• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Corsair AX850 psu making pop noises but what could be causing it?

Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#1
as the title says my new ax850 watt is making pop noises, when i switch it on at the wall
but should i be concerned about it?

now a few of you may know that my corsair hx 650 watt started making the same pop noises before it blew the rcd under the stairs, luckily leaving my i7 920 processor and my 5870 graphics card untouched

but the hx 650 psu, only started going wrong after i put it in my new i7 build, which leads me to think it could be one of a few things, starting with my coolermaster cm690II

why?

well i've heard that they suffer from poor grounding, so to remedie this i made sure things like my motherboard and graphics card were grounded properly by inserting and removing the motherboard standoffs, untill they took the paint off the thread i was putting them into,
then i tested them all for continuity, before inserting my motherboard,

i then used some plated motherboard screws as the ones that come with the case are for a better word "black and non conductive" :wtf::shadedshu

then i used plated screws on the digital tv card and on the graphics card and also on the silent pipe so their should be a very good ground on everything

ofcause their is the problem of the powerpack itself being powder coated, so i also used metal screws on that

(i have tried to record the sound so that i could play it back to the guy at the shop and put it on youtube, but every time i use my mp3 player to record it, it doesn't do it :banghead::wtf:

now when i bought the powerpack i took it out of the bag and heard a rattle, so i shook it gently and a tiny bit of solder fell out :eek:
sufice to say i took it back to the shop and he tested it and found nothing wrong:wtf:

so what would you guys do?
as the powerpack works well enough and the pops aren't every day, and if i send it of it could take months to get back, leaving me without a pc :twitch::cry:

oh and i was planning on getting a i7 980x in the future, so i need to know it won't blow up taking everything with it
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
all my PSU's make a quick pop when i plug and unplug the cable, not sure about just flicking the switch.


your problem is not a grounding one. i've got that case, done none of your tricks, and have none of these problems.


my educated guesses are:

1. the noise is caused by power issues with your wiring/house (not the PC itself)

2. the noise is probably harmless. it may be a symptom of bad power, and not a cause of problems. you assumed the PSU blew the RCD thingy, maybe the RCD thingy is what blew, taking the PSU with it.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
732 (0.16/day)
Likes
87
Location
NY
System Name Ummmm...Mine
Processor I7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.29v's load
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Custom 1/2 inch H20
Memory 3x2gb Patriot Sector 7 @2008Mhz 27-9-11-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 580 SC 900/1800/1090
Storage 1-Mushkin 60gb SSD 1-500GB WD Black and 2-1TB 32mb WD Black
Display(s) 25 inch Hanns-G 2ms
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Catalina
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Pro Series-Modular
Software All Kinds...and then some.
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 P7066 Compare Link- http://3dmark.com/3dm11/251153
#3
Running the same PSU here with no issues.....no special screws either. :D
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
Please clarify what makes pop noise - Plug or PSU itself?
If the plug makes pop noise when you plug it in the wall outlet while power switch is at ON state, then it is ok.
And what is RCD?

*edit*^Two predators in one thread:laugh:
*edit2* To dr emulator (madmax): With powerpack you mean PSU?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#5
Please clarify what makes pop noise - Plug or PSU itself?
If the plug makes pop noise when you plug it in the wall outlet while power switch is at ON state, then it is ok.
And what is RCD?

*edit*^Two predators in one thread:laugh:
*edit2* To dr emulator (madmax): With powerpack you mean PSU?
it seems to be coming from the powersupply
and is intermitent, as i said some where else (can't remember where :laugh:) my other powerpack only started making the same noises after i had plugged it into this new i7 build, which obviously concerns me as i payed over £1200 for it all :twitch:

oh and i do use a surge protector if that means anything
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
now when i bought the powerpack i took it out of the bag and heard a rattle, so i shook it gently and a tiny bit of solder fell out
sufice to say i took it back to the shop and he tested it and found nothing wrong
That about tiny bit of solder falling out of your PSU usually means bad quality control. And that could lead to various flaws, including bad overall soldering job on PSU. And you can only imagine if other similar solder blob is inside, causing problems. Maybe something is poorly soldered, causing loud sparks? That could be the sound.
I know this all is only assumption, but that is from experience soldering similar products.

