• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cpu support for Asus Laptop?

Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
374 (0.09/day)
Likes
7
Location
AUS, NSW, Sydney
Processor Q6600
Motherboard Asus P5k
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB Kit 1066
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD5770
Storage 2x Samsung 500GB SataII
Display(s) LG 22" 1680x1050 2ms
Case Tt Soprano
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1
Power Supply Coolermaster RealPower M520
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#1
Hi there, just wondering if it would be possible to upgrade my laptops cpu (Asus Pro31e), which currently has a T5450 installed.

cheers.
 
Last edited:

MadCow

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
544 (0.14/day)
Likes
33
Processor Athlon 64 X2 4400+ @2.6 GHz
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT CFX3200
Cooling 120mm Yate Loon fan intake, 82mm ex-PSU fan exhaust
Memory 2048 mb. of cheap DDR400 RAM w/cheap heatspreaders
Video Card(s) Sapphire+HIS X1950 PRO, Crossfired@635/709
Storage WD 250 GB SATA
Display(s) Samsung 216BW
Case No-name ATX case (modded to hell)
Audio Device(s) SB X-FI OEM
Power Supply Nikao Cool Power 500W (34a@12v)
Software Windows XP PRO SP2
#2
I can't see why not, but you would have to find a mobile CPU and those aren't sold on the consumer market AFAIK.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#3
Actually newegg sells them here.
Outside of US I am not sure though
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#4
have someone send it to you?

don't you void warranty on the laptop if you open it to exchange for a better cpu?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
374 (0.09/day)
Likes
7
Location
AUS, NSW, Sydney
Processor Q6600
Motherboard Asus P5k
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB Kit 1066
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD5770
Storage 2x Samsung 500GB SataII
Display(s) LG 22" 1680x1050 2ms
Case Tt Soprano
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1
Power Supply Coolermaster RealPower M520
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#6
Wow. haha thanks guys.

Yeah, id void my warranty, but i've already done that by upgrading my ram... :S Lol. Oh well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
754 (0.18/day)
Likes
136
Location
Australia
System Name max
Processor Ming Mecca
Software Torah
Benchmark Scores 884509627386359275033751967 943067599621731590401694134 434007629683591574337516791 1976157334751953
#7
i had to do a warranty move on my dv5000 due to dead pixels...hp au said nothing of the non stock upgraded corsair in my laptop and promptly replaced the panel im sure the proccy would reap the same results...you buy something its yours if its still under warraty faults get fixed...thats how it works with me....dunno about asus though.