1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Critique this build (1st timer)

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by MolsonSS, Oct 25, 2009.

1. MolsonSS New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hello, I am looking for a review on my proposed build. I have never built a computer before so I'm not entirely sure if everything is compatible with eachother, or if I have overlooked any components?

*updated*
    Case: Cool Master HAF 922
    Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
    PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-850HX 850W
    CPU: Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz
    Cooling: Thermalright ultra 120 extreme
    RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 6GB 1600
    SSD: Patriot Torqx 128GB
    HDD2: WD Caviar Black 750GB
    GPU: XFX HD5870
    ODD: LITE-ON Black 18X DVD

*update* I'm waiting on the 5870.... wow are they hard to find right now! :(

Thanks for your time,
    MolsonSS

Last edited: Oct 28, 2009
  2. DR.Death

DR.Death New Member

Thanks Received:
    looks good it will be a good rig

10 Year Member at TPU
  3. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

Nothing wrong there at all, Very nice build although I would swap the velociraptor out for an SSD if its the OS drive.

10 Year Member at TPU
  4. RaPiDo987

RaPiDo987 New Member

Thanks Received:
  5. Greenmousa

Greenmousa

Thanks Received:
    About the questions you asked:

The LIte On i have one, it rocks it works been solid for some heavy HEAVY use for a long time now, so go for it.

Motherboard, yes, it's Crossfire Ready so, if you are planning to go Xfire, you will be able to do so.

The cooling question has been answered above.

Hope it helps :)

6. wolf

wolf Performance Enthusiast

Thanks Received:
    I own a lot of the parts on that list, check my specs, I can vouch for that being a kickass gaming rig brah.

10 Year Member at TPU
  7. lemode

Thanks Received:
  8. MK4512

MK4512 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Good job, seems like it will be a very good build!

9. aCid888*