• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crysis 3 problem

Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#1
I recently got an reference unlocked sapphire hd 6950 with a non reference (not unlocked) power color 6950 for crossfire.Problem is the game doesn't use the second GPU at all within the game.Only the tutorial played fluently but still with the second GPU to 0% utilization and the first to 99%.Data from MSI Afterburner.Then on the first mission I get like 5-15 FPS and it is unplayable.Also Psycho's model is extremely disfigured (his model renders incorrectly in-game).I am using catalyst 12.10 but I can't update to the latest (which I know are optimized for Crysis 3) because then the crossfire doesn't work.I get videoTDR failure BSODs,restart loops,failing in driver installation etc.

Please help I want to play this game so bad it looks and feels amazing and it is the major reason why I got the second 6950.Any suggestions except for updating?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,589 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#2
I have 2 x 7970 and I was on the 12.11 betas but it was a bit choppy. I updated to the 13.2 (6) beta's and apart from an Afterburner issue (2nd gpu only monitors usage) it's running very smooth.

There is one thing though. I think because the way origin loads up it gets a windowed (yet full screen glitch).

Try alt-tabbing to desktop (if that doesn't work, try CTR-ALT-DEL). Then get back into game. That might activate your second card, though perhaps only in the 13.2 (6) beta's. They are the ones with best Crysis 3 performance.

EDIT: I get 99% usage (both cards) when the graphics load is high enough to not even hit 60fps. After 60 fps I'm using vsync so the usage drops.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
NZ
Processor Intel i5-3570K
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty Z77 Performance
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2 x 4GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 7770
Storage Western Digital Black 500GB
Display(s) Philips 19" 190B4
Case Cooler Master Centurian 5 II
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic X-660
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit OS
#3
For Crossfire to work (properly), the two video cards should have the same clock speeds (core and memory), and the same type and size of memory.

Update BIOS?

Possible faulty video card?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#4
Hi

Try this here

Then reinstall these Catalyst 13.2 beta 5 or drivers you know are stable

Edit: as OS is Windows 8

atb (all the best)

Law-II
You gave me this answer before.It doesn't work with anything else but 12.10.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#5
You gave me this answer before.It doesn't work with anything else but 12.10.
Hi

OK. why not extract the driver / .dll's from the 13.2 beta 5 and place them in the working directory for Crysis 3

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
156 (0.09/day)
Likes
11
System Name Cerberus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2o 620
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X Direct CU II
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 256 GB + Western Digital WD10EARS-00MVWB0 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S22B350
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#6
Hi

OK. why not extract the driver / .dll's from the 13.2 beta 5 and place them in the working directory for Crysis 3

atb

Law-II
I don't really know how to do that.What do you mean exactly?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#7
I don't really know how to do that.What do you mean exactly?
Hi

Run the setup.exe [in this case AMD_Catalyst_13.2.exe] [Beta 5 & or 6]
allow setup to unpack the files to the drive; cancel before installing

-Example search the unpacked files at these [default] locations
C:\AMD\AMD_Catalyst_13.2\Packages\Drivers\Display\ W8_INF\B153340 [x32]
C:\AMD\AMD_Catalyst_13.2\Packages\Drivers\Display\ W86A_INF\B153340 [x64]

select the following files as required:

atiumdag - dx9 32bit
aticfx32 & atidxx32 - dx10 & dx11 32bit [you need both together regardless]
aticfx64 & atidxx64 - dx10 & dx11 64bit [you need both together regardless]
atioglxx - opengl 32bit
atigktxx - [some other part of opengl 32bit]
atiglpxx - [another part of opengl 32bit]

copy the files you require to desktop

create a NEW.txt [Text Document] on desktop and type the following: Example

expand atidxx64.dl_ atidxx64.dll
expand aticfx64.dl_ aticfx64.dll

save and rename the file extension .txt to .bat

next: select New.bat and run as admin

place the unpacked files in the root directory/folder of the application that requires them

atb (all the best)

Law-II
nb: thanks go out to Valken +1
 
Last edited: