• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crossfire+physics (havok)

Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#1
I'm running Crossfire with 2 x1950 pros and I have an old x700 pro laying around. Has anyone tried or tested crossfire+physics using a third graphics card? If you haven't heard of it please see:

http://www.engadget.com/2006/06/06/ati-announces-crossfire-physics-platform/

My motherboard has 3 pcix slots but I'm wondering how it is enabled/configured. Is it one of those things that "just works" or is there a 3rd party utility I need to install in order to configure the 3rd card as physics?
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.09/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#2
that link you posted is there even before the c2d we're out
i doubt a x700 will be able to do it, and ati hasn't even officialy taked about physics, at least i haven't heard nothing;)
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.09/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#4
well, guess they've said something then, but i don't know if the drivers support it
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#5
I'm running Crossfire with 2 x1950 pros and I have an old x700 pro laying around. Has anyone tried or tested crossfire+physics using a third graphics card? If you haven't heard of it please see:

http://www.engadget.com/2006/06/06/ati-announces-crossfire-physics-platform/

My motherboard has 3 pcix slots but I'm wondering how it is enabled/configured. Is it one of those things that "just works" or is there a 3rd party utility I need to install in order to configure the 3rd card as physics?
ATi did stated that physics CF require X1k series cards or higher since they have programmable shader processors.:D
 

Protius

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,410 (0.33/day)
Likes
18
Location
Wonderful Ohio
Processor E6420 @ 3.6 -1.4v
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Lapped
Memory GSkill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR1000 @1080 5-5-5-15 2t 2.1v
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
Storage 74gb Raptor 16mb cache & 500gb sata2 WD Cavaliar
Display(s) SAMSUNG 226bw 22" widescreen
Case Lian-Li PC-A05 w/ window & top 120mm blowhole
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music-Logitech Z-530 (5.1)
Power Supply CORSAIR 550VX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#6
anybody actually get this working though?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#7
ATi did stated that physics CF require X1k series cards or higher since they have programmable shader processors.:D
Ah so the old x700 won't work. I can get a x1600 cheap enough I guess. Or another x1950pro? I play alot of Halflife2. I know it, amoung other games, supports Havok. Maybe it's the game itself that looks for the physics hardware. Halflife2 isn't a very demanding game but If I have the slot I might as well make use of it. :)
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#8
Ah so the old x700 won't work. I can get a x1600 cheap enough I guess. Or another x1950pro? I play alot of Halflife2. I know it, amoung other games, supports Havok. Maybe it's the game itself that looks for the physics hardware. Halflife2 isn't a very demanding game but If I have the slot I might as well make use of it. :)
All you need is a X1600Pro = X1300XT for physic:D
It is enough pawn the Aegia crap badly.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#9
you need the ati xpress 3200 chipset to run 3 cards... afaik the only current board with it is the new dfi intel cfx3200...
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#10
you need the ati xpress 3200 chipset to run 3 cards... afaik the only current board with it is the new dfi intel cfx3200...
My Intel has 3pcix slots. I wouldn't think bus access would be limited by hardware would it? If the Ageia PhysX can be accessed on any system I would hope any other piece of hardware could be. No offence to you RM if that's the case but c'mon. There's WAY too much "proprietary hardware" out there lately. Can't use X ram on Y board with Z videocard unless bios is rev 2 on the platinum series bla bla bla. :banghead:
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#11
I've been wondering about Havok myself for a while, couldn't really find anything on it though. I'd go with Nvidia for it though and not even SLI. Would it be possible to buy a cheap SM3.0 card and use it for physics? And would there be any gain in anything besides power usage?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#12
I've been wondering about Havok myself for a while, couldn't really find anything on it though. I'd go with Nvidia for it though and not even SLI. Would it be possible to buy a cheap SM3.0 card and use it for physics? And would there be any gain in anything besides power usage?
Anytime you can off-load one task to another piece of hardware you will have a performance gain. How much faster could a lower-end graphics card render frames if it didn't have to do physics calculations at the same time? It's anyones guess. I don't know exactly how much power physics takes. I know in a game like FEAR when you crank up everything BUT physics you get a significantly higher score then with physics maxed out as well, so it must take quite a chunk of processing. If my favorite game supports Havok I'd love to try it and see. I already have 2 x1950 pro in crossfire and a 3rd slot just waiting to get filled. If anything it will keep my feet warmer. :rolleyes:
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#13
With a gain I mean something noticeable. If you get 2 more frames or simply a lower CPU load it's pointless.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#14
With a gain I mean something noticeable. If you get 2 more frames or simply a lower CPU load it's pointless.
That's what I'm saying... the physics being on or off in FEAR made a large improvement in game performance. If the physics are calculated on the cpu or gpu I don't know but either way they will execute on another piece of hardware if crossfire+physics works. So I should see similar results which were indeed noticable 20-30fps if it's off-loaded to another piece of hardware.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#15
That's what I'm saying... the physics being on or off in FEAR made a large improvement in game performance. If the physics are calculated on the cpu or gpu I don't know but either way they will execute on another piece of hardware if crossfire+physics works. So I should see similar results which were indeed noticable 20-30fps if it's off-loaded to another piece of hardware.
20-30 FPS would not be bad obviously, however does this also show for other Havok games? If the bottleneck is the GPU I don't see how offloading physics from the CPU would give any gains.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#16
20-30 FPS would not be bad obviously, however does this also show for other Havok games? If the bottleneck is the GPU I don't see how offloading physics from the CPU would give any gains.
Most of the newer graphics cards do the physics. Game designers will be using those APIs in games now. Little will be done on the CPU which is a shame with the core2duo and quad and other future CPUs you wouldn't think it would have a hard time with physics would you? I don't. Cellfactor and Crysis will let us know for sure. :D
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#17
My Intel has 3pcix slots. I wouldn't think bus access would be limited by hardware would it? If the Ageia PhysX can be accessed on any system I would hope any other piece of hardware could be. No offence to you RM if that's the case but c'mon. There's WAY too much "proprietary hardware" out there lately. Can't use X ram on Y board with Z videocard unless bios is rev 2 on the platinum series bla bla bla. :banghead:
im sorry you think i'm wrong. call ati yourself. the whole reason the 3200 chipset was created was to add compatibility for another card to use physics...
just because there are three pci e 16 slots on your board doesnt mean squat. there are plenty of uses for an extra pci e 16 slot other than another gpu;)
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#18
im sorry you think i'm wrong. call ati yourself. the whole reason the 3200 chipset was created was to add compatibility for another card to use physics...
just because there are three pci e 16 slots on your board doesnt mean squat. there are plenty of uses for an extra pci e 16 slot other than another gpu;)
They could have done it at the driver level.
 

AshenSugar

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.49/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#19
Ah so the old x700 won't work. I can get a x1600 cheap enough I guess. Or another x1950pro? I play alot of Halflife2. I know it, amoung other games, supports Havok. Maybe it's the game itself that looks for the physics hardware. Halflife2 isn't a very demanding game but If I have the slot I might as well make use of it. :)
as stated x1300xt is an x1650pro so its what u would want.

also have read that we may see pci-e 1x and 4x cards capable of being used as ppu's, x1300xt and x16*0 range cards most likely, amd dosnt want to force people to choose their chipsets, specly if it means cutting out intel owners from buying amd videocards(anything you assotiate with ati), they are competing companys, but it would be stupid to cut off a HUGE portion of the market.

from things i have read i get the feeling amd would like to move to allowing you to use sli/ppu on nvidia,intel,sis chipsets, tho it would be driver level CF/ppu use and wouldnt be quite as fast(most likley) it would let people use their current boards for future amd video products.
theres also the fact that alot of people after already buying a card for ppu use and CF would see the perf advantege of using an AMD chipset and go out and buy a board with that next, just like i have seen alot of people with first gen crossfire boards run out and get 3200 chipset boards because the small perf advantege those board would give the cards they already had.

i know intel users would bitch, but hey, its a way to win over people who already have capable systems to your side on their next upgrade.

amd cant make chipsets for intel anymore because intel dosnt want their compition making chipsets for their chips(tho amd would without question let intel make chipsets for athlon64, diffrent buisness models)

my advice, b4 u buy for a PPU card wait and see what amd does for it, and if they do as i hope, well you will beable to use whatever board u want tho probbly at some perf hit.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#20
heh wait now I have to keep my x1300xt, just pair it with my x1950 when I get it....
 

AshenSugar

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.49/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#21
hehe yeah, my buddy about gave away his x1600pro(iceq overclocked drasticly via bios mod) but desided to keep it(damn i could have had it......my big mouth got me again)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#22
I was just looking at ATI's site because I didn't know that you didn't need that crossfire cable from card to card on every card..

But what I did come by was they say the cards needs to match.......
Well how would that work with x1300xt and a different card...

Just curious because if that works, I want to do it!
 

AshenSugar

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.49/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#23
for crossfire you need matching cards(for best perf), or very simlar cards

fhr ppu use the lesser card is used for ppu only, this isnt part of crossfire, its using a videocard purly for its shader power.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#24
for crossfire you need matching cards(for best perf), or very simlar cards

fhr ppu use the lesser card is used for ppu only, this isnt part of crossfire, its using a videocard purly for its shader power.
Ohh okay I get it now kinda... What is required to use the video card purely for its shader then? Special drivers, goofy software, or is this something it will automatically try to do?
 

AshenSugar

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.49/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#25
software/driver based, havok currently is working on using it, and from what i read crysis will beable to use "extra gpu power" to caculate phsyics data(if there is any extra in the system that is) would have to ask amd and the game makers what games are going to support it, but i got a feeling ALOT will since its from amd/ati(a top maker) fusion from some stuff i been reading is going to add some thing like this to the cpu, not a GPU on cpu but a gpu booster on cpu, something that can be used for spicific kinds of uses where huge paralell piping and fpu power are needed, phsyics basickly :)