• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crossfire, Zero Core and Afterburner

Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#1
Hi all,

I'd appreciate responses from AMD/ATI owners with crossfire configs (because they're very relevant and will keep the issue in controllable parameters).

I've now got two 7970's running in crossfire and apart from some weird tubing arrangements for my water loop (res - pump - 120.4 rad - cpu - gfx2 - 120.1 rad - gfx1 - res) it's all quite nice. My cards (factory OC'd) are running at 1010 & 1050 core, temps get to 50-55 with low rpm fans.

I can get zero core to work but even though crossfire is enabled, I need to disable then re-enable it (crossfire) in CCC to make zero-core work so the 2nd card shuts off completely when outside gaming. So that's all cool.
But if i restart my PC i need to do the whole 'disable, re-enable' to make zero core work - it doesn't survive PC reboots or power downs?
Also, with zero core, Afterburner stops registering the 2nd gpu's temp and clocks but will still display usage.

So:
On reboot, crossfire works fine but zero core doesn't.
I need to disable crossfire then enable it again to make zero-core work.
With zero-core on Afterburner doesn't register the 2nd gpu's core or temp.

And launching gpu-z just freezes my system now (but my workaround is that i don't use gpu-z much).

Any help on the zero-core problem (i.e., keeping it on).

I figure there's a regedit ULPS answer coming up and maybe my two factory overclocked BIOS.

Any insight appreciated. :)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#2
Bumping my own thread looking for answers. Webs got nothing :confused:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
my 7950's work fine with ZeroCore, even in Crossfire, got them installed now, second card is cold to the touch(system has been on since yesterday).


I do NOT use Afterburner. I use Sapphire Trixx to OC, since I don't care for the monitoring or any of that stuff that Afterburner offers.


I have ZERO ideas if your problem is Afterburner related.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.23/day)
Likes
26,177
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#4
What driver are you using? I had issues back with 12.3 or 12.4, but those aren't here anymore. currently using 12.8
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#5
I think it's the factory BIOS on the cards. I'm on 12.8 Catalyst drivers.

I've restarted with Afterburner off (not set to start up with windows). No matter what I do the second GPU doesn't kick into sleep. It's actually running at 500MHz and full memory.

First GPU is at 300MHz and 150 memory.

But if i disable and then re-enable crossfire, I can guarantee it'll make zero core work.

Lol, yup, exactly as I say. Makes no sense at all to me. Any software guru's got any clue's? CCC is enabling crossfire, works flawlessly for me (98-99% usage in BF3 on both cards) but i need to do that annoying disable/enable crossfire to jump zero core into life.

:confused:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
If you overclocked past CCC limits, you disabled ULPS, right? That'd be the problem, perhaps.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#7
I've not manually disabled ULPS.

I can rule out the BIOS. Used the second BIOS (which reset to 925/1375, stock of a vanilla 7970) and same issue. When I used this card on it's own it would also sleep when not in use (on screen time out).

It has to be CCC not picking things up properly. Even the idle is 500MHz of the 2nd gpu but after i run a 3D program (Heaven 3.0) it then decides to downclock to 300/150.

It's a very small niggle but more niggly for being so weird.

I mean I can just disable/enable every time i reboot but that's not the point. Crossfire works period. Zero Core needs to be reminded to work. And when it's on, it's very on. As soon as the 3D app stops, the cards out for the count :laugh:

EDIT:

Hah! I'm not alone. Someone else on another forum has exactly same problem and same nuisance fix:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1218333/zerocore-not-working-why/10#post_16548730 (post 11).
 
Last edited:

rv73566

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
I had the same problem with driver version 12.8 and two HD7970. No i'm using the 12.9 Beta from amd homepage and crossfire and zerocore works fine.
Both cards are on at starting my PC and after the first logon, the second card switches off and starts when needed and switches off again when game/benchmark is over.
But i haven't tested any game yet, i only run 3DMark2011 and had no significant differences between 12.8 and 12.9 Beta.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#9
Nice one!

Installed the 12.9's and the zero core issue has gone.

Thanks! :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#10
I think it's the factory BIOS on the cards. I'm on 12.8 Catalyst drivers.

I've restarted with Afterburner off (not set to start up with windows). No matter what I do the second GPU doesn't kick into sleep. It's actually running at 500MHz and full memory.

First GPU is at 300MHz and 150 memory.

But if i disable and then re-enable crossfire, I can guarantee it'll make zero core work.

Lol, yup, exactly as I say. Makes no sense at all to me. Any software guru's got any clue's? CCC is enabling crossfire, works flawlessly for me (98-99% usage in BF3 on both cards) but i need to do that annoying disable/enable crossfire to jump zero core into life.

:confused:
Try to uninstall Afterburner,uninstall the drivers,Clean sweep then install drivers again,Then install the cap 12.9- 1 drivers.Never use Afterburner or have it installed while updating cats.