1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU stress testing advice...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Dr. Spankenstein, May 7, 2008.

  1. Dr. Spankenstein

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Currently I am using two instances of Prime95 large, in-place ffts to test the CPU. Should I be using small ffts to check? Sould I just go with Orthos?

    What are the standards that most go by in regards to small/large ffts and Priority level?

    I'm currently @ 4.275GHz w/1.408V under load. VID is reported by CPU-z as 1.225.

    Thanks guys!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,854 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,579
    Location:
    Florida
    large fft's high priority level...i also like to use WMP while its doing it as music depending on sound card are processed through the cpu....and the diff algorythim it uses mixes it up a little.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,544 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I run Orthos + Prime95 for maximum heat output. This will stress the cpu to the max. also I played games while these 2 programs are running in the background.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    940
    Stress testing to me is not very important. So long as it will pass one instance of Prime 95 and a few hours of Crysis, I am good. Some people like to stress it to the point of cracking, I think that it's pointless and harms the chip.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Dr. Spankenstein

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Great stuff! Thanks for the advice!

    Keep it comin'...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,640 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i just got my POS small/large FFT stable @ 3.6 :rolleyes: :laugh: i run them for about 6hrs each while running sPi and of course i torture it with a few solid hours of gaming. i do this mainly to check my temps/Vdroop :cool:

    sometimes stress tests will fail but the system will still run your apps fine so take it with a grain of salt ;)

    :toast:
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Rurouni Strife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I usually run Orthos for 8 hours with whatever settings stress the entire system. That usually works for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
  9. Dr. Spankenstein

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280

    Yeah, I kinda wanted to test the CPU separately first.
    Then run Memtest86+, then stress the whole system w/games, transcoding or whatnot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    According to the link i posted before, it's the other way around: make sure the RAM works @ the target speed, then overclock the CPU to the desired speed and stress it.
     
  11. Dr. Spankenstein

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Sorry, didn't see that. We must have been poting simultaneously!

    That does make more sense to proceed that way. I'll give it a go!

    Thanks fellers!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,630 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    It's best to make sure your problem isn't the RAM.

    I was having crashes all the time but couldn't figure out what was the problem: turns out it was the RAM ... and the voltages i had on the CPU ...

    Once i had the RAM problem fixed, it was MUCH easier to adjust my overclock.


    Even though that link is for a QX9650 with a DDR3 motherboard, the same principle applies for all CPU / motherboards.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,960 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,601
    Try running a loop of the 3D03, yes I said 03, CPU test. I could run 06 and pass at higher clocks than what is allowable by 03's standards!
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Dr. Spankenstein

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Thanks sneeky! THAT is the kind of info I'm taking about!

    Muchas Gracias!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,960 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,601
    I was in the winter wars OC competition at TRP forums, and it was one of the 5-6 tests we had to run....Look in my sig at the 06 run...got it stable and repeatable.

    Tried running 03 and failed like 5 times , until I got the Oc down far enough to pass. IIRC was about 3.65GHz to pass 03 vs 3.9GHz for 06!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,640 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    3DM03 was pretty heavy on the sys, a really good app IMO

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)