• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU Multi Keeps Changing on i7

Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
I have disabled Intel speed step in the bios, but my multi is not constantly at 20, What do I have to do?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
no, I have also disabled that.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#4
Maybe getting to hot and causing thermal throttling to kick in ... "??"

That's my only thing you could possibly look into at the moment.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.02/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#5
i think this question came up a while back let me see if i can find it
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#6
Go to power options in Control Panel and set it to 'High Performance'

See if that helps.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Power Options Are on High Performance, Temps on my cores are 46 46 52 47.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
12
Location
Planet Earth
Processor C2Q Q6700
Motherboard Asus P5E @ Rampage Formula
Cooling 3x120mm, Noctua U9B (IFX-14 coming soon)
Memory 4GB A-data Vitesta
Video Card(s) HD4850 CF Sapphire and HIS
Storage WD6400AAKS + WD MyBook 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2407WFP
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy SE
Power Supply X-Spice CroonBF 650W
#8
Disabled both C1E and EIST?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
I just went into the bios and disabled C1E Support, now my multi is staying at 20! :D Thank you!
Should the C1E have been causing this?
 

Urukland

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Somewhere in Spain
Processor Xeon W3520
Motherboard DFI x58 UT T3eH8
Cooling Ifx-14+Scythe UK
Memory 3x2Gb Gskill 1600 Pi Black
Storage WD Velociraptor 150Gb
Display(s) HP 2475W
Case Lian-li TYR X500B
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Software Windows 7 RC x64
#10
Should the C1E have been causing this?
Yes. C1E works dropping the multiplier and voltage at certain levels when cpu isn´t working. It haven´t the steps of eist, but the effet is almost the same.