• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

cpu overheating at 41-45 degrees?

Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I just built a computer, I'll post all the specs at the end of the thread, but I have an AMD fx-4100 3.6 GHz black edition processor. I've had it overclocked up to 4.5 GHz before and I just overclocked it to 4.1 GHz my CPU temp. was between 41 and 45 degrees Celsius. I had it Overclocked at 4.1 GHz for about an hour, CPU was running at 35%. After about an hour, I was finished with my program so I backed my CPU back down to the stock 3.6 GHz and about 5 minutes after, I was simply browsing the web and my computer bluescreened. Any ideas as to what caused it?

PC specs:
Motherboard: msi 970a-g46
Processor: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz Black edition
RAM: 2 ADATA DDR3 1333 4GB Sticks
Video Card: NVIDIA geforce gt 610
Case: Thermaltake Commander MS-I Snow Edition with 2 Thermaltake (I think the size is 40mm) fans
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,653
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
You need to check your temps under full load. 45c is nothing but obviously you didn’t check it under a load. Use a program like real temps or hardware monitor and then run Prime95. Watch your temp’s closely. I believe the FX-4100 max temp is 70c
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
You need to check your temps under full load. 45c is nothing but obviously you didn’t check it under a load. Use a program like real temps or hardware monitor and then run Prime95. Watch your temp’s closely. I believe the FX-4100 max temp is 70c
I was watching my cpu temps pretty closely as the process went on. I was using AMD overdrive but I'll test out what you suggested and post back the results later. Oh and thank you for the suggestions
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#4
whats the bluescreen code?
when you reset your bios did you just change the setting or completely clear everything?

if your going back to stock you should reset the cmos just to make sure you didnt leave a setting from your attempted overclock
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
953 (0.44/day)
Likes
496
Location
Arcadia
System Name Xeon build /Main Rig
Processor Intel Xeon w3520 @ 4Ghz with HT /i7 4820k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe v2 socket 1366 / Asus P9X79 socket 2011
Cooling Thermalright Archon +Ty 140mm|Fans : 2 front-1top-1rear-1bottom/ Swiftech H140x
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600mhz Kingstone Hyper x Quad Channel / 16gb DDR3 2133MHZ Gskill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd 7950 3gb Boost edition dual fan X / XFX R9 Fury X
Storage Kingstone AV400ssd 120gb + Seagate B 2Tb + WD green 1tb + WD green 3tb + WD red 3tb + Seagate B 4tb
Display(s) Wasabi Mango UHD430 43" 4K @60hz with Freesync
Case Fractal Design Arc midi
Audio Device(s) SoundMaxHD+5.1 BHT1100 BLUESKY,Corsair Vengeance 1500 v2,Fiio E10 Olympus+SuperluxHD668b
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower xt 775watt modular
Mouse Corsair M90
Keyboard Microsoft WK600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
whats the bluescreen code?
when you reset your bios did you just change the setting or completely clear everything?

if your going back to stock you should reset the cmos just to make sure you didnt leave a setting from your attempted overclock
use bluescreenviewer for see the error .
you oc with a stock cooler? how many fans you have in the case?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#6
the only time ive had a bsod on mine is when i was trying to get 5ghz but even then the temps were fine. if i remember the code was something like ati,error,dxhl something like that.

and max on these is 70*c youre right jetster, but when i had a stock cooler it wouldnt exceed 60* with 1.475 vcore
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
1,050 (0.31/day)
Likes
132
Location
Pikeville NC
System Name In the works
Processor 4670k
Motherboard ASUS Z87
Cooling 5x120mm
Memory 8GB Sniper Gskill 1833
Video Card(s) MSI 970 Gaming
Storage 2x 240gb SSD's + 1TB seagate
Display(s) 27" Acer 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply OCZ Power 600W Modular
Keyboard Corsait K70 with red switches
Software Win10
#7
sounds like you just made an unstable overclock, or there is something else happening here. Without you testing it out some more we wont know.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#8
im about to try hit 5ghz again, few mods on vrms. if i bsod ill remember the error.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,308 (0.39/day)
Likes
573
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#9
45 celcius is well over 100 degrees.......again what CPU cooler are you using? You must have an aftermarket if your shooting for 5Ghz.
Do you have auto shut down settings in the bios, if so are they on?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#10
i didnt start the thread lol mine maxs at 41-5*c with 1.500vcore. i got the xigmatek aegir, and can get up to 4.8 easy enough. and my board is shit so added heatsinks to the vrm and fan! im getting a new mobo soon so trying to see if i can for shits and giggles!
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,653
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#11
Yep quit hijacking the OP's thread.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#12
Did you do the clock change in OS as that sends stability to hell even on low clocks. I tried doing something like this for my 3960x never ever worked after going from a stable 4.8Ghz to 3.3Ghz via AI suite 2 my PC crashed so just set the clocks in the bios and don't mess with them in the OS as that almost never works for long term stability.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,483
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
Did you do the clock change in OS as that sends stability to hell even on low clocks. I tried doing something like this for my 3960x never ever worked after going from a stable 4.8Ghz to 3.3Ghz via AI suite 2 my PC crashed so just set the clocks in the bios and don't mess with them in the OS as that almost never works for long term stability.
I've found that controlling CPU clocks on Intel CPUs doesn't work nearly as well (maybe it's just X79,) when you overclock using something like TurboV. However I had zero issues with overclocking my 940 on the M4N72-E using TurboV so I'm sure it depends on that platform and the motherboard.