1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU running hot for no reason.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Widjaja, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Stress testing my CPU at the moment.

    Athlon X2 4800+ Toldeo (939skt) at stock speeds, stock voltages not using cool n' quiet

    It's running under a tuniq tower which I have lapped to a mirror finish and reseated twice with AC silver 5.

    The temperature is at 58-63degC on the cores after 14min of Orthos.

    I am sure this should be cooler.

    When I removed the cpu to take a closer look at it I also found the socket to have a light brown mark on one side.

    The processor is running fine but still what is causing the high temps?:wtf:

    Could my processor be dying or reading the wrong temperatures?
    Could my motherboard be giving too much voltage on one core?

    Don't know whats going on.

    Absolutely confused here.:ohwell:
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Okay this is pretty weird.
    I went back to the stock cooler to find the temps only a couple of deg than with the Tuniq Tower.

    I wonder if my CPU has become randomly faulty from age.
    It seems it's not transferring the heat well anymore.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,485 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    New York
    try resetting your cmos.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I'll give it a shot.

    I'm going to put back the Tuniq Tower as well.

    I'll be back with the results.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,371 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    The temperature is at 58-63degC on the cores after 14min of Orthos

    That really isn't that bad for an 90nm core and an 110W TDP

    What voltage does it say its using, normal for this cpu is 1.3V ~ 1.35V

    i used to have one before i went upto what i have now in my SYS SPEC

    my old Asus A8R32MVP-Deluxe if left on Auto for cpu voltage used to try and use 1.4V
     
    Widjaja says thanks.
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I just remember the cores being cooler. :/

    I also see on the net people getting very low temps as if they were in Siberia.

    I found someone on trademe who has one of these and asked him to stress test his.
    He didn't even have a clue how to so I told him

    His final results were 38degC idle 72degC temp load after 3min of Orthos ha ha ha!

    He's trying to make a lot of dosh off it as they are rare to find over here so I thought I would see what he gets.

    Probably what I would get on the stock cooler if I left it long enough.

    Right now I'm getting 60/66 max temp after 26min in Orthos.

    The vregs are rubbish on this motherboard, they are all over the place.
    I set mine to 1.35v.

    On an older motherboard I used to have it OC'd to 2.6Ghz at 1.45v.
    I'm pretty sure it never reached the temps it does now.....

    EDIT:-
    @DRDNA I cleared CMOS and the temps are the same.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,634 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,628
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    What are the room temps?
    Are they higher?

    Just a thought.:)
     
  8. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Ripple on VRMs causes CPU Temps to skyrocket. Another case is the TIM on the inside of the IHS has dried and cracked up ect..
     
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The voltage jumps upt to a max of 1.4 at times but mainly hovers around 1.35v

    It is a rather old CPU and well used, but I don't think I would want to remove the IHS.
    But then over the years it seems the temperature has gone up bit by bit.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,492 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    The temp seems fine to me.
     
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,371 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    @ widjaja aye another KIWI like me!! i use to use one of those AMD stock HSF's with the 4 heatpipes and at idle mine used to run quite cool roughly 27~28°c at load it'd get up there like yours between 62~65°c dependent on room temps summer was a bummer but winter was a good time to OC
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Meh. Delid it to find out if the TIM under the IHS is bad. :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Thing is I'm not using a stock heatsink.

    I'm using a Tuniq Tower and getting these temps :/

    @Wile E

    Your deliding venture with the 6000+ brings back memories.

    I can't figure out what else it could be besides the IHS TIM
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    lol. I don't think they soldered 939 cpus. Delidding was a super popular Opty mod. Btw, after I killed the 6000+, I went ahead and delidded my AM2 3800+ X2 back up cpu. It wasn't soldered either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,371 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    so either the air inside the case is really hot or as other have said the IHS's TIM has gone toes up

    all you need is an craft knife a steady hand some new tim and expoxy resin (failing that selly's super glue is just as good)
     
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I have a feeling it's the TIM in the IHS.
    The case can't be hot enough to drive the cpu up to 60 under load at stock with a Tuniq Tower, the case is cool enough as is.
    My HD4850 doesn't get past 56 degC.

    Just need to choose which TIM is suitable, find where to get epoxy resin and get some more isopropyl alcohol.
    Pharmacists here think I'm going to use it to make some oil so they don't sell it to me.

    Might just have to buy some arcticlean.

    If this doesn't work I can always upgrade.
    It's really about time although gamers are running sweet still.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    You don't need glue. Just leave the IHS off, and shim your heatsink. Best temps possible that way.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,371 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    just use some nail polish remover you can find two part epoxy at most miter 10 stores

    if you talk to a shop that deals with laptop fixing you might be able to get them to part with some Shin-Etsu thermal paste it's good stuff and non conducting
     
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,473 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,963
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    maybe its time for a AM3 upgrade for you! :)

    The older 939s ran almost as hot as a P4 Prescott and even with a tuniq tower on my P4 it would still idle in the 40s and load about 60s
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,371 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    @ Wile E also the best chance of buggering it aswell
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Only if your aren't careful. I think he'll be fine. You just have to make sure you don't apply a lot of pressure at an angle on the die.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,371 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    @ brandonwh64 he lives in New Zealand sh!t ain't cheap here like in the US
     
  23. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    @brandon64
    I have a Prescott 3.0E HT and yes it does run hot but I still remember my CPU being cooler : /
    Now I remember.....I was getting 54degC at 2.6Ghz @ 1.45v but that's on an older MB.

    @Wile E I know you're a risk taker lol
    I'm not that much of one.
    I have been looking up sites which have documented it and it basically looks like a 754skt CPU.

    I'll just look around at work to see if there is anymore iso wipes.

    I mean the temps I'm getting are just un reasonable, the change in temps with the Tuniq Towers fan speed varying from low to highest is a difference of only 2degC.

    Yeah components aren't cheap here, even when shopping around but yeah I would probably go for another AMD CPU after this one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,473 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,963
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    oh yea i didnt look were he was from :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,815 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Come to think of it.
    The My CPU does have a little gap.
    air can easily get it and get to the TIM in the IHS causing it to go all hard and crusty.

    5 year old TIM in a CPU which has been well used it going to be....not good.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)