I havent heard that kind of sound from a PSU, and there aren't any component inside it, that should make that sound even when overloaded. PSU should not make that sounds if only there are something terribly wrong with it. pls correct me if I'm wrong.
I would like to see insides of this PSU, but that voids your warrnaty:( I sudgest that you get rid of it the sooner the better.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#7
I'd RMA it to be safe. No reason to risk frying an i7 system
 
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#8
well i'm going to do some serious looking into this, as everybody can imagine i don't want everything going pop especially if i treat myself to an i7 980 x chip

the most annoying thing about this was, when i said to the guy at the shop, what happens if it blows up taking all my stuff with it, he just replied saying "claim of your home insurance",
i was like :wtf: i've just paid over £165 or 255.96 US$ for the f censored.gif n thing :banghead:

well i was thinking of getting another with the 980 x just to be on the safe side, only thing is, is it going to be powerfull enough?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#9
as i said though i have a surge protection socket, and am wondering if it has got something to do with it,

only problem is it's got those damned one way pins holding it together, so i can't really open it up to have a root around and see if anything's burnt :banghead: :shadedshu

all my PSU's make a quick pop when i plug and unplug the cable, not sure about just flicking the switch.


your problem is not a grounding one. i've got that case, done none of your tricks, and have none of these problems.


my educated guesses are:

1. the noise is caused by power issues with your wiring/house (not the PC itself)

2. the noise is probably harmless. it may be a symptom of bad power, and not a cause of problems. you assumed the PSU blew the RCD thingy, maybe the RCD thingy is what blew, taking the PSU with it.
i can't see it being the wiring M, or the rcd as they are still all ok

my money is on the surge protector, only thing is i threw the damned box out, and i don't know where the receipt is :twitch::cry: :ohwell:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
231 (0.09/day)
Likes
24
System Name Vika
Processor Intel Core i3 2100
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ X Radeon HD 7970 @ 1100/1550
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2453MH-LED 23.6in LED
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Antec HCG 620W
Software Windows 7 Premium 64bit
#10
You could always try this test with your psu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FWXgQSokF4

however you must note that if you decide to do the test then thats your responsibility and not mine

EDIT: Whoops just did a re-read and found out that my post wouldn't help
 
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#11
lol that test would be quite hard to do on this psu as all the cables are black :laugh:
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
231 (0.09/day)
Likes
24
System Name Vika
Processor Intel Core i3 2100
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ X Radeon HD 7970 @ 1100/1550
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2453MH-LED 23.6in LED
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Antec HCG 620W
Software Windows 7 Premium 64bit
#12
Didn't realize that :(
 
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#13
today it did the same sort of slap/pop noise (it hasn't made any noises since i tightened the screws in the main plug) suffice to say i'm begining to think it has got something to do with the mains lead that plugs in the psu

all of them don't seem to have good contacts(even the official corsair one :eek:) so it's either something like that or something inside the psu
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#14
RMA possible? Like others have said, why risk your entire system if an RMA is available to do.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#15
Joined
Nov 6, 2009
Messages
1,271 (0.43/day)
Likes
230
Location
Ohio
System Name Vegnagun
Processor i5 750 @ 3810 MHz 200.7 X 19
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE 2
Memory 4x4 gb Crucial Ballistix 1600
Video Card(s) Radeon 5850 Toxic 950-1355-1.088v
Storage Corsair Neutron SSD OS, WD 1tb Black games, Toshiba 2tb Data drive
Display(s) Gateway FPD2485W
Case Azza Solano 1000
Audio Device(s) 10.1 on mobo :)
Power Supply Seventeam ST-850ZAF
Software Windows 7 pro on college student discount :)
Benchmark Scores top 1% in the world for weekly score in Killzone 2 :)
#16
because RMAs take time,
I think this would be a good application of time=money though. If said PSU dies and takes something with it, then that time not spent will result in a loss of money; however, if time is taken to prevent the destruction then money is not lost.

Also, doesn't corsair have an advance RMA process where you put a downpayment where they send you a new one and then you funds get released once they receive the broken one?
 
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#17
because RMAs take time,
true so true, it can take upto a few months according to the shop :wtf::eek::twitch::cry:

I think this would be a good application of time=money though. If said PSU dies and takes something with it, then that time not spent will result in a loss of money; however, if time is taken to prevent the destruction then money is not lost.

Also, doesn't corsair have an advance RMA process where you put a downpayment where they send you a new one and then you funds get released once they receive the broken one?
i agree, although i doubt an input problem in the mains end would take everything out, as their is fuses and protection circuits built in, but then again we are all at risk i suppose of a big bang taking things out

as for corsair replacing a psu afaik you personaly bear the cost of sending it back (after the first year is up) never heard of a funds being released rma will try to look into that;)