• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

CROSSFIRE X1900 problems, PLEASE HELP

icespear

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
3
Likes
0
#1
I have the following Configuration:

Case: RAIDMAX SAMURAI 908 ATX CASE 5X5.25 2X3.5 3X3.5INT PAINT GLOSSY FINISH
RED

Power Supply: Antec True Power II 550W EPS12V 24PIN SLI Ready Power Supply W/ 120MM Fan

Motherboard: DFI LANParty UT CFX3200-DR RD580 Crossfire S939 DDR 2PCI-E16 3PCI SATA2
Sound 2GBLAN Motherboard

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Processor S939 Venice 2.4GHZ 512K L2 Cache 90NM

Cooling: Arctic Cooling Silencer 64 Ultra AMD S754/S939/S940 Aluminum 2300RPM 42CFM
12-23DBA

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB 8.9MS Hard Drive 3 Year
MFR Warranty

DVD: Samsung SH-W162 16X DVD+-RW 5X Dual Layer DVD Writer Black /W SW OEM

RAM: OCZ Performance PC3200 2GB 2X1GB DDR400 CL3-3-3-8 184PIN DIMM Dual
Channel Memory Kit W/ Ramsink

Video Card 1: ATI Radeon X1900 Crossfire 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E Video Card
Video Card 2: ATI Radeon X1900XT 625MHZ 512MB 256BIT 1.45GHZ GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I
VIVO HDTV Video Card




Now onto the Problem:

I click on the fancy button "ENABLE CROSSFIRE" then Run 3D MARK 06 - I get only a near 4000 score.

Flustered I disable crossfire and get near the same score. So i was frustrated so I took out the crossfire edition card and ran 3d mark on JUST the X1900 Single card without any crossfire. I scored HIGHER by about 10 points.

then put in ONLY the crossfire edition card and Ran it again and got again around 4000 score.


yes the drivers have been reinstalled
I am using the latest 6.6 Catalyst drivers
I am sure everything is installed correctly


Any ideas?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#2
your cpu is way to slow to let you see a gain of a x1900 crf setup


buy a betterone
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
714
Likes
11
System Name Xbox 360 Super Elite
Processor 3.2GHz PowerPC Tri-Core Xenon
Memory 512MB 700MHz GDDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) ATI Xenos @ 500 MHz
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 26" Samsung LCD HDTV
Case Super Elite (COD:MW2 Edition)
Audio Device(s) 5.1
Power Supply 120w
Software NXE
#3
you are gonna need a 4400+ cpu with have setup to see much improvement in 3d mark 06, but try some games like FEAR, NFSMW and Half-Life 2 to see the really difference.

crossfire and SLI only mean better graphics if you have a system free of bottlenecks.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#4
my choice would be a 3700+ + oc it
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
714
Likes
11
System Name Xbox 360 Super Elite
Processor 3.2GHz PowerPC Tri-Core Xenon
Memory 512MB 700MHz GDDR3 RAM
Video Card(s) ATI Xenos @ 500 MHz
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 26" Samsung LCD HDTV
Case Super Elite (COD:MW2 Edition)
Audio Device(s) 5.1
Power Supply 120w
Software NXE
#5
overclocking doesnt alway free up the bottleneck as it could make the problem worst. but try overclock and see if it make any difference to your score
 

icespear

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
3
Likes
0
#6
Seriously??? You should see SOME difference in the Video scores when you change out from a single GPU to a Dual GPU..???

I read on Tom's hardware that Single processors are not out dated yet as not many programs utilize the dual processor to its degree and it could be another year before they are really required, so I bought a pretty fast single processor.

its not the score Im so much sorried about its more the "no change" in the score between single and dual video.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#7
your cpu is pretty slow beside your graphic


and i tell you to buy a fx-57 or just a lower modell with san diego core and oc it
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#8
gR3iF said:
your cpu is way to slow to let you see a gain of a x1900 crf setup


buy a betterone
You are kidding I hope............

