• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPUs running warm on one motherboard

Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
I have tried two different CPUs on my current motherboard and both of them are running at the same temps regardless of what I do.

I have run a X2 4800+ and Opty 180 so both are technically the same in specs.
And both of them idle about 40degC pretty easily and this is under a Tuniq Tower.
Not using Cn'Q running stock volts.
At first I thought it was the X2 4800+ just getting old or because it never used to run this hot but when I installed the Opty 180 I found it was getting identical temps.

Is it possible the socket on the motherboard itself is causing the CPU to heat up more than usual?

If so I have never heard of a socket having heat problems.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,115 (8.01/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
The CPU temp is taken from the socket. It's pretty certain that the temp sensor for the CPU socket is stuck.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
The CPU temp is taken from the socket. It's pretty certain that the temp sensor for the CPU socket is stuck.

I forgot to mention I am using Core temp to read the temps.
And Core temp reads from the CPU die?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,071 (2.00/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
129 (0.02/day)
Don't trust your mobo, get an external measurement instrument.
A quick google: Scythe TM02-BK Kama Thermo 02
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
I have always wanted to get a digital thermometer.

I don't trust my mobo either.
I believed Core temp showed the reading off the die on the CPU but my cooler does not seem to be all that hot.

I have another motherboard which I could test the CPUs out on, it's just a hassle but I may have to do it just to see if it truly is my motherboard causing these readings.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,071 (2.00/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Is this the kind of advice you give people when there maybe a heat issue :shadedshu
first of all that's not the kind of response you give when someone takes time to respond you
secondly 40c is fine
f
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,115 (8.01/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I forgot to mention I am using Core temp to read the temps.
And Core temp reads from the CPU die?

I don't think those CPU's even have core sensors. s939 and earlier only has the CPU temp sensor that is located on the motherboard.

first of all that's not the kind of response you give when someone takes time to respond you
secondly 40c is fine
f

If you can't post something helpful or relevant don't bother. 40c is fine? Sure, if the readings are accurate and it clearly is shown that the temp sensor is stuck at 40c so the number is irrelevant.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.19/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
I don't think those CPU's even have core sensors. s939 and earlier only has the CPU temp sensor that is located on the motherboard.
my 939 X2 3800+ has a socket sensor, and two separate core sensors... which both react independently. ;)
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
my 939 X2 3800+ has a socket sensor, and two separate core sensors... which both react independently. ;)

This is the impression I was under all this time too.
But then finding out both CPUs are getting the same readings made me question whether the readings are incorrect or the motherboard was causing the cores to run hotter than usual.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,115 (8.01/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
my 939 X2 3800+ has a socket sensor, and two separate core sensors... which both react independently. ;)

Your 3800+ has two core sensors. The socket sensor is in the motherboard. ;)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.19/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
This is the impression I was under all this time too.
But then finding out both CPUs are getting the same readings made me question whether the readings are incorrect or the motherboard was causing the cores to run hotter than usual.

do the readings change, ever? if they do not, its as erocker said, and your boards temp sensor got stuck... you can buy a sensor with a small,lit LCD display pretty cheap, that fits under the proc, and will do about the same;)

Your 3800+ has two core sensors. The socket sensor is in the motherboard. ;)

Indeed,that is absolutely correct.. i just have stated that the wrong way... ;)
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
I am confused right now.

So core temp is not reading no directly from the CPU die itself but from a motherboard sensor which is reading the cores but could be giving a false reading?

As for your question Velvet Wafer.
The temperature reading does change underload.
It will hover just below 40degC then jump up to 57degC + underload with both CPUs reading from coretemp.
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264 (0.07/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
Try reapplying thermal paste?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Try reapplying thermal paste?

I've covered that one.
Clean with iso, Re apply AS5 and reseat with both CPUs.
Same results.
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264 (0.07/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
Hmm, does it feel warm when you touch it though?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Hmm, does it feel warm when you touch it though?

Haven't tried touching the CPU cooler copper block.
Don't think I'll be able to physically get there.
I'll be able to get to the copper pipes but that about it.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,071 (2.00/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
derp
its not feeding it the 1.42v instead of the nominal 1.32-1.36 is it ?
some motherboards feed the amd chips wayy to much voltage by default
sry about the earlier posts wayy to sleepy -.-
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,012 (0.94/day)
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Older AMD/Intel lidded CPUs use thermal paste between the lid and the die, so as the CPUs get older the paste dries up. Newer lidded CPUs use solder between the die and the IHS.
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264 (0.07/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
I mean, touch the CPU and see if it feels somewhat warm enough to be as the temperature indicated.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
derp
its not feeding it the 1.42v instead of the nominal 1.32-1.36 is it ?
some motherboards feed the amd chips wayy to much voltage by default
sry about the earlier posts wayy to sleepy -.-

I have been wondering if my motherboard had been over volting the CPUs but CPUZ indicates it fluctuates between 1.35v-1.40v
I have seen an instance of an AM2 chip being overvolted by default on an ASUS board.

Older AMD/Intel lidded CPUs use thermal paste between the lid and the die, so as the CPUs get older the paste dries up. Newer lidded CPUs use solder between the die and the IHS.

Yeah I have delidded AMD CPUs.
I de-lidded my X2 4800+ ran it naked and the results weren't any better so I just reattached the IHS with non acid sealant with AS5 inbetween, still no difference.
No gains no decrease.

I mean, touch the CPU and see if it feels somewhat warm enough to be as the temperature indicated.

How do I touch the CPU to see if it is running hot when it is under a heatsink?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,071 (2.00/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
set the voltage to -0.025 - 0.0.30 see it if makes a difference if you have a decent chip it should not need more then 1.36v at stock speeds
and never never never never run a chip without the IHS its there for a reason
its there do make sure the cores are evenly heated and its there to protect the die from the weight of the cooler ( remember the days of destroying socket A Athlon's due to cracking the die or cracking the edge )
and artic silver 5 while still ok its not the greatest thing to use
get some mx3 or mx4
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.95/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
I'll drop the voltage and see if it does anything.

AS5 would have been a lot better than the bog standard thermal paste which was applied.
Sure the MX pastes would have been more conductive but didn't have any on me at the time.

People have de-lidded and ran CPUs naked before by adding shims which is what I did.
You just have to be careful if you are certain you are going to run your CPU naked. ;)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.19/day)
Location
North of Germany
System Name Nexus PC
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3, 3600 MHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-HD3
Cooling Thermalright Macho V2
Memory 24GB DDR3, 1400MHZ CL8
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung EVO 960 250gb, EVO 850 250gb, Vertex 3 128gb. 2 TB of Rotational.
Display(s) 1xAsus MX299, 2x Asus MX239, Oculus Rift CV1
Case Sunflower Tower
Audio Device(s) C-Media CMI8738/C3DX
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 7
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
I'll drop the voltage and see if it does anything.

AS5 would have been a lot better than the bog standard thermal paste which was applied.
Sure the MX pastes would have been more conductive but didn't have any on me at the time.

People have de-lidded and ran CPUs naked before by adding shims which is what I did.
You just have to be careful if you are certain you are going to run your CPU naked. ;)

I have done that too, with my 3800+...its under water, and runs 30 idle and about 40 under linx load;)
 
Top