks that you think the power supply has 'limitations' when its more of an issue of compatibility.
 
Joined
May 13, 2009
Messages
176 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
Processor Core i7 @ 3.5GHz stock voltage
Motherboard MSI Eclipse
Cooling Noctua NH-12P SE
Memory 6 GB 1066MHz
Video Card(s) 2x GTX260 @ 701/1506
Storage Raptor 74 GB
Display(s) NEC MultiSync 2080UX+
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Win7
#18
Very good proper review- this is right up there on the level of [H] and johnyguru. Keep up the good work and throw some more O-scope shots for different loads.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#19
nice review, clean and informative
i love my HX 620W so gonna get an AX 850W when i upgrade my PC later this summer ;D
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#20
So the 6 pin is to aid with powering the pci-e slots when fully loaded, and the extra 8pin is for extreme processor clocking? I'm curious if there's an actual instance where that would ever be needed, as SB has a pretty universal multiplier wall that I'd expect would hold you back before you'd ever draw that much power.
 
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#21
i've just had to rma my ax 850 w :twitch::cry: why ?

well i think my gigabyte motherboard has some kind of a electronic fault on it ,because it failed an overclock then made the powersupply go pop ,which then wouldn't work for about 16 mins after switching it on at the wall , but i beleive it was the motherboard that did that ;)

another thing to think of is the eps cables are quite short ,i'm not sure how short but they only just fitted in my coolermaster cm690 II (very tight squeeze)

i was going to order a new 1 for my old system (sort of a spare) but my usual shop (scan.co.uk) hasn't any in for over a week :cry:(they are the cheapest for this version of powersupply in the uk :))
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#22
That is fair but they do have a responsibility to alert the purchaser of the limitations of the product - and to a lesser/greater degree reviewers should also.

I am keeping my power supply for now - It is a great power supply but if I was not able to get around this problem myself it would be back to the shop for this one.

My complaint is that I was not able to know this limitation until I had opened the box and semi installed the product. That is Lame I think.

So that's all people reading this.... beware of this limitation or make all your own cables up or something.
The second EPS connector on that board is not necessary, AFAIK. It is only there for when you are doing extreme CPU overclocking, and you aren't going to be using an 800w PSU with 2 graphics cards when doing that.

The setup isn't supported because the power supply isn't rated to handle that setup. If all of those connectors are in use, and actually necessary, then the PSU will be overloaded. So don't plug in the second EPS connector and you will be fine.