• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU temp does not match what is displayed in Ryzen Master

ketma

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
Anyone else seeing the cpu temp reported in gpu-z does not match to that displayed in Ryzen Master ?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
2,299 (1.12/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.3
Processor 3700X
Motherboard B550M TUF Wifi
Cooling C14S (A14 iPPC-2000)
Memory 32GB 3600 16-19-19
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE
Storage 3TB SX8200/SN750/Blue3D
Display(s) GW2765HT
Case Cerberus (2 x A14, 1 x A9)
Audio Device(s) Scarlett Solo gen3
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650SGX
Ryzen Master reads CPU idle voltage and temperatures through a proprietary method that no other software can. Readings will be different regardless of what you use - Afterburner, HWInfo, etc. This is the decision AMD has made.

At full load, both Vcore voltage and temperatures should align with what RM shows, because the fluctuations are minimal at full load.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
5,539 (2.41/day)
Location
USA
Ryzen Master reads CPU idle voltage and temperatures through a proprietary method that no other software can. Readings will be different regardless of what you use - Afterburner, HWInfo, etc. This is the decision AMD has made.


i found hwinfo to read same as ryzen master. /shrug
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,537 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Anyone else seeing the cpu temp reported in gpu-z does not match to that displayed in Ryzen Master ?
How much of a difference are you seeing?
 

ketma

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
Its not always a huge amount out but please see attached as an example, this is on a TR 3960x processor.
 

Attachments

  • temps.jpg
    temps.jpg
    292.6 KB · Views: 185

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
21,537 (3.53/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
If it generally tracks the same values and is just sometimes off a bit then you're probably seeing random timing differences. Obviously Ryzen Master and GPU-Z will check the CPU temp at different milliseconds, which could lead to different temperatures
 

ketma

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
No, that's not correct its way out.....try it for yourself.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,737 (0.47/day)
i found hwinfo to read same as ryzen master. /shrug

Hwinfo is the closest thing to AMD's own algorithms, considering AMD worked on it with hwinfo. Although it should be noted that the code in Ryzen master is proprietary.
 

ketma

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
I'm not doubting that I was just raising the point that the cpu temp monitoring in cpu-z is not accurate at all. I don't rely on it anymore....
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1,737 (0.47/day)
I'm not doubting that I was just raising the point that the cpu temp monitoring in cpu-z is not accurate at all. I don't rely on it anymore....

To be fair, CPUZ doesn't have temp monitoring. You were using GPUZ. No one uses gpuz for temp monitoring longterm, maybe as a spot check but not part of any system monitoring.
 

ketma

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
6 (0.08/day)
Yes, thats what I meant, GPU-Z, (not sure why I referred to cpu-z!?), but I don't use it longterm, but even as a spot check its not even worth using that value.
 
Top