• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

cpu upgrade?

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#26
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#27
if it's 965BE vs an FX-Quad core.... go for the 965BE

Otherwise the FX-6100 is overall a better choice than the 965BE. Runs cooler too.

Look at my sig- I run them all except the FX-8120 (which I will add to the list next month)

*Note- The 1045T is also a good chip but I would still buy a 6100 within that price range
Yea, from reading the test and because the 6100 is only $109. I think I will have to go with that one.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#28
Yea, from reading the test and because the 6100 is only $109. I think I will have to go with that one.
http://www.google.com/products/cata...XUOrwN4jA2gWzn4H4CA&ved=0CFwQ8wIwAQ#scoring=p

https://www.google.com/products/cat...CuJXUMHxC6nq2AXq5oDABA&ved=0CC8QrQQ#scoring=p

Those are the cheapest I can find for 1090T and 1100T

otherwise FX6200 Id look at honestly over 6100

read this bench http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Proces...er-Refresh/Overclocking-and-Power-Consumption
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#29
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
441 (0.22/day)
Likes
135
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
System Name Mobydick
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI M Power
Cooling CM TPC 812
Memory patriot 8gb x 2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970
Storage Kingston hyper x 3k 120ssd,Samsung 256ssd, seagate 750gb green
Display(s) Benq XL2720Z
Case Haf X
Audio Device(s) creative soundblast xz
Power Supply EVGA G2 850w
Mouse deathadder chroma
Keyboard logitech g710
Software Windows 7 64bit
#30
stick with something thats know to perform good. i say go with the 965, its never let me down
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#31
Sorry I started to post when I saw your post and was watching the videos.
Well I am still undecided then.
After watching a lot of vids now, I am less then impressed with FX series processors.
Id still recommend the FX 6100 or 6200 Since its hard to find a 1090T or 1100T for that matter in price+ shipping charge, If You really want a hex core.

Heres the deal if youre going to overclock you might aswell spend cash on a CPU cooler.

If Not use the stock cooler

My bros machine here uses a Phenom II X2 555 BE that has been successfully unlocked to a X4 BE 955/B55 CPU (All those run at 3.2GHz)

The quads are still good actually if you can find them- 955, 960T, 965, 970, 975, 980 all would work in that board. Honestly I hear from here that Piledriver Parts are in tow.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#32
Well thanks everyone for your input
My brain is fried for now, but if anyone would like to add something to this, Please do. I will keep reading up everyday until I make the leap and buy whatever I decide at the time is the best route.

Thanks again
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#33
Well I am back to another problem!?! edairaman1 kinda knows the problems I have been having lol
Just when I thought things were fine for now the stupid thing crashed again:cry:
This time (has the last few times) when it is about to show the boot screen it instead says the "BootMng" fine is missing. So as I did for last few times I restart and go into bios. What I thought was when that happened it was resetting the bios to Defualt on me. It is and that is annoying as hell to start. So would go through and reset everything the way I had it (not touching the OC settings) starting with the storage format "AHCI". which is what I had it on when I installed windows but appearently not. Because it will start up fine if set for IDE mode only.

Isn't IDE mode going to be slower? or does it make a difference?
I have always set to AHCI mode because it was always recommended for windows per the board manufacture. :banghead:

Thanks for any help again
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#34
IDE mode vs AHCI is only a difference when using an SSD.
It mainly introduces some enhancements which an SSD makes use of.
Windows 7 will automatically install AHCI drivers while Windows XP will not.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#35
Hey Krammuel, Restore the clock speed of that CPU and Lock the 4th core back down, you had a bad core from looks of it (common on 720s)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#36
Hey Krammuel, Restore the clock speed of that CPU and Lock the 4th core back down, you had a bad core from looks of it (common on 720s)
It already did when it crashed and I haven't unlocked it since. This actually happened when I just tried to OC the cpu a little (took it to 3Ghz, without the 4th core) just to see if I could. I figured if I burned the 720 up I was replacing anyways.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#37
IDE mode vs AHCI is only a difference when using an SSD.
It mainly introduces some enhancements which an SSD makes use of.
Windows 7 will automatically install AHCI drivers while Windows XP will not.
Apparently not since it is running on a SSD drive in IDE mode :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#38
stick with something thats know to perform good. i say go with the 965, its never let me down
I agree with you. But the $115 price isn't that bad for the better Phenom II. I will probably opt for that then. or maybe 965BE without a fan (since I can use the 1 that came with my 720BE), it;s only $79
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,194 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,796
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#39
I agree with you. But the $115 price isn't that bad for the better Phenom II. I will probably opt for that then. or maybe 965BE without a fan (since I can use the 1 that came with my 720BE), it;s only $79
check opn/sku first on amds site before buying a cpu. to ensure youre getting a be model
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#40
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#41
Wait for Piledriver to get released in October 2012, then you will have a better choice.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#42
Update:

4th core still unlocked and still running fine.
Only kinda weird thing is when it is running for some time (3+hours) the core temp drops to 0c. OK! I think but can't run prime95 to long cause I have no idea what the core temp is. I mean right now it is reading 29c (but haven't been running it hard to check things on weather it is going to be fine or find any issues with running various programs.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#43
Wait for Piledriver to get released in October 2012, then you will have a better choice.
Will piledriver be compatible on my MoBo? I hope to think ASRock will update bios to make it compatible but being this is really made for AM3 more so (does support the bulldozer procs tho).
Or do you mean the prices will go down for FX and such?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.08/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#44
Piledriver will be better then Bulldozer and will be able to work on your board. Rumors are saying sometime early in October (1st week) is when the release is.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,341 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,954
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#45
Update:

4th core still unlocked and still running fine.
Only kinda weird thing is when it is running for some time (3+hours) the core temp drops to 0c. OK! I think but can't run prime95 to long cause I have no idea what the core temp is. I mean right now it is reading 29c (but haven't been running it hard to check things on weather it is going to be fine or find any issues with running various programs.
unlocking messes with the core-sensors ignore any core readings as they wont be correct
unlocking a chip usually makes the sensors read 0 or negative values I am surprised it gives any reading at all
if you are running a aftermarket cooler I would not even bother with the temps but the stock phenom II cooler is junk so ...
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#46
Apparently not since it is running on a SSD drive in IDE mode :confused:
Did you install windows 7 while IDE mode was enabled?
Windows 7 will BSOD if I switch to IDE mode.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#47
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
59 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
Cincinnati, OH
System Name 2014 build
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth z97 Mark 1
Cooling Kraken x61 wc for CPU and fans for system
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport XT DDR3 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 twin frozr V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 PRO SSD for OS (1TB hdd internal + 2TB external)
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED
Case Corsair Vengence C70
Power Supply Tt Toughpower Grand 1050w
Software Windows7 Pro 64bit
#48
Did you install windows 7 while IDE mode was enabled?
Windows 7 will BSOD if I switch to IDE mode.
No. Thats what I was saying I always set to AHCI because it is always recommended for windows.

So I don't understand how it is set for IDE?!?