• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

cpu holding my system back ?

Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#1
is my cpu holding my system back ? , i get constant fps drops with my 4870 @ 1680x1050 in any game i play . for example in farcry2 below ,tested with both a 3870 and a 4870

gecube 3870 oc (gddr3 special edition) @870/1000
Loop 1
Total Frames: 11663, Total Time: 284.01s
Average Framerate: 41.07
Max. Framerate: 101.85 (Frame:1, 0.02s)
Min. Framerate: 21.48 (Frame:5059, 125.34s)

Loop 2
Total Frames: 11598, Total Time: 284.02s
Average Framerate: 40.84
Max. Framerate: 88.81 (Frame:2, 0.03s)
Min. Framerate: 21.02 (Frame:5038, 125.37s)

Loop 3
Total Frames: 11668, Total Time: 284.01s
Average Framerate: 41.08
Max. Framerate: 72.14 (Frame:754, 16.67s)
Min. Framerate: 21.47 (Frame:5042, 124.21s)

Average Results
Average Framerate: 40.99
Max. Framerate: 72.77
Min. Framerate: 22.84
SVG not loaded!
View larger version


sapphire 4870 @790/1100

Loop 1
Total Frames: 15637, Total Time: 284.02s
Average Framerate: 55.06
Max. Framerate: 114.14 (Frame:0, 0.01s)
Min. Framerate: 30.59 (Frame:7316, 124.64s)

Loop 2
Total Frames: 15182, Total Time: 284.02s
Average Framerate: 53.45
Max. Framerate: 108.48 (Frame:0, 0.01s)
Min. Framerate: 29.55 (Frame:7070, 124.65s)

Loop 3
Total Frames: 15292, Total Time: 284.02s
Average Framerate: 53.84
Max. Framerate: 99.15 (Frame:2259, 26.48s)
Min. Framerate: 31.02 (Frame:7082, 124.78s)

Average Results
Average Framerate: 54.12
Max. Framerate: 98.87
Min. Framerate: 30.50
it seems to be getting worse no matter what driver i use , all other drivers are upto date also so what could it be . also my vista install is a fresh install but also happens in xp
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
id have to say it might be a very good possability
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
632 (0.18/day)
Likes
64
Location
Australia
System Name _Speedforce_ (Successor to Strike-X, 4LI3NBR33D-H, Core-iH7 & Nemesis-H)
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X (Lapped) @ 4.9Ghz With XSPC Raystorm (Lapped)
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe (XSPC Watercooled) - Custom Heatsinks
Cooling XSPC Custom Water Cooling + Custom Air Cooling (From Delta 120's TFB1212GHE to Spal 30101504&5)
Memory 8x 8Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum 3400MHz @ 3667Mhz (CMU32GX4M4C3466C16)
Video Card(s) 3x Asus GTX1080 Ti (Lapped) With Customised EK Waterblock (Lapped) + Custom heatsinks (Lapped)
Storage 5x Samsung 960 Pro 1Tb M.2 2280 (Hyper M.2 x16 Card), 1x Samsung 850 Pro 1Tb, 6x Samsung EVO 850 4Tb
Display(s) 6x Asus ROG Swift PG27AQ
Case Aerocool Strike X (Modified)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 & Aurvana XFi Headphones
Power Supply 2x Corsair AX1500i With Custom Sheilding, Custom Switching Unit. Braided Cables.
Mouse Razer Copperhead + R.A.T 9
Keyboard Ideazon Zboard + Optimus Maximus. Logitech G13.
Software w10 Pro x64.
Benchmark Scores pppft, gotta see it to believe it. . .
#3
I have to agree with Solaris17.
Unfortunately the motherboard will have to be changed too with the CPU.

I think after you change MB and CPU, you might want to consider a PSU upgrade.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#4
why whats wrong with my psu ? , also why would i need to change my mobo ? . also change them for what
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.61/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#5
I do not think the PSU has to be changed....if you decide to change CPU.

however, apart from suggesting the obvious (CPU), have you checked disk utilization from another program? (eg antivirus) I know this is far fetched, but I 've seen it happen...
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#6
PSU is just fine order yourself a cheap phenom or wait for deneb to come out
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#7
That CPU is fine.... Most games only utilize 2 cores, a quad core isn't going to get you much for just gaming. I'm running my 4870x2 on a 5000+ right now and it plays anything just fine, fallout 3 or crysis warhead.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#8
I would certainly say that the CPU is holding the graphics card back. Try overclocking the CPU and see if it helps. That or move to phenom or Core Duo.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.04/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#9
I'd say try and see if you have relatively new gpu drivers and directx installed first, before you start blaming hardware :D
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#10
Any overclock on the cpu at all? Does the fps drops let up some if you open your case and leave side panel off?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#11
tried overclocking the cpu but no change , got the latest cat drivers and dx and the temps are fine . the cpu never goes above 54c under load , i have also tried the Amd fusion for gaming app and no change also . not sure what to do tbh , was thinking on trying the phenom x3 8750 black edition and overclock it while i save for the deneb's and a better mobo . but i have been looking at the new 7750 x2 be athlon , looks interesting
 
