• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crash at OpenCL detection

SZSSZS

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,

Earlier today I reverted from the AMD Catalyst Display Driver 13.2, to 13.1.

Immediately afterwards I noticed this error:

"During previous startup GPU-Z crashed at OpenCL detection. Please updat your OpenCL and graphic drivers. Would you like to re-enable OpenCL detection?"

If I choose Yes,

"ATI OpenCL driver bug detected, skipping OpenCL detection. Uninstall the AMD Stream SDK/Open CL driver to re-enable this functionality."

At that point I uninstalled the AMD drivers, used driver sweeper, and reinstalled 13.1.
The problem persisted.


I read on this forum that the problem relates to faulty intel integrated graphics drivers. So I enabled my igpu in the bios and updated the drivers to (15.28.12.64.2932), though the error remained.


Despite receiving the error, GPU-Z opens fine. I was just wondering if there was an actual problem with my driver installation, either Intel or AMD.

Appreciate any help you can offer.
Thanks


i5 3570k
AMD HD 7870
Win 7 64 bit
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
I added special code to detect the crash during OpenCl detection because this seems to be happening quite frequently and GPU-Z can not avoid the crash.

Try uninstalling the intel vga drivers to see if that helps
 

SZSSZS

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I uninstalled the intel vga drivers, but the error still persists.

Originally, I don't think the drivers were ever installed. When I first enabled the igpu, windows detected new hardware and attempted to automatically install drivers.

(Thanks for the quick reply, by the way)
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
can you try running any other opencl application? gpu-z uses nothing but 100% standards compliant opencl calls, so if it has issues, other apps should have them too
 

SZSSZS

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I uninstalled the AMD drivers, and simply chose to reinstall 13.2.

This seems to have stopped the error from appearing. OpenCL is now checked in GPU-Z.
Could it have just been an installation issue then?

Once again I appreciate your help.

Thanks
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
Could be everything, hard to say.

Does anyone else have issues with OpenCl detection on Catalyst 13.1 ?
 

SZSSZS

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Well, I used 13.1 for quite some time and never experienced the issue. Haven't been able to find any mention of the problem with 13.2 either.
 

Brandkanne

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rostock, Germany
#8
Same problem

Hi,

I have the same problem with my HD5850 and HD4250(IGP).
It started with updating on CCC 13.1, remains under CCC 13.2beta and happens with Windows 7 and Windows 8. I tried the last three Versions of GPU-Z (0.6.6-0.6.8), installed and uninstalled the drivers and gpu-z for several times, but the Problem still exists.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
you need to update your _intel_ vga driver, or just uninstall it
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
Could be everything, hard to say.

Does anyone else have issues with OpenCl detection on Catalyst 13.1 ?
yes, but it seems to be after installing 13.2 that this began. If I now go back to any earlier driver, I will get those messages that GPU-Z detected an issue with OpenCL, and disabled detection. It doesn't actually affect GPU-Z itself, it seems. I just figured it was a driver issue. Since new driver doesn't use CAPs, I figured that was part of the cause, the OpenCL libraries, maybe? NOt like I understand that crap.

Everything appears to work fine, however.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#11
yes, but it seems to be after installing 13.2 that this began. If I now go back to any earlier driver, I will get those messages that GPU-Z detected an issue with OpenCL, and disabled detection. It doesn't actually affect GPU-Z itself, it seems. I just figured it was a driver issue. Since new driver doesn't use CAPs, I figured that was part of the cause, the OpenCL libraries, maybe? NOt like I understand that crap.

Everything appears to work fine, however.
you are saying you start gpuz, it starts fine, runs fine, you close it, start it again, and it complains about opencl failure?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
you are saying you start gpuz, it starts fine, runs fine, you close it, start it again, and it complains about opencl failure?
No.

OK, so, clean OS install, install 12.11, run GPU-Z, works fine

Install 13.2 run GPU-Z, everything is fine.

Uninstall 13.2, delete registry keys, user data folders, etc, reboot. install 13.1.

