• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crysis 3

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,544 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,452
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
This fixes the shitty slow motion grass. Add it to an autoexec.

e_MergedMeshesInstanceDist = 100

After setting it load a save then leave and close the game. For some reason this setting doesn't work right the first time you enter the game with it. You could probably get away with a lower setting (20-50) if you're not picky. Hits the cpu more. That timer app finally does something for me with this.




Trying too hard to find a problem. You can throw an ivy to 5 ghz too.
It's the way he phrases it...Like it is limited to 4.5ghz. It gains more % wise for the same speed I would wager a bet if he retested at 5ghz it would perform better than the ivy at 4.5ghz which is a little more standard for those.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
That's actually what I was referring to more than linear objective gameplay. There's a lot of maps that have the appearance at first of having many possible routes and vantage points to use, only to find they are littered with invisible walls, terrain you can get stuck in, etc.

If you try and play it with any freedom of roaming, it quickly becomes a very clumsy, restrictive feeling game. They may as well just highlight a pathway on the ground and tell you it has to be followed diligently.
Agreed. Im still enjoying it though. Maybe they will update it to get rid of some of the walls :D
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
I have no idea where everyone is saying the game is short. I have close to 5 hours in the game already, and I am only on the 3rd mission out of 7 haha.
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,433 (2.32/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~

About 5.5 hours MP and 5.5 hours SP...
I think I am on the third mission is SP.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,582 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Just under 8 hours on veteran. Really enjoyed it. It was linear but in a very wide corridor to explore kinda linear, so very acceptable for me. Liked the ending, didn't care it wasn't that hard (once you knew what to do).

Will uninstall and maybe come back to it again in a few months, try it with hand to hand only or something.

As for the ending..

I think Crysis 4 could be a peaceful farming sim on that tropical island with Lawrence Barnes trying to keep on top of gophers, lizards and poor soil conditions. He could use his new nano spade and his nano tractor to make it all good.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
or if it's badly optimized
Well it's optimized to run badly; Crytek CEO warned that it would melt our computers, so it's tough to run, that's what many wished.
I write this from a pool of two melted GTX 480's and an overclock i7 3820 at 4.625 mhz :laugh:
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
I'm thoroughly enjoying this game, it's a solid FPS and there's so many weapons it's crazy, I've probably played SP for over 4 hrs, I really hope the game doesn't end soon, as I'm having a lot of fun playing it, the story's a little far fetched but I really love how Psycho has been portrayed so far, he's the star of the game IMO
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
Anyone try messing with FOV yet? Going from 55 to 60 took off 5 fps.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
Guess that's the real reason why consoles have shitty FOV. Going lower gave me a huge boost.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
Guess that's the real reason why consoles have shitty FOV. Going lower gave me a huge boost.
typical with games "supposingly" optimized for PC (actually another console port). I know crysis 3 looks pretty good and all, but it's obvious it has the same problems other console ports have...

Shadows being rendered by the CPU, FOV affecting the FPS a lot because increasing FOV means you can see more objects to load (which guess what?: are rendered by the CPU instead of the GPU) and while you'd think crysis 3 is well optimized because your GPU usage might be high, that's only because they've arranged for some eye candy to eat your GPU (like AA and Post processing and Game effects)... Your GPU is not being used to its full potential...

And if it was, everybody here would have higher FPS in crysis 3, and NOBODY would feel the need to buy a Better Graphics card and that's exactly what they want people to think: "oooh Crysis 3 is a monster, it will eat your PC, you Need better hardware..." lol

that is the reason I'm stuck having to fiddle around, tweaking all the settings, tryin all the tricks I know to keep as much eye candy as I can while staying @ a solid 60fps
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
typical with games "supposingly" optimized for PC (actually another console port). I know crysis 3 looks pretty good and all, but it's obvious it has the same problems other console ports have...

Shadows being rendered by the CPU, FOV affecting the FPS a lot because increasing FOV means you can see more objects to load (which guess what?: are rendered by the CPU instead of the GPU) and while you'd think crysis 3 is well optimized because your GPU usage might be high, that's only because they've arranged for some eye candy to eat your GPU (like AA and Post processing and Game effects)... Your GPU is not being used to its full potential...

