• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU temps not changing ?

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,517 (1.36/day)
Likes
943
Location
Planet Earth.
#1
I ran prime95 for 2 hours and well need to know what to take away from this .

After 2 hours the only cores that moved were 1 and 2 ( or core 0 and core 1 ) and they did not go very far at all . But why ? Here take a look .



So why don't the temps go below this ?
And is this normal ?
If so how do you tell just how hot / cold your CPU really is ?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.82/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#2
Looks like you have a couple of stuck censors.
Try using real temp and see if you get the same results.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
Have to agree with Asylum here, check with realtemp.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
it should give a much more acurate reading.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
Maybe you are just lucky and the sensors are screwed up, I mean the proc works right?

So what if it gets hot its fine, just dont go nuts on it;)
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#9
were the sensors stuck before? or is this new??
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#11
45nm Intel chips are notorious for stuck sensors.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#13
like I said, they "most likely" respond once the chip gets much closer to the maximum. Im not real sure you can RMA because of it either:(
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,517 (1.36/day)
Likes
943
Location
Planet Earth.
#14
like I said, they "most likely" respond once the chip gets much closer to the maximum. Im not real sure you can RMA because of it either:(
Thank you . So really nothing to worry about then ? I will not be going crazy with my CPU OC .

I was just thinking about all this and wanted to know if my CPU is going to fry because of bad temp probes . Thank you again .
Yeah I lost the RMA factor the day I lapped it LOL .
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
803 (0.18/day)
Likes
463
Location
Romania
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASRock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Ninja 3 fanless
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMS3 rev. A
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6GB
Storage Intel 535 Series 120GB + WD 6400AAKS
Display(s) Benq EW2420
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Win 10
#15
Just for testing purposes try to OC harder (raise Vcore especially) and run LinX with All Memory. Maybe Core2 and Core3 will start moving.
But TBH usually sensors stuck at lower values should work in load, yours seems stuck at 38C and it doesn't move at all.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#16
I would say you are safe as long as you stay under around 1.45V from my experience with most 45nm and a couple quads I had. On water, I would have no issues with 1.5V, but I like to make parts cry;)

I see unclewebb sniffed us out, I bet he may have some much better insight!
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.32/day)
Likes
681
#17
An Intel 45nm Core 2 based CPU with stuck sensors is nothing new or unusual. Yours are just stuck more than most because you are able to run your CPU so cool. Intel only designed these sensors to be reasonably accurate when they are within about 30C of the throttling point. You are a long ways away from that point which is why they are stuck.

The first two cores are just starting to get hot enough at full load to start to move a little. With a few more degrees of heat, I'm certain the last two cores would start to move too. You can try running LinX. That usually creates a little more heat than Prime95 does on these CPUs.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=201670

Your CPU has so much temperature headroom that you don't have to worry one bit about your core temperature. That's a good thing. If I had a Quad running that good at 4+ GHz I'd be doing cartwheels. :)

There is a separate sensor that also reports CPU temperatures. This other sensor doesn't have the sticking issues that the core sensors do. You can try a program like SpeedFan to read it. All it's going to tell you is that you have a very cool running Quad but you already know that. At least now you do.

Here's the latest version of RealTemp 3.58.1 I'm working on.
http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/RealTempBeta.zip

and here's another handy program for laptops that burebista is liking
http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/ThrottleStop.zip
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
803 (0.18/day)
Likes
463
Location
Romania
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASRock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Ninja 3 fanless
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMS3 rev. A
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6GB
Storage Intel 535 Series 120GB + WD 6400AAKS
Display(s) Benq EW2420
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Win 10
#18
and here's another handy program for laptops that burebista is liking
Neah, I'm not just liking it I'm loving it. :respect:
And it's not only for laptops, it's for all silent/undervolting/underclocking freaks out there. :D
Finally I can retire my RMClock.



/offtopic