1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

crossfire 2 cards 256mb & 512mb

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by mortal, Jul 22, 2007.

  1. mortal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    151 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Croatia - Umag
    Hi i am planning to make crossfire but i can not find if i can put in crossfire 2 cards but with differnet amout of GDDR.

    More specificaly i mean 2 x1950gt one is peak radeon an done powercolor, and Peak is with 512mb
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. mortal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    151 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Croatia - Umag
    Nobody knows that?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,960 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,525
    Usually in Crossfire with different cards the faster card will have to slow down to meet the performance of the slower card. They may work, but obviously not perform up to their maximum ability.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It will just run with 256 on each card
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,699 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,088
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yup.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    714 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    second that. the weak card will become the master, the other the slave!

    but overclocking should be fun
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    If your a master at the soldering iron and have another video card lying around with the same kind of memory. You could add that to it then flash the bios.

    Just saying that it could be done.
    ------
    I would put the 512 in the master slot so if you turn off crossfire your on the 512 card.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. bassmasta Guest

    would the same idea work for the 2900 xt and xtx in x-fire? I often game with two screens running, which stops x-fire support, so I would like to be covered in both scenarios. I just wanna make sure gddr3/4 are compaible.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It should slow down to the GDDR3 version while in crossfire.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. mortal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    151 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Croatia - Umag
    Thanks. Tomorow 2 saphire bridges are comming and ill try it. Here in Croatia are not so many peapole with crossfire, mainly people are making SLI.

    I will flash pro bios on those two x1950gt so the core and gddr will run on identical mhz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,488 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,395
    You never held a soldering iron before have you?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,846 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Sure he has,
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    why would u say that? I have lots of times...I even have the suction tool to eat up the extra waste while your doing it. I'm not a master at it...but my dad is. That's where I learned how to do it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)