1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis 2 will support Dx11 (as well as 9, 10)

Discussion in 'Games' started by Nick259, Aug 10, 2009.

  1. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
    Some new cryengine 3 info that was presented at SIGGRAPH has been released. I was looking through the slides and I noticed that it said cryengine 3 will support dx 11, look below.

    [​IMG]

    They also released some videos of some of the new technology that will come with the cryengine 3. You can see everything here.

     
    TRIPTEX_CAN says thanks.
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    they can keep it
     
    kylzer says thanks.
  3. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,006 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,741
    It's called "Cry" engine for a reason. The 3 after it means it will take the computing power of "3" NASA systems to play it @ 30fps :laugh:
     
  4. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    :laugh:
     
  5. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
    "We have seamless world streaming technology for huge levels."

    I think that should help with the consoles very restricting RAM budget and will stop the levels becoming boring and linear.
     
  6. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    so i understand this right consoles will have dx9 and pc s dx9/10/11:confused: and i hope they take time and optimise this game! or they will go with the strategy like in crysis,sacrifise performance to make it absolutly gorgeous:ohwell: well we just have to wait and see:)
     
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,827 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,272
    Location:
    US
    Lolz and still DX9 compatible... Not as if Crysis was any good imo but i do hope they add a better story to there next game i might be a little tempted then. Is about time they made a FULL game not 1/2 ones( if that ).

    I hope there is a boost from using DX11 time will tell i guess.
     
  8. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,761 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    the top 2 look like crysis 1 to me
     
  9. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,157 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    All 4 of them are CryEngine 2 screenshots. =\
     
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,178 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Thats good. Looks great in DX9 and would suck if it didn't support it.
     
  11. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,060 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    it will be suicide for a game developer not to support dx9
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,827 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,272
    Location:
    US
    Yes which means that were not actually moving forward STILL. DX10 made DX9 compatible would of been nice at least. But it seems that it's just Another DX9 game made compatible with DX and later DX11.
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,118 (9.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,873
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,178 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Don't matter to me, thats money saved. Don't need to go out and buy a new OS just to play a game that requires DX10/11.
     
  15. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    I was never a believer as well. However, after given the opportunity to try it for myself I found that playing Crysis Warhead in XP SP3 in DX9 mode provided the same gaming experience as Crysis Warhead Win7 using DX10. Albeit I had to fix a stuttering problem in Win7 that wasn't experienced in XP SP3 and, had noticed no difference in IQ between DX9 and DX10. The frame rates were similar between the 2 OSs using the same hardware.

    Now I am not going to sensationalize my experience by saying XP SP3 sucks because it doesn't. Nor do I find the need to glorify Win7 because it's by no means perfect. What I will say is this:
    -if you know you will eventually own a DX11 card
    -see a few game(s) that you would like to play DX11 (Dirt 2, Crysis 2, etc)
    -and/or any other personal reason not mentioned

    try Win7. You can always go back to XP SP3 if you are not happy.
     
    AsRock and CDdude55 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,178 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Win 7 is going to be very expensive, when it goes down in price i shall get it.

    But, is Win 7 a RAM hog like Vista?
     
  17. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    Compared to XP it does use more ram. However, since Win7 I've haven't had a need to "end processes" yet. The only process I know that I want to end is the Indexing. Other then that Win7 does typically read about 1.25Gigs when XP SP3 read only 500k-650K after about 1 1/2 week of using it (using the same number of programs from XP SP3). Removing some processes can lower the amount of memory used. However, I've honestly not noticed any ill effects in games and other applications.

    Take a look at the Win7 club. It will provide you with a lot if useful information that should help acclimate you into Win7 when you believe the price for it is something you find reasonable. I will certainly update that thread if I find out any news on discounts. You should still be able to download Win 7 from MS for a trail bases. But that's not the final version though. So keep that in mind.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    when i used the RC version it only used 700-800 megs of ram but it felt FAST like xp(IT IS NOT LIKE VISTA,IT IS A HYBRYD OF XP AND VISTA)
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  19. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,131 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,184
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    +1

    They'd lose a HUGE marketshare to those that might be interested in the game that didn't necessarily have HD res monitors and e-peen vid cards, SLI or CF. I remember running the original on my x1950xtx @ 1440x900, it didn't run great, but medium was ok. The 9600GT pepped it up a lot...but I lost interest in it shortly after that.

    I hope that add more polish to the gameplay (though I haven't played Warhead), something to keep you wanting to come back for more beyond the eyecandy and ability for your machine to play it on hi or uber or medium. I think they'll do a better job this time around, I still think Far Cry was an amazing game for it's day, and back then it was stressful on rigs but it was very much worth coming back to...imo they just haven't been able to capture that again, at least like they did. But that could all change...we'll just have to wait and see.

    :toast:
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not only that, but Vista and Win7 using ram is done by design. It's not "hogging" it, it's making use of it by making it a cache that's much faster to access than a disk. They both release the memory when a program needs it.

    "Vista hogging ram" is the argument of those that have been duped by naysayers.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,038 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,749
    This will be a console port. It should run on an abacus unless poorly optimized.
     
  22. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,979 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    the meme is dead... :shadedshu
     
  23. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,178 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The majority of PC games these days are Consoles ports.:shadedshu
     
  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,482 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    What I find interesting is that the consoles start on crysis 2. How will they know whats going on if they've never heard of crysis.
     
  25. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,178 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Im pretty sure most Consoles gamers have heard of Crysis. But Crysis 2 will probably start with a different storyline, so the Console gamers can get in on the action without getting confused to whats going on in that game.

    If Crysis 2 is continuing the story from the first then ya its probably going to be hard for the Console gamers to follow along if they realy want to know what the games about.

    Shouldn't be to bad for them.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)