• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair H70 making crackling sounds. Help me understand this.

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
The block of the Corsair H70 I just installed on my rig is making some "cracking" sounds. I made a video of it to help you hear it, it's not as loud as it is in the video, but it's audible from outside, under normal listening conditions. I'm pretty sure it's the block and not the rad+fan that's making these sounds, because they're connected to separate fan headers, and unplugging the one the block is connected to, makes the sound go away.

Suggestions?

http://youtu.be/EKkHbM5uQDQ
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,486
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Sounds like the impeller to me, and that is not a sound I typically hear when testing!

If this unit is new, I would RMA it!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#3
Sound like the impeller or the impeller shaft might be rubbing. It could be the fan controller in the unit, maybe.


Make sure you don't plug this unit into your motherboard, use molex adapters if you have to. the H100's had issues back some time ago with PSUs giving more than 12V. Also having voltage too low at the pump can really hamper performance of these units. The h100 is a completely different design though.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#4
I must point out that the bolts holding the frame to the backplate are super-tight. Could that cause the pump's impeller to make this sound?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,486
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
No the threads/screws on the AIO units are supposed to be sent all the way home when installing it.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#7
No the threads/screws on the AIO units are supposed to be sent all the way home when installing it.
the H70 used those silly plastic clip mountings, I can see how it could be mounted wrong since both the plastic and metal can flex fairly easily. I Also think that the mounting distance is a bit too small for AMD set-ups, mounting one up would show you what I mean, hard to explain..like the CPUs sit 1-2 mm too high.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,596 (2.59/day)
Likes
5,991
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (2000/11100)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#8
Update firmware. I've heard numerous stories how Corsair Hydro's are grinding. And solution was supposedly a firmware update for it.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,486
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
I realized this is the ring and plastic backer, but on all the ones I had tested, and sent the screws in until they stop spinning, I have never had it affect the head unit or the impeller.

I would assume if there was any chance of this, you could simply remove the head unit from the motherboard and jump the 24-pin and see if the pump still makes that noise.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#10
good idea, 'peet.

Update firmware. I've heard numerous stories how Corsair Hydro's are grinding. And solution was supposedly a firmware update for it.
NO firmware on H70, no way to update that cooler. H100/H80, H80i, H100i all can be updated via the Corsair LINK stuff.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#11
the H70 used those silly plastic clip mountings, I can see how it could be mounted wrong since both the plastic and metal can flex fairly easily. I Also think that the mounting distance is a bit too small for AMD set-ups, mounting one up would show you what I mean, hard to explain..like the CPUs sit 1-2 mm too high.
Oh yes, the installation was a bitch. I first followed all instructions, and the block would simply not go into the O-ring, even with the ring raised maximum, and the bolts at bare minimum (for highest clearance). So I first locked the block on to the O-ring's grooves, and then placed the sucker onto the CPU, and turned the bolts through the backplate's nuts from zero to full-turn (as if I'm installing on LGA2011).
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,596 (2.59/day)
Likes
5,991
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (2000/11100)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#12
Interesting, i didn't have any problems with the O ring on my Antec H2O 920. LGA1366... Unless system used on COrsair's is wastly different...
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,486
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#13
Interesting, i didn't have any problems with the O ring on my Antec H2O 920. LGA1366... Unless system used on COrsair's is wastly different...
It is exactly the same, but as Dave mentioned, the AMD IHS is taller off the board than Intel is. Thus it makes the screws short if you will. So while Intel allows you to install the ring, and then the head unit, with AMD it has to go on as one piece to allow you to get the threads started without clearance issues doing it as instructed.

@ BTA, have you tried loosening the head unit or removing it yet?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#14
@ BTA, have you tried loosening the head unit or removing it yet?
Did a complete re-install from scratch. I made sure there's only moderate pressure on the block from the RM. Temperatures have gone down, but the sound persists.



CPU_Fan is the block, CHA_Fan1 is the rear 120 mm fan (radiator), and CHA_Fan2 is a slow 140 mm Noctua intake. Any chance that the 1500 RPM that's being reported is the actual speed of the pump?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,486
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#15
1500 is pump speed yes!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#17
CPU_Fan is the block, CHA_Fan1 is the rear 120 mm fan (radiator), and CHA_Fan2 is a slow 140 mm Noctua intake. Any chance that the 1500 RPM that's being reported is the actual speed of the pump?

Get that off the mobo header!!!!:banghead:

I see about 1700-1800 RPM via molex. I have two H70's. On a motherboard, is normal for 1500-1600 RPM. It's fine, but the noise could be caused by an air bubble lodged in the pump head. They use a dry sponge in the head that expands when filling the unit to take up air pocket, but that method doesn't work very well so there is always air gaps in these coolers. My H90 sounds like it could use another 16 CC of fluid, rather annoying, actually..it actually "splashes" when I shake the rad.

You should have rad fan plugged into mobo CPU header, and the pump connected via molex, for best results with these coolers.
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,486
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#18
Get that off the mobo header!!!!:banghead:

I see about 1800 RPM via molex. I have two H70's.
I was going to say that I thought it was closer to 2000RPM as well. If you do get more speed with an adapter, and the noise is still there, sorry to say, but you might have a bad unit on your hands.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#19
OK, all that's left to be done is make sure Corsair handles RMA here. The cooler came with a "don't return to retailer" note.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,486
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#20
Indeed, this is why I kept saying RMA over take it back to the store :(