Run GPU-Z, GPU-Z on start notes that OpenCL is corrupt, so it notifies you it is disabling OPenCL detection. Then when GPU-Z splash screen leaves, it tells you that it turned off OpenCL, and would you like to re-enable(I think it says for next boot, going off of memory here). I always select "yes".

Start GPU-Z again, GPU-Z runs fine, same pop-ups are shown at same intervals.

Uninstall 13.1, go back to 13.2, GPU-Z works fine, no pop-ups.

install 13.2, then go back to 13.1, and you'll see it.

Win8 here, BTW. Dunno if that matters.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#13
Which message?

1) Intel OpenCL driver bug detected, skipping OpenCL detection
2) During previous startup GPU-Z crashed at OpenCL detection
3) ATI OpenCL driver bug detected, skipping OpenCL detection

OpenCL = broken in many ways :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
Which message?

1) Intel OpenCL driver bug detected, skipping OpenCL detection
2) During previous startup GPU-Z crashed at OpenCL detection
3) ATI OpenCL driver bug detected, skipping OpenCL detection

OpenCL = broken in many ways :)
Ah. :p Give me a few minutes to re-install and I'll give ya a screencap. It's easily repeated.

EDIT:

First:



Then:



tried the re-install idea offered, didn't work, too.
 
Last edited:

Brandkanne

New Member
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rostock, Germany
#15
Uninstalling the ATI Stream SDK stops this error, but i'm not very happy about uninstalling it.
Do i have any benefits from using the ATI Stream SDK and/or OpenCL ? Is their a way to install OpenCL without the SDK. I'm no software-engineer.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
ok, the second screenshot is a bug, it should keep showing the first message.

can you try starting any random opencl app on that system? does it work?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#17
HA!


Whut uses OpenCL?

Oh, Tomb Raider's Tress FX...or no?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#18
gpu caps viewer has some opencl tests i think
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#19
gpu caps viewer has some opencl tests i think
It does, I forgot I got that installed....it does this on starting it up:

error3.jpg



Something in the beta is screwing it up, IMHO. Probably why they released the uninstaller at the same time. However, the uninstaller screws up Win8 too much for me to use it. I hope I don't need an OS re-install. :p

Again, going back to the 13.2 betas "fix" the problem.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#20
the same would happen in gpuz, except i added some magic code to catch that problem :)

so opencl is not working on your system, not a gpuz issue
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#21
tried to update it from 6.7 to 6.8 it couldnt find it on the C:/ drive when its there XD

started to use the install cuz got tired of the OpenCL detection error
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#22
tried to update it from 6.7 to 6.8 it couldnt find it on the C:/ drive when its there XD

started to use the install cuz got tired of the OpenCL detection error
i dont understand
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#23
i dont understand
I also was getting that error

Today it asked to update so I did and I had it installed on c drive then it said it failed cuz it could not location the exe but it was there
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Spain
System Name X99
Processor Intel Core i7-5930K
Motherboard ASUS X99-DELUXE/U3.1
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H110 Extreme Performance
Memory 64GB G.Skill Ripjaws V (F4-2800C14Q-64GVK)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N108TD5X-B
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512GB MZ-V5P512BW / Samsung 850 PRO 1TB / WD101KRYZ-01JPDB0
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG SWIFT
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 750D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum-860
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bits
#24
I had the same error with a Radeon HD 5870 and Catalyst 13.1
I did a restore factory settings in ccc and problem solved
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,452 (0.85/day)
Likes
769
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#25
I had this error and found that using the AMD uninstall utility and reinstalling 13.1 or .2 solved the problem.... For some reason there's a problem when installing the SDK instead of the APP sdk that comes with the drivers.... So the answer is USE the APP SDK that comes with the drivers if you use an HD 5,6,7xxx GPU and for HD2,3,4xxx GPUs you shouldn't be using CAT13.1 or .2 you can however get away with installing the 2.8 SDK