• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

CPU Fan won't spin, GPU fan spins at max, and PC simply won't turn on

Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Something extremely weird just happened. I heard a pop inside my desktop, causing the whole thing to shut down. When I try to turn it on, next thing I know the CPU fan is no longer spinning (all is properly connected), while the GPU fan (ASUS 5870) is spinning at max making all the noise it possibly can make. Nothing would show up on the screen, no BIOS, no nothing, just a black monitor waiting to detect something.

I honestly have no clue what to do. I removed the GPU, shut everything down, retry to turn it back on, same thing. Am I supposed to contact a technician? I'm out of ideas.

I tried disconnecting and replugging just about everything. GPU, RAM, etc... The PC's been working fine for months now, however, it's not even a year old. Did the CMOS, removed battery, and visually, I don't see anything wrong with any of the components. Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#2
Something extremely weird just happened. I heard a pop inside my desktop, causing the whole thing to shut down. When I try to turn it on, next thing I know the CPU fan is no longer spinning (all is properly connected), while the GPU fan (ASUS 5870) is spinning at max making all the noise it possibly can make. Nothing would show up on the screen, no BIOS, no nothing, just a black monitor waiting to detect something.

I honestly have no clue what to do. I removed the GPU, shut everything down, retry to turn it back on, same thing. Am I supposed to contact a technician? I'm out of ideas.

I tried disconnecting and replugging just about everything. GPU, RAM, etc... The PC's been working fine for months now, however, it's not even a year old. Did the CMOS, removed battery, and visually, I don't see anything wrong with any of the components. Thanks in advance.
one of the capacitors, on your mobo, or in your PSU is blown... if exchanging the PSU wont help... take a closer look at your mobo capacitors... if one is bulged, your board probably is dead. repairable, but dead.
it should look like this: notice the small cracks in the top of the midst capacitor, and the stains from leaked electrolyte
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
I looked at every single one of them with my moonbeam and they look just fine, at least on the outside.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#4
I looked at every single one of them with my moonbeam and they look just fine, at least on the outside.
They could just look a little "bulgy." Even if there is no magically brown juice on the outside, they could still be blown. Even just a little means it can be dead. Good news is they are dead simple to replace and cost about $0.10 a piece!
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#6
I'm going to guess a mobo cap has blown. Remember they don't always blow at the top, sometimes the sides, or even the bottom of the cap can fail.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
I honestly don't see anything wrong on the caps. And I keep going through them.

Quick blurry pic of mobo: http://img641.imageshack.us/img641/4618/imag0004ne.jpg

I also tried turning the thing on with the 300W PSU from my old desktop. Everything turns on except the CPU fan. And then I try putting a different CPU fan, and that one won't spin either, with or with the GPU inserted.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#8
I honestly don't see anything wrong on the caps. And I keep going through them.

Quick blurry pic of mobo: http://img641.imageshack.us/img641/4618/imag0004ne.jpg

I also tried turning the thing on with the 300W PSU from my old desktop. Everything turns on except the CPU fan. And then I try putting a different CPU fan, and that one won't spin either, with or with the GPU inserted.
Honestly you need to RMA the MB . It is toast . :cry:
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#9
Have you tried plugging in the fan to a different header?
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#10
Have you tried plugging in the fan to a different header?
I do not think this will solve the issue . I think the MB is gone . Even if your CPU fan was working and all does it boot up ? Get any video any thing at all . If not the MB is gone . Thing is it could have taken RAM CPU PSU Video card along with it as well . Just no telling what has happened till you get the MB issue worked out .
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#11
I wish I could agree so I could at least get the problem narrowed down, but I keep looking and looking and nothing looks out of the ordinary. The caps are also not as the ones shown in the first pic, they look more attached to the mobo and out of like 40, only a couple are big.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
276 (0.09/day)
Likes
13
Location
edmonton alberta canada
System Name pimped rig
Processor intel core i5 2500k
Motherboard EVGA Z68 SLi micro
Cooling corsair h60
Memory 4gb G-Skill ripjaw's 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Ge-force GTX 560 Ti
Storage seagate 500gb sata3
Case Coolermaster elite 430, 4 case fan's
Power Supply 600 watt coolermaster extreme power
Software window's 7 home 64bit
#12
i feel bad for you man
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#13
Yeah, I feel bad for myself too m(_ _)m
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#15
You can RMA the MB . Try that .
Sounds like my only choice. I'm currently in New York, and will only be here for a week, so I guess I'll do that whenever I come back sometime. Thanks a lot for the help.
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#16
Maybe your PCI card is the culprit, looks It's not setted correctly.

