• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire or not?

Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
396 (0.08/day)
Likes
145
Location
FIN
System Name FPS Cruncher
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K 4x 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Gene-Z
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S36
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3200 DIMM CL14-14-14-34 16Gb
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 AMP! Edition
Storage SSD 840 EVO 500G,WD10EZRX-00L4HB0,SSD Crucial CT525MX300
Display(s) AOC G2460PF Freesync 144Hz
Case Fractal Design S
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA 750 G2
Mouse Logitech Preforance MX
Keyboard ASUS Cerberus Gaming Keyboard MKII
Software Win10 Pro 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 P13046 =2900XT 3dmark vantage P4614 =2900XT
#1
So i have an powercolor 1950pro 512m card and was thinking to get a second one but is it really worth the money or should sell the pro card or what? Does it matter if have diffrent brands of cards (both will have 512m memory).Any that have 2 pro´s in crossfire please give your opinion on this + or -.
 
I

insider

Guest
#2
IMO waste of money, wait another year and you'll see better DX10 cards, you need more system ram for a start, current bottleneck on your system is not the card but the CPU and ram.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
I would put the money into more RAM like Insider said. You CPU shouldn't really be bottlenecking anything right now, but only have 1GB of RAM certainly is. I wouldn't worry about Crossfire, or SLI, right now as long as you already have a decent graphics card and the x1950Pro is more than decent. I would just stick with that single card until the next generation of DX10 cards come out.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#4
Super AA:)

So yes

but you do need 2 gigs of memory
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
396 (0.08/day)
Likes
145
Location
FIN
System Name FPS Cruncher
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K 4x 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Gene-Z
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S36
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3200 DIMM CL14-14-14-34 16Gb
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 AMP! Edition
Storage SSD 840 EVO 500G,WD10EZRX-00L4HB0,SSD Crucial CT525MX300
Display(s) AOC G2460PF Freesync 144Hz
Case Fractal Design S
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA 750 G2
Mouse Logitech Preforance MX
Keyboard ASUS Cerberus Gaming Keyboard MKII
Software Win10 Pro 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 P13046 =2900XT 3dmark vantage P4614 =2900XT
#5
I have 2 gigs of mem coming but i havent recived it yet becuse somebody did steal the first shipment =( Onlything i recived was an empty box with some foam in grrr.And i have a new case also coming =) Thermaltake Mozart Tx =))
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#6
I have 2 gigs of mem coming but i havent recived it yet becuse somebody did steal the first shipment =( Onlything i recived was an empty box with some foam in grrr.And i have a new case also coming =) Thermaltake Mozart Tx =))
Yea that sucks.

My cos sent me 2 laptops one time, and when it got here the box was filled with cloths.....
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
396 (0.08/day)
Likes
145
Location
FIN
System Name FPS Cruncher
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K 4x 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Gene-Z
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S36
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3200 DIMM CL14-14-14-34 16Gb
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 AMP! Edition
Storage SSD 840 EVO 500G,WD10EZRX-00L4HB0,SSD Crucial CT525MX300
Display(s) AOC G2460PF Freesync 144Hz
Case Fractal Design S
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA 750 G2
Mouse Logitech Preforance MX
Keyboard ASUS Cerberus Gaming Keyboard MKII
Software Win10 Pro 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 P13046 =2900XT 3dmark vantage P4614 =2900XT
#7
How much will the fps improve with a 2 card.I have read many reviews but they are just numbers ,what is your experience.I love to play if i can all the "eyecandy" on and that is what im aming for with the second card.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#8
It would be faster than a 1950XTX. You would also be able to use all of the ATi goodies with less frame rate loss. Like Adaptive AA which is a big hit to slower cards. You would also be able to run Super AA which is some good I candy but that does take a hit on FPS.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
396 (0.08/day)
Likes
145
Location
FIN
System Name FPS Cruncher
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K 4x 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Gene-Z
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S36
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3200 DIMM CL14-14-14-34 16Gb
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 AMP! Edition
Storage SSD 840 EVO 500G,WD10EZRX-00L4HB0,SSD Crucial CT525MX300
Display(s) AOC G2460PF Freesync 144Hz
Case Fractal Design S
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA 750 G2
Mouse Logitech Preforance MX
Keyboard ASUS Cerberus Gaming Keyboard MKII
Software Win10 Pro 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 P13046 =2900XT 3dmark vantage P4614 =2900XT
#9
Can i have for example my powercolor and one sapphire both 512m?
 

mortal

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
151 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Location
Croatia - Umag
Processor q6600 G0 @ 3400 1,30V
Motherboard DFI LP T2R P35
Cooling Sonic tower @ 40C
Memory 2x1024 Team Elite 4 4 4 12 @ 850mhz
Video Card(s) x1950xtx @ vf-900
Storage Segate 500GB server edition
Display(s) Hanns-g
Case Chieftec LCX Big tower
Audio Device(s) Hercules Muse
Power Supply Silwerstone Strider 560W 12.01-12,04V
#10
Yes you can have 2 cards from different manofacture.

in 3dmark 05 with 1 card i had 10500 and with 2 cards 16500 ( x1950gt)