• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crave TV no longer works under linux?

johnspack

Here For Good!
Supporter
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,487 (1.24/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, EVO 860 500GB
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Went to do some viewing and was met with this:
Looks like you are using an unsupported browser or operating system. The site may not work as expected. Please review our FAQ page for more information.
Reviewing tha faq shows no linux support at this time. I had to cancel immediately. It was working for months before, and now no audio ect... what
the heck happened? Do I go netflix canada now?

The sobs... I just tested various oses in vms... only windows 8.1 and above now work with crave. Win 7 won't and linux won't. I don't really care about win7, but linux, come on.....
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,993 (4.03/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
What browsers have you tried in linux?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,532 (3.23/day)
Went to do some viewing and was met with this:
Looks like you are using an unsupported browser or operating system. The site may not work as expected. Please review our FAQ page for more information.
Reviewing tha faq shows no linux support at this time. I had to cancel immediately. It was working for months before, and now no audio ect... what
the heck happened? Do I go netflix canada now?

The sobs... I just tested various oses in vms... only windows 8.1 and above now work with crave. Win 7 won't and linux won't. I don't really care about win7, but linux, come on.....
It's likely just a browser issue. Have you tried Waterfox? I find it works best for video streaming. The Linux version is trivial to grab;
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
264 (0.61/day)
Processor 3770K @ 4700MHz 1.375v
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Le Grand Macho RT, TY143
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill TridentX, 2x2GB G.Skill Perfect Storm @ 1000 8-9-8-24 1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified @ 1495/2001
Storage Crucial M4 256, WD 1TB Black, and some misc spinners.
Display(s) Hisense 55"
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG, White
Audio Device(s) NAD T748, Mission M something, Monitor Audio FB-210, Monster HDP 1800
Power Supply CM Silent Pro M2 850
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Ask your mom.
I haven't used crave tv on my pc except through fibetv, which I used to use with internet explorer, then edge.. but they no longer support those two browsers, firefox is now the only browser supported for that.. Still doesn't help with your problem. Hopefully the post above will..
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Supporter
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,487 (1.24/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, EVO 860 500GB
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Well after further testing, even with the big fat warning... I can stream Crave just fine under linux. I retested under win 7 as well... works. They need to figure out what they are doing, they could lose
a lot of clients over a stupid like that. I have to consider reactivating my account. Just stupid.
 

Philbaz

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
4 (0.07/day)
Well after further testing, even with the big fat warning... I can stream Crave just fine under linux. I retested under win 7 as well... works. They need to figure out what they are doing, they could lose
a lot of clients over a stupid like that. I have to consider reactivating my account. Just stupid.
Hello,

Im curious how you got it to work on Linux?

Crave stopped working suddenly for me. I got the warning banner, since then the player appears to be loading then just throw an error, 246000 if I remember correctly.

Is there something you did to get it working? Im on chrome, turned of ad-block and cleared my cookies, no change.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,532 (3.23/day)
Hello,

Im curious how you got it to work on Linux?

Crave stopped working suddenly for me. I got the warning banner, since then the player appears to be loading then just throw an error, 246000 if I remember correctly.

Is there something you did to get it working? Im on chrome, turned of ad-block and cleared my cookies, no change.
Have you updated you browser or tried FireFox?
 

Philbaz

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
4 (0.07/day)
Hi lexluthermiester, yes I am using the most up to date version of chrome and have tried firefox with default settings. I'm using Linux Lite, and using Chrome or firefox i see the warning banner as soon as Crave comes up and get the same error.

Where do I go now?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,532 (3.23/day)
Hi lexluthermiester, yes I am using the most up to date version of chrome and have tried firefox with default settings. I'm using Linux Lite, and using Chrome or firefox i see the warning banner as soon as Crave comes up and get the same error.

Where do I go now?
Have you tried a different distro to test if it's your install? Say like Linux Mint?
 

Philbaz

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
4 (0.07/day)
No, but it was working up until 6 weeks ago. Then bam, the banner and error showed up.

Very similar to johnspack. Sounds like he found a solution but didn't mention what it was.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,532 (3.23/day)
No, but it was working up until 6 weeks ago. Then bam, the banner and error showed up.

Very similar to johnspack. Sounds like he found a solution but didn't mention what it was.
Might have been something changed in the website itself. Have you tried accessing the site on a mobile device in a browser?
 
Top