Also, a Gigabyte board died on me once, just a couple of minutes after the first usage the OS freezes and the MB never booted again, I took it back to the reseller ('cause I didn't found how to fix it) and they never found what the heck make the board fail too, they gave me a new one and It never fails me again (It's the MB of my current rig)
 

Attachments

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#17
Maybe your PCI card is the culprit, looks It's not setted correctly.

Also, a Gigabyte board died on me once, just a couple of minutes after the first usage the OS freezes and the MB never booted again, I took it back to the reseller ('cause I didn't found how to fix it) and they never found what the heck make the board fail too, they gave me a new one and It never fails me again (It's the MB of my current rig)
:laugh: Not yet :laugh:

:slap:
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
276 (0.09/day)
Likes
13
Location
edmonton alberta canada
System Name pimped rig
Processor intel core i5 2500k
Motherboard EVGA Z68 SLi micro
Cooling corsair h60
Memory 4gb G-Skill ripjaw's 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Ge-force GTX 560 Ti
Storage seagate 500gb sata3
Case Coolermaster elite 430, 4 case fan's
Power Supply 600 watt coolermaster extreme power
Software window's 7 home 64bit
#18
hope you findout whats wrong bro
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#19
Very late update:

So I moved to CA from NY and finally got settled and ready to deal with this problem. Coming to the conclusion that the problem was indeed the motherboard, I sent it to the folks at Gigabyte who are coincidentally are located a few miles to my west. I received the repaired product after about a week.

Hooked everything up, CPU fan spins again, GPU looking good, I see the BIOS and... "Eureka!" was my first thought, right before I see the "Loading Operating System..." on the screen. The BIOS will no longer detect the OS HDD. Switched cables around and no go, it will detect all other HDD's but the main one. Hard Drive won't budge, vibrate, spin, or do anything a regular HDD would do. Not even when using it as an external.

Figured it simply died, perhaps at the time the motherboard went with it last year. I call Western Digital customer service (very useless if I may add) and of course they have no clue what may have happened to the HDD and have no suggestions whatsoever. Stupid me haven't backed up the data in that HDD in quite a long time and as a last resort, I'm considering sending it to the folks at drivesavers.com, unless someone has a better suggestion.

Also, when shaking it, it sounds as if there are some sort of particles inside the HDD. Any clue what that might be?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
It's all good that you got your PC working again, but I think the cause of problem was never found. You might have foud it now.
When my old Maxtor died I heard a pop too, but that was when I accidentally connected Molex power connector in reverse. How is it related to your dead MB - I think you should check PSU voltages if it's the same PSU that was connected, when MB died. Bad/dying PSU could have killed your MB and HDD. Now it could happen again.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#21
or the mobo took it with it... mine did the same thing while i installed a gts450 and got to watch the mosfets arc electricity and catch fire (part on the board that does the cpu voltage phases). so far everything that was on the board is fine except for one Sata hard drive. (don't know about cpu yet, haven't been able to get another am3 board) but ram was ok, using it now in my current rig.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#22
or the mobo took it with it... mine did the same thing while i installed a gts450 and got to watch the mosfets arc electricity and catch fire (part on the board that does the cpu voltage phases). so far everything that was on the board is fine except for one Sata hard drive. (don't know about cpu yet, haven't been able to get another am3 board) but ram was ok, using it now in my current rig.
Nothing like the feeling of losing an non-backed up HDD... Does make me wonder, how come it didn't do anything to the other 3 HDD's that were in the rig with it?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#23
If they are different manufacturer, then they could have been "stronger" and withstand that possibly higher voltage.

*edit* to rule out all posibilities - Did you check PSU voltages?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#24
If they are different manufacturer, then they could have been "stronger" and withstand that possibly higher voltage.

*edit* to rule out all posibilities - Did you check PSU voltages?
2 of the 3 survivors are Western Digital. The only difference I could think of between the OS HDD and the rest, is that the OS HDD ran at 10,000rpm while the rest at 7,200rpm and 5,900rpm.
As for the voltages, no. No I haven't.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
432 (0.10/day)
Likes
30
Location
NJ
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III Formula
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H70 Push/Pull
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB 8-8-8-21 1.65v
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290-DC2OC-4GD5
Storage Transend TS256GSSD320 / WD 1TB Black 64MB Cache
Display(s) Westinghouse 37" LCD 1920x1080P
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T Mesh
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI Fatality Pro/Supreme XFI
Power Supply Antec True Power Quattro 1000W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
#25
Are the remaining 2 drives the same model drives? If so it could be the board on the HD that is dead. If it is making sounds when you shake it it may not be entirely abnormal. If the drives are the same model and have the same firmware revision and you do not mind gambling, you need to get yourself some security hex bits think I just used a #7 on an old WD drive and swap the boards. See if that gets the old drive to spin up. And whatever you do, DO NOT shake the drive anymore. :twitch: