1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU runs hot at stock speeds on stock cooler?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Black Panther, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    68 degrees is nothing to scoff at for a CPU that old. One of my old 939s got up to 75c a few weeks ago when I was lightly overclocking it (was freshly assembled with generic white TIM, but I change stuff around so often it's not worth me buying expensive TIM when I got a 40g jar of the Cooler Master TIM for $15). :)

    At least your board shuts off when it gets too hot. Hope everyone remembers the explosive ceramic package Athlons on those Youtube videos (although that probably wouldn't happen with a cooler installed).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    246 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    New York
    I have a few different older heatsinks from processors such as the Athlon 64, they are pretty beefy. I also have X2 555 one and maybe a deneb one if you are interested. edit* do have a deneb one actually
     
  3. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I often wonder about you, freedom. How can such an experienced tpu user consistently miss vital information in the OP. Just something I noticed... no offense intended... just an observation :toast:
     
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,716 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    lol naaa I think 3gz maybe 3.2 underneath a TRUE.
     
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,835 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    Yes, during a game the aluminium parts of the heatsink would be so hot you can barely touch them. :ohwell:
     
  6. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,834 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    AZ
    a very blatant indication that the cooler simply isn't enough. It's working, but its design prevents it from dissipating heat fast enough. More airflow may be a stop-gap solution until you can find a better cooler on the cheap.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,271 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,126
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    what a dinky cooler.

    an exhaust fan would be helpful perhaps.
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,716 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    BP I have a stock FX8120 cooler you could have.

    It's one of those AMD heatpipe types but the fan has a higher maximum RPM.
     
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,835 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    I found a Xigmatec Dark Night from a local seller for €20. Do you think it would be effective in improving temperatures significantly?
     
  10. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,834 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    AZ
    that cooler will work well, pity you can't find a used one though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,835 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    :eek: You mean it's too expensive? The one I quoted above is a used one! Direct linky.
     
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,716 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I wouldn't pay more than £10 for one.

    Also I wouldn't really be happy using clips instead of mounting screws with a tower cooler XD
     
  13. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,834 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    AZ
    umm wow, that's how much it should cost new. 10e would be much more reasonable for a used one.

    suprised there's no one here selling one near you.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Xzibit

    Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,895 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Is that a flux capacitor or wires :D

    Do you have the case with the side panel off. Asking cause there is no Intake or Exhaust fans. If the case is sealed the hot air is just circulating in there aswell.

    Might just want to get a better HSF first.
     
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,716 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    If you do want the AMD heatpipe cooler Postage is only £5 or so : ]

    I've also got a solid copper cooler but that's a weighs a kilo so probably won't be economical to post lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)