1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis 2 to be much more demanding than the original?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Monkey_Business, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. Will Crysis 2 be much more demanding than the original Crysis? Especially graphics wise.

    Imagine the comparison between the hardware demand between the original Far Cry game, and Crysis.

    The hardware capable of maxing Crysis 2 will not exist until several years after it's released. I would imagine the very same would go for Crysis 3 and the CryEngine 4.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,064 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    No it was confirmed in an interview with the guy incharge of graphics for crysis 2 that it will be visually better than the 1st and will require lesser requirements than the Crysis 1 as well.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Maybe they should just make it much more scalable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,321 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Indiana
    I agree, it needs to be as graphically and visually intensive as the market allows, but it needs to be scalable. I fear they will dumb it down to fit it to the console.
     
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,482 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Nah should be fine performance wise.
     
  6. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Since Crysis 2 is generally focused as a console game, I would say it is less demanding than the original Crysis that was a PC only release.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. How can you have a graphics engine which is much better looking than it's predecessor, and not be more demanding on the hardware?

    I wonder if the CryEngine 3 will utilize a quad-core CPU like GTA IV and World in Conflict.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,488 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,395
    Optimization. Utilizing new technologies.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,046 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    If consoles are able to handle this engine unlike the first one then PC's should handle it better. So I'm looking forward to buying this game and playing it with my current hardware rather than buying the game with new hardware also hehe
     
  10. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Location:
    Manhattan
    It's not a very rare fact that Crysis was a fairly poorly coded game. There were tons of things they could have fixed up, even through patches, but didn't
     
  11. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,819 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    it wasn't that bad on the lower settings and low resolution, like 1680x1050 and lower but I remember once you go over that and put on gamer or very high settings it brought every card for like 2 years to its knees, and as you increase in resolution the requirements increase to greatly.

    crysis 2 can't run worst.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,309 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,049
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    Yeah because Nvidia most likely paid em off to increase sales:shadedshu
     
  13. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Not true, I had only Nvidia cards for the beginning of the Crysis era. First an 8600GT, then 8800GT, next was a 9800GTX, then a GTX280. All this before the 4890 and the 5870 I now have. The GTX280 wasn't able to handle it without turning down settings, thus it was a poorly coded game. Nvidia did buy themselves better performance, but it still wasn't good.
     
  14. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,023 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,589
    Location:
    Europe\Slovenia
    I don't know where you got this so called fact, but the game was coded just fine. It was just graphically superior (and still is) to everything else and ppl just aren't used that. Instead, they call it poorly coded and stuff like that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Lol look at my other thread, in my other pc i have a 4650 running crysis at very high settings with no problems or lag even when recording with fraps. TBH its excellently coded.

    VID HERE: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1NANPjE4Hs
     
  17. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,064 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Are you sure? HD 4650???? My friends 4850 can run the game only on high so how the hell is a 4650 running it on very high??? :confused:
     
  18. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Yep im sure thats my 4650:) Powerful punch in a little card;)
     
  19. If the GTX 260's and 280's are "eating the engine for breakfast" then the HD 5870's and 5970's shouldn't have any problem at all with it. Maybe even maxing it.

    I'm not sure about Crysis 3 and the CryEngine 4. DX12?

    Crysis is slated to be a trilogy.

    I recently saw an issue of playstation magazine which featured a several page article about Crysis 2. The interviews didn't mention anything about the PC version, just the versions for the consoles.

    Apparently some, or all of the game takes place in New York city, and you have to defend it against an alien invasion.

    I'd like to see how the CryEngine3 looks in a large urban environment, and not just a jungle.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)