• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crossfire Compatibility

red99

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
In Crossfire: Do brands,model have to match to work? Can 1gb and a 2gb be linked if they have diff. manufacturers?:D Lastly: Does clock speed have to be identical out of the box if not OCing them?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,351 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,809
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#2
Only requirement is that you use the same class and same memory capacity.

So for example 2x HD6870 with 1GB of memory. Or 2x HD6970 etc

Last time i checked different clocks work together as well and brand itself doesn't mean anything.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
469 (0.14/day)
Likes
68
Location
Victoria, Australia
System Name Haswell Ranger
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H80 Hydro Series Cooler
Memory 16GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS RX480 Strix 8GB @1350MHz
Storage OCZ Trion 100 240GB(OS) + 4TB HDD(s)
Display(s) Samsung SE790C 34" Ultra-wide/Curved 3440x1440p 60hz
Case Corsair 750D Obsidian
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System/Roccat Kave XTD 5.1 Headphones
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Modular
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G510s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
I believe, that if one card has 2GB and one only has 1GB, that only 1GB from both cards will be used. Same deal with clocks. Could be wrong, iunno.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,559 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,699
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#5
as far as i kno Crusader u have it right. mem and clocks will go to lowest common value. brand/company do not make a difference nor does different models within the same class ie. 4850 + 4870 crossfire ( i have seen that here on TPU b4). I personally bought 2 Sapphire as to have minimal issues with Crossfire
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
If clocks are different, the lowest clock will be utilized. Example is if you have one 6990 and one 6970 for tri-fire, you will use the 6990 clocks. Brands do not need to match as I have done this for years. However, if they run at different clocks (one regular card, one "OC" edition), the lowest will be used.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#7
exactly

6850 + 6870 works

5850 + 5870

5830 + 5870

5850 + 5970

5870 + 5970

6950 + 6970

6950 + 6990

6970 + 6990

essentiall family name is all that matters with xfire

x8xx will work together
x9xx will work together so on and so forth

at least when it comes to modern gpus aka not sure on the 2000 or 3000 series but this applies to 4000 5000 and 6000 series cards
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.23/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#8
gone are the days where the lowest clock will be utilised.

the memory is critical and the "least" used by a particular card will be used by all:

ex1, a 2gb card xfired with a 1gb card will use 1gb

ex2, a 5850@725/1125 can be used with a 5870@850/1200 WITHOUT effecting clock speed
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
If clocks are different, the lowest clock will be utilized. Example is if you have one 6990 and one 6970 for tri-fire, you will use the 6990 clocks. Brands do not need to match as I have done this for years. However, if they run at different clocks (one regular card, one "OC" edition), the lowest will be used.
No. Clocks are not part of it.


Although, i think that they should be.


CCC allows for independant clocking of each card, even.


Only memory size, and use of the same base GPU matters.


You can run 4870 with 4850, 4870 with 4890, 5870 with 5850 and 5830, as well as 5970, and 6950 with 6970 and 6990. NO CLOCKS/SHADER AMOUNTS WILL BE ADJUSTED.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,014 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#10
No. Clocks are not part of it.


Although, i think that they should be.


CCC allows for independant clocking of each card, even.


Only memory size, and use of the same base GPU matters.


You can run 4870 with 4850, 4870 with 4890, 5870 with 5850 and 5830, as well as 5970, and 6950 with 6970 and 6990. NO CLOCKS/SHADER AMOUNTS WILL BE ADJUSTED.
This.
Only difference you will see is the faster card with have a slightly less load %.
For example, a stock 5870 CF with a OCed 5870, the OCed card will be loading at 95% while the stock card will be at 99%.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#11
gone are the days where the lowest clock will be utilised.

the memory is critical and the "least" used by a particular card will be used by all:

ex1, a 2gb card xfired with a 1gb card will use 1gb

ex2, a 5850@725/1125 can be used with a 5870@850/1200 WITHOUT effecting clock speed
No. Clocks are not part of it.


Although, i think that they should be.


CCC allows for independant clocking of each card, even.


Only memory size, and use of the same base GPU matters.


You can run 4870 with 4850, 4870 with 4890, 5870 with 5850 and 5830, as well as 5970, and 6950 with 6970 and 6990. NO CLOCKS/SHADER AMOUNTS WILL BE ADJUSTED.
This.
Only difference you will see is the faster card with have a slightly less load %.
For example, a stock 5870 CF with a OCed 5870, the OCed card will be loading at 95% while the stock card will be at 99%.
Not according to this article:

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/04/11/amd_radeon_69906970_crossfirex_trifire_review/

Therefore, what happens is the triple-GPU setup will only run as fast as the slowest system. Meaning that though the Radeon HD 6970 video card can run at 880MHz/5.5GHz, it will synchronize with the slower 830MHz/5GHz clock speeds of the Radeon HD 6990. You still have all the goodies, 2GB of RAM, same shader count, but just slightly reduced clock speeds on that video card. Still, we have a lot of processing power.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
Not my fault Brent failed. :laugh:


What can I say? He made a mistake? Because I know, for a fact, from doing it myself, you can adjust card clocks separately with that combo. I really make an effort of saying nothing unless I've tried it myself.
 
Last edited:

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#13
I never said you could not adjust the clocks separately. It just means that if you throw mixed carfs in there, that they should default to the lower speed. You're free to OC from there all you want.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
I never said you could not adjust the clocks separately. It just means that if you throw mixed carfs in there, that they should default to the lower speed. You're free to OC from there all you want.
Never seen it happen, myself. I can explain why it looked that way to brent, but he's wrong. Install the 6970 first, as I did, and something far different happens. I think maybe he ran two 6990's on that OS before the triple setup, although it could be possible that my differnt earlier config is truly what's the cause.

And he did say syncronize, not actually drop clocks, which may kinda cover him there, as Zubasa states above.
 
Last edited: