• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU temp discrepancies

Sparhawk

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Good morning,

I am a new user to the GPU-Z software and was wondering about the discrepancy between the CPU temperature in the TechPowerUp software and the ASUS software. I understand that GPU-Z is designed to show GPU hardware information and that the CPU temp is a nice to have, but don't understand why it might show different values.

Thanks.

1610119442898.png
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,500 (3.58/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
GPU-Z shows the temperature of the hottest core, not sure what the ASUS software shows.

Does it have a per-core readout? What do you see in RealTemp?
 

Sparhawk

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
I took a look around the ASUS software and it's pretty bare bones when it comes to sensor information. The only listed temperature is what is shown. As for the Real temp data, it bounces around a bunch (obviously) but here is a snapshot


1610120326809.png
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,725 (0.77/day)
@Sparhawk - Asus monitoring software has been low balling the CPU temperature for years. They must be reading temperature data from a different sensor compared to what every other monitoring program uses. Perhaps they are reading a temperature sensor within the CPU socket. Most software reports the peak core temperature from sensors that Intel has mounted on the individual cores. These sensors control thermal throttling. They supply the only CPU temperature data that you need to be aware of. Ignore the Asus number.

I have tested GPU-Z. I know it works correctly. When the CPU is fully and equally loaded, if your CPU temperature is stable, most monitoring programs should show the exact same thing. When a CPU is only partially loaded, the individual core temperatures can be rapidly jumping up and down so two different monitoring programs might report a slight difference in temperatures. This is caused by sampling the same sensor at a slightly different time. A CPU core can change temperatures rapidly within the standard one second temperature monitoring interval.

You can also use ThrottleStop. It has a More Data option you can check on the main screen. This changes it from sampling your CPU once per second to eight times per second. This improves the probability that it will report the true maximum temperature. It also operates at a higher Windows priority so it gets preference over other monitoring apps when it is time to sample your CPU.

Edit - GPU-Z also allows you to increase the sampling frequency. Go into the Settings - Sensors tab to adjust this.


Your temps are fine, your CPU is running great. Nothing to worry about.

1610142886839.png
 
Last edited:

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (1.81/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
If still in doubt, you could try using more hardware temperature monitoring software to increase sample size comparison from any of the links below, all of them, free to use:

 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
2,329 (0.42/day)
Location
People's Republic of America
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i9-9900K Direct Die
Motherboard eVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling Dual D5T Vario, XSPC BayRes, Nemesis GTR560, NF-A14-iPPC3000PWM, NF-A14-iPPC2000, HK IV Pro Nickel
Memory G.Skill F4-4500C19D-16GTZKKE or G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ or G.Skill F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX2080 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2
Display(s) LG 32GK650F
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian 7.1 2G/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Use HWiNFO.

Also, those temps seem high for voltage, frequency and load. What test or benchmark are you running during those screenshots?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
5,325 (2.07/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Most motherboards have 2 temp sensors, CPU and CPU socket, one seems to measure the temp of the motherboard inside the socket area.

You can see the difference how the temp reports, one reports almost instant changes while the other responds slower.
 

Sparhawk

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2021
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Use HWiNFO.

Also, those temps seem high for voltage, frequency and load. What test or benchmark are you running during those screenshots?
I've used HWInfo in the past and may have forgotten about it :oops:. As for running software, I am folding in the background so things are a little high in usage.

@unclewebb It looks a lot like you say, the Asus software is under representing the actual temperatures. I took a look a a couple other pieces of software which show temp, and thus far the Mobo software is right out to lunch. Good to know, and truly thank you to everyone for their input. It is really nice to get high quality responses to an obvious newb.
 
Top