• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

CPU spiking is killing me..

Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#1
Okay so... For no reason, since yesterday I've been having random CPU spikes. It'll be at a regular load like 20-30% and then it spikes to 70ish% and my entire PC lags severely for a few seconds. It happens randomly, usually every couple minutes. It's literally killing me. It's never done this before in my life, since yesterday.

I've done what everyone says like finding the process that spikes up, but nothing has worked. I even reinstalled Windows 7 just now, still no luck. After reinstalling Windows 7 - I think it's a hardware issue...

Does anyone know?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,806 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,791
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#3
I'm not sure if this will work on Win 7, but worth a try:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896645
I'm not sure this will help me.

Let me explain a bit further:

Okay so I was playing RIFT and using a java program on the side.. First I started monitoring the spiking and the java program was spiking - so I closed that. Okay no more spiking, then I ran a virus scan - guess what started spiking? The virus scanner was spiking, so I closed that. I had nothing else running except RIFT and then that started spiking. It was spiking like every second program until there wasn't any other program to spike.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,806 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,791
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#4
I'm not sure this will help me.

Let me explain a bit further:

Okay so I was playing RIFT and using a java program on the side.. First I started monitoring the spiking and the java program was spiking - so I closed that. Okay no more spiking, then I ran a virus scan - guess what started spiking? The virus scanner was spiking, so I closed that. I had nothing else running except RIFT and then that started spiking. It was spiking like every second program until there wasn't any other program to spike.
Give it a try.

It sounds more like an I/O problem, cache or something else. Include your sys specs in your info, it'll help.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#5
Download and install HDTune and check SMART status and for errors.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#6
If you are OCing anything. try putting back to stock.
Reset the bios(cmos).
Check your memory.
Check all the connectors (power and data).
Check your CPU, GPU, and other temps.

EDIT:
Get something like Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 and burn it to a CD/DVD or USB stick and run it to check for baddies.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#7
If you are OCing anything. try putting back to stock.
Reset the bios(cmos).
Check your memory.
Check all the connectors (power and data).
Check your CPU, GPU, and other temps.

EDIT:
Get something like Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10 and burn it to a CD/DVD or USB stick and run it to check for baddies.
Nothing is OCed, I checked my memory using Memtest (no errors), i checked my CPU heats (nothing overheating), GPU (no overheat), other temps (nothing). The only thing I haven't done is reset my cmos. I even ran scans on my harddrives, no errors.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#8
Could be some thing you have plugged into the usb port(s)? If this just started what has changed? There was some thing you added or took out.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#9
Could be some thing you have plugged into the usb port(s)? If this just started what has changed? There was some thing you added or took out.
That's the thing I don't understand though.. I haven't installed or done anything that would change anything from what I do daily. Nothing installed, didn't uninstall anything recently, it just started happening randomly yesterday afternoon.

Edit: Turned off PC, renewed the thermal paste on my CPU, reset the CMOS, and dusted my PC out. Still having cpu spikes.
 
Last edited:

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#10
Could be the MB or the CPU. Just hard to tell.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
#11
disconnect from the internet with the machine. Try a few programs. Maybe there is a deeper bad thingy that is hidden. Try a few "different" tools since some baddies can disable the scan softwares to report things being clean.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#12
You may want to go to USER CP in the forum menu and enter your system specs.
Be sure to check the box to show your specs.

You mention your A/V software... you may want to un-install it then test.
Then re-install it.
I have had in the past a couple of them do some odd things, such as what you are experiencing.

Also, are the rest of your drivers up to date... has Windows update installed any driver updates or other updates when this started?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#13
disconnect from the internet with the machine. Try a few programs. Maybe there is a deeper bad thingy that is hidden. Try a few "different" tools since some baddies can disable the scan softwares to report things being clean.
Well it seems to be selective, I've tried several games (which is when it occurs). It happens when I play RIFT and Guild Wars 2, and occasionally Runescape.

I've tried Borderlands 2, The Secret World, The Witcher 2 and Everquest II. It didn't happen in those games.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,595 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#14
Any Windows updates installed lately? Those have been known to cause problems in the past.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#15
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#16
You have too many processes running in the background that are not needed. Disable what you don't use
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#17
You have too many processes running in the background that are not needed. Disable what you don't use
I have, :(.

Only things that are necessary for PC use are running lol.

Nothing otherwise
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#18
try uninstall ur audio driver and disable onboard audio see if that makes a difference.

i had that problem before, but it's long time ago, in Windows 7, and it was the onboard audio that made my quad-core at the time spike up to 20%.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#19
try uninstall ur audio driver and disable onboard audio see if that makes a difference.

i had that problem before, but it's long time ago, in Windows 7, and it was the onboard audio that made my quad-core at the time spike up to 20%.
I don't even have onboard audio installed lol!
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#20
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#21
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#22
So sorry, I had them filled out, but not viewable lol
it's nice to know what parts u got, so ppl can help u better ^^

r u running with bios 1.20 or 1.30?

yes ino ur FX-6300 got supported in bios 1.20 according to Asrock's site, but if u don't run bios 1.30 try it.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#23
it's nice to know what parts u got, so ppl can help u better ^^

r u running with bios 1.20 or 1.30?

yes ino ur FX-6300 got supported in bios 1.20 according to Asrock's site, but if u don't run bios 1.30 try it.
I don't know my BIOS version, but I've checked and I have the latest that is available to be downloaded for my motherboard.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#24
try playing with the affinity settings with the cores... try isolating each core at a time and see if it makes a difference. could be a bad core. or could just be a core running hot (it throttles down to save it from burning up, so the usage spikes), poor heat sink contact with the cpu or they f'd up the lid of the cpu somehow. could just be old or poor quality thermal paste too or unevenly applied pressure of the cooler.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name ?
Processor AMD 6300-FX Six-Core Processor 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASROCK 960GM/U3S3 FX
Memory 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 670 FTW
Storage 80GB Windows drive, 500GB 2nd
Case GS-6500R
Power Supply 550W Thermaltake
#25
try playing with the affinity settings with the cores... try isolating each core at a time and see if it makes a difference. could be a bad core. or could just be a core running hot (it throttles down to save it from burning up, so the usage spikes), poor heat sink contact with the cpu or they f'd up the lid of the cpu somehow. could just be old or poor quality thermal paste too or unevenly applied pressure of the cooler.
No cigar. I also put new thermal paste on my CPU last night.