Last edited:

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#12
Its kind of like my system, but the other way around.:(

8600 GTS holding my QX6700 back in gaming.

You may just need a CPU upgrade.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#13
Its kind of like my system, but the other way around.:(

8600 GTS holding my QX6700 back in gaming.

You may just need a CPU upgrade.
you mod that 8600 youd see it isnt all that much of a baby...hit 1Ghz core and it purrs like a kitteh
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#14
you mod that 8600 youd see it isnt all that much of a baby...hit 1Ghz core and it purrs like a kitteh
I tried OCing the card with EVGA Percsion but it would crash alot of the time in the crysis demo and sometime just give me driver errors, so i just took it back down to stock clock, maybe i should only OC it only my maybe 25mhz so it wont crash or overheat.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#15
you need a lap job memory timing mods and voltage mods maybe an after market cooler but i didnt their alot you can do imo thr 8600 is thee most moddable nvidia card btw unlink the shaders you get 200+mhz avg core matters but the shaders is were the power is

/sorry didnt mean to highjack
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#16
I think my cpu is holding me back in games as well. I see people with 4860's that get an avg of 45fps in farcry 2 yet when I play I barely get over 30 most of the time. It's quite annoying.

Too bad I have to wait until April to get the 945 that i want. Oh well.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#17
Best thing to do know, is to OC ur cpu.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#18
tried overclocking the cpu but no change , got the latest cat drivers and dx and the temps are fine . the cpu never goes above 54c under load , i have also tried the Amd fusion for gaming app and no change also . not sure what to do tbh , was thinking on trying the phenom x3 8750 black edition and overclock it while i save for the deneb's and a better mobo . but i have been looking at the new 7750 x2 be athlon , looks interesting
The 7750 isn't much of an upgrade from what you got, thats why I'm saying your processor is honestly fine. If you got the Windsor thats got 3.0Ghz and the Brisbane 3.1Ghz, that is plenty enough for Farcry. But just to make sure I'm installing my copy right now, 'm gonna run it with what I got in right now (4400+ @ 2.7Ghz) and we'll see how that does.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#19
The 7750 isn't much of an upgrade from what you got, thats why I'm saying your processor is honestly fine.
Well for the price, it's really not bad. Reviews said it's going to be 75 bucks.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#20
Well for the price, it's really not bad. Reviews said it's going to be 75 bucks.
He has a 6000+ right now though, the performance gain will be almost negligible he might notice a fps or 2, but nothing crazy. And like I said early most games don't use more than 2 cores right now, upgrading to a Phenom really isn't going to add much. A 6000+ is a fine processor right now, not the best there is by far, but shouldn't be lagging on anything out there right now.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#21
i found it listed on a uk site for £74.74 inc VAT , i am not sure as of now which of the new am3/am2+ cpu's my mobo supports and gigabyte are not saying yet (i have asked them and no reply) . as for my athlon x2 6000 lagging i have tried everything to stop the drops but nothing seems to work
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#22
I just looked back, your average frames are in the 40's and 50's thats normal. Anyones system might hang a bit upon turning or something else. Look at other benchmarks you aren't going to see systems that run and never ever drop fps, they all do it one time or another. Your average FPS is fine, I think your worrying to much here. And like I said that 7750 isn't going to be much of an upgrade if any for you.

BT I just played some FC2 and my 4400+ was pushing the game just fine with every setting maxed out at 1680x1050.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#23
how would the 7750 be compair to the x3 8750 be , i would like somewhere the better performance as i get now but use less power . is that possible ?
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#24
8750 is a bit faster than the 7750, and matters what 6000+ you are using for it to consume less. The old Windsor 90nm takes if I remember right 95W where as the newer Brisbane 6000+ 65nm only takes like 65W (I could be wrong though) and the 8750 Im pretty sure uses 95W.

Personally I think you should just wait, beginning of next month when the Phenom II lands. It will drop the prices of current Phenoms most likely. I still really would say though to not even upgrade till the Phenom II X3's land (if your looking to save some cash). The 6000+ is plenty enough really.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#25
the x2 6000 i am using is the 125w version , had it around 2 years and it is starting to show its age lol