• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cpu stuck at 0.79 ghz

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,874 (2.10/day)
System Name Computer
Processor I7-7700K 4.8/5.2++ 24/7 depending on conditions and challange.
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water 240MM OCool 45mm plus 240 EK Radiator cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz OC'd 3600 with C-14 T1 timings
Video Card(s) Vega56 all day long
Storage 970 EVO M.2 nvme \1TB, Samsumg 860 Evo 1TB / WD 1TB blue storage drive
Display(s) Samsung CHG70 1440P Freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W FTW
Mouse Logitech G703 with wireless charging pad
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows 10 Pro
And i didn't install any chipset from toshiba website i just upgrade him from device manager
Well keep in mind it's always best to install the chipset/Intel management engine from the manufacturer..
 

waelalansiri

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2018
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
System Name toshiba satellite l50-b
Processor intel i5 4210U 1.7ghz (2.7ghz turbo)
Memory 6gb
Video Card(s) amd radion r7 m260 2gb
You need to get a program from cpuid called hardware monitor and have it open and post is Idle temperatures and then whatever's load temperatures are see if there's an anomaly there it's possible that the thermal interface material is garbage or his ambient temperatures in the place are horrendous
112.png
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.16/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
the

adapter is the one provided by toshiba

also that utility is the bios of my laptop

and i didn't install any chipset from toshiba website i just upgrade him from device manager

my bios is updated i tried to reinstall it but it says this version is already installed
Well then minus the advise about the Toshiba utility that was actually the bios I would suggest that you actually perform the advice given in this thread for the issue you are having, other wise the thread is dead here.
and the 511Cels on the GPU...WTH is that shit?
Recap
dont use throttlestop until we figure out the issue.
1 reset your bios now that you have been playing in there..DID work? if no go to 2
2 Windows power options to Max Permanence (for testing reasons) Did it work? If no go to 3
3 Install the Chipset from Toshiba for your laptop and reboot and test again. Did it work if not please report back so we can dev deaper.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well then minus the advise about the Toshiba utility that was actually the bios I would suggest that you actually perform the advice given in this thread for the issue you are having, other wise the thread is dead here.

You're right we can't do it for him and we can't hold his hand either for this he's got to do it himself if he doesn't do it it's his own fault it might as well just throw the laptop out.

If it ain't those things most likely his motherboard is toast or his CPU is.

And at that point he might as well get a laptop that is robust in Cooling and has a higher means of configuration and probably should take it to someone that would be able to show him how to tweak it the correct way since we are on the other side of a monitor.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.16/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
You're right we can't do it for him and we can't hold his hand either for this he's got to do it himself if he doesn't do it it's his own fault it might as well just throw the laptop out.

If it ain't those things most likely his motherboard is toast or his CPU is.

And at that point he might as well get a laptop that is robust in Cooling and has a higher means of configuration and probably should take it to someone that would be able to show him how to tweak it the correct way since we are on the other side of a monitor.
Also while i have not experienced this nor seen it my self, I have read that undervolting a chip a little too much can sometimes stop the CPU from some upper turbo boost clocks. Worth a mention though, even though it should be able to maintain its base clock.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,331 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
The only times i've seen this issue on a laptop is:
1. overheating/thermal throttle
2. power saving mode is enabled in windows (run high performance mode)
3. Charger/battery not originals, or not working correctly, forcing to run power saver

maybe yours isnt working because you've removed your faulty battery?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The only times i've seen this issue on a laptop is:
1. overheating/thermal throttle
2. power saving mode is enabled in windows (run high performance mode)
3. Charger/battery not originals, or not working correctly, forcing to run power saver

maybe yours isnt working because you've removed your faulty battery?
He provided temps

@DRDNA asked about power properties.

I even asked him about the ac adapter.

Its all up to him now.

Also while i have not experienced this nor seen it my self, I have read that undervolting a chip a little too much can sometimes stop the CPU from some upper turbo boost clocks. Worth a mention though, even though it should be able to maintain its base clock.
It would be an out of tolerance condition for the mobo bios parameters
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
8,431 (1.90/day)
Try using the Function - F2 (FN-F2) key combo to see if it will change the mode.

After, doing a little reading around... there are a few Toshiba owners of the L50 and L55 who had the same problem after the Bios update to version 2.00.
I did not see any details on how they did it, but, a couple stated they re-flashed the bios and one down-flashed his bios. They stated it fixed the problem of the cpu running at .798 with a 2x or 3x multiplier and restored the correct CPU multiplier & speed; also, gave them all three options for the Dynamic CPU Frequency mode (SpeedStep).

Dynamically Switchable (default) - The Power Saver controls the frequency.
Always High - Accelerates the CPU
Always Low - CPU normally uses this state

Remember, you flash the firmware at your own risk.
Good luck, whatever you decide to do.
If I were you... I would email or call Toshiba support and get their advice, too.

EDIT: I found a thread at the Toshiba forums where a poster stated, you could only downgrade using the ISO file, in the firmware download. He mentioned booting from a CD with it. You could not downgrade from the Windows firmware utility.
 
Last edited:

CyberTrec

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
A Toshiba L50-B just came across my desk at a computer repair shop. The CPU freq stuck at 0.79Ghz or 798 MHz. The problem was after Bios update 2.00 the charger the customer had given us along with the computer forced the laptop into low-power mode. A different Charger (still Toshiba) at 3.95A made the Core Freq clock up immediately.
 
Top