Anyone that says the CPU is too slow to see a difference is talking out their ass. At stock speeds you should be seeing at least 5K with Crossfire enabled. If you don't run Crossfire don't give bad advice for it. You are either doing something very wrong or that PSU is much too weak for Crossfire. I bet it only has the bare minimum voltage for Crossfire so that can cause issues when overclocking.

You didn't write it so I have to ask. Did you have the Dongle on properly? Some cards it is possible to put it on wrong and some cards are keyed so it can only install one way. Other than that, see if there is something in bios limiting one of the PCI-E slots speed or maybe there is something that must be enabled there for Crossfire to function properly. Either way, you should be seeing 5K+ stock. I have run my 165 @ 1.8GHz and got a 5K score so don't tell me that @ 2.4GHz he won't see a higher score......
 

icespear

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
3
Likes
0
#9
Thanks B1lk1...

I confirmed that the Antec Truepower 550W should be more than enough power but my quesiton is have you tried running 06 with Crossfire disabled, if so what is your score? and does it dramatically change with Crossfire enabled?

Im not concerened about the end score... I am Concerned that when I run the card x1900 by itself I am getting the same score as when I run with corssfire enabled.

I have checked the power and it does only go in 1 way.. Each of the cards are recognised individually in each PCI-E slot and if the cards were not configured right then I wouldnt be able to enable crossfire....

I am going to upgrade to a x2 4400 soon, but still... is my CPU bottlenecking that bad that i am seeing no benefit from the crossfire? that is hard to believe?
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#10
There is no way you can bottleneck them so badly to see no increase. You should easily be seeing 5K, and most likely 6K @ stock speeds. Once you get a dual core CPU you should see a 1K boost in 06 as well. Also, try running 3D Mark05 and see if the same thing happens.

Also, what I mean by the dongle is the external cable that connects the 2 cards. You gotta have that on to run them in Crossfire mode properly. I am sure your PSU can run them stock, but once you start OCing, you may run out of juice. And yes, I see about a 1k drop @ stock speeds when I disable Crossfire. I am running X1800's so your scores should be even better than mine as well.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
619
Likes
9
Location
San Bernardino CA
System Name TheloneFrakker..;)
Processor Q6600 GO FSB333@3.04ghz
Motherboard Asus P5E3 Deluxe Wifi
Cooling Stock for now
Memory 2x1gb/Gskill DDR3 1333@9,9,9,24 1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD2900XT
Storage Seagate Barrucuda 7200.11 500gb SATAII 32mb cache
Display(s) Sceptre xw20g Naga 20.1"
Case Thermaltake Bach VX w/Side window
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Hiper 580w Modular
Software XP Pro/Vista Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores None yet, coming soon...
#11
Also you should be able to crank up the details to highest and that will be where you see a big difference, witthout a big hit on performance. ATI is more about the visual quality versus SLI's higher framerates. On cpu topic any core with 1mb L2 cache is your ideal for gaming, I agree with the others a 3700 Sandy, preferably revision. I have one of these and for gaming its best bang for buck deal around http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103539 the other with less reviews is the newer one which is supposedly a dual Toledo core with one core disabled, and a better memory controller.
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#12
A nice read for any DFI 3200 mobo owner here ... on the RDX200 there is a BIOS option to enable CF ... not sure about the 3200 ...:toast:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#13
icespear, Please ignore all post that its your CPU !!!!!!! You do indeed have a problem but it is not yor cpu even at stock it is fine!!!!!! I am thinking that you have not hooked up the needed floppy type power connector .


If you indeed have the floppy type power connected then go into bios and load optimized settings
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605
Likes
1,283
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#14
And if none of that works you might try this bios setting in the pic belowe.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#15
his cpu is too slow but if he even did not enable crf like its written in the manual then its bad^^
, but did the bios change something?

:pimp:
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#16
ok go play games such as oblivion. crank up the res and settings then play around with crossfire. u will notice immieditly