And if it was, everybody here would have higher FPS in crysis 3, and NOBODY would feel the need to buy a Better Graphics card and that's exactly what they want people to think: "oooh Crysis 3 is a monster, it will eat your PC, you Need better hardware..." lol

that is the reason I'm stuck having to fiddle around, tweaking all the settings, tryin all the tricks I know to keep as much eye candy as I can while staying @ a solid 60fps
Really......................................tell me more about the obvious

I think its been pretty aware in the last few years that our hardware isn't being used at its fullest, regardless of game. We have the hardware to do a lot more, its the developers that are putting the time or willing to do so.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Just a little trivia on the FOV. According to the Cvar Configurator the CryTek guy from the UK made for the game, that default 60 FOV you're seeing on a 16:9 aspect ratio is actually 60 vertical and 90 horizontal.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
I found the default by typing the command into the console without a number. That's how you find the default for all the settings. The default is 55 in that case, and the max is 80. I've found that cvar configurator to be a little buggy.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,158 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,704
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I found the default by typing the command into the console without a number. That's how you find the default for all the settings. The default is 55 in that case, and the max is 80. I've found that cvar configurator to be a little buggy.
LOL, so you're telling me you know more about Crysis 3 FOV values than a CryTek UK staff merely for using the command console that THEY made? It makes sense that the field of view vertically would be much narrower than the horizontal FOV. They just happen to go by the vert one for some reason.

That's all you're seeing in the console is the vert FOV, not the horizontal. I'm not saying everything CryTek does makes sense, but I trust the guy that made that config tool knows a lot more about how they designate their commands for this game than you.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
It's very simple to confirm his config is incorrect. His config uses the line cl_fov, to which he applied a default value of 60, that exact same line in the console entered into the console spits out a default value of 55. He did not code this element of the game and he's admitted he's been doing trial and error to figure this out just like us. I can't even get his config to apply some of the settings it supposedly controls. You'll get far better results taking things into your own hands and experimenting. A good place to start is MaLDo's configs. I don't like his configurations but it exposes a lot more values to play with than what's in that cvar configurator.
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,433 (2.32/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
Not understanding that. I'm getting 99% on both gpu's. Occasionally one gpu doesn't work but if I alt-tab (had to do that in the past with 2 5850's playing L4D) it brings the second one on straight away.

I'm using 13.2 beta 6 and Origin plus Crysis 3 both patched and up to date.

This worked:toast:
While playing I Alt-Tab out and then back into the game:
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,433 (2.32/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
I will check later. I am off to bed:)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,125 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,207
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Not into this, it's too poor of a port, I have to buy another 480 just to play it. Or a titan. Good lord. Back to world of tanks for me.....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
Another configurator error - the GIcache level actually changes based on the setting level. For very high it's set to zero. Changing it to 7 got me a 2-6 fps increase depending on the spot and I was unable to see the difference (so far.) My config based on the very high starting values:

No visible difference but performance increased:
e_GICache = 7 (from 0)

Visible increase but no or miniscule cost:
e_lodratio = 500 (from 40)
e_viewdistratiovegetation = 500 (from 100)

Visible increase but performance cost:
e_MergedMeshesInstanceDist = 100

Personal preference:
r_ChromaticAberration = 0.0

Given the small number of tweaks you'd think I'd just started, but no. So many options are locked or at optimum values already there's just not as much to play with as in past games.

Edit*
I've been investigating tessellation settings. So far there's only a handful of objects in the entire game this is applied to. A tree and a shrub is all I've been able to confirm. You can turn it off and on using the distance setting e_TessellationMaxDistance and changing it to 0 or anything else. I say mid-range is best, a 20-30 value. Looks good on shrubs up close, but it's bugged on the trees so at the least you can make it not applied to the distant trees. Example of what I mean. You can see the trunk might look better but it eats the vine texture.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2012
Messages
163 (0.08/day)
Likes
9
Location
Italy
Processor I7 920
Motherboard Rampage II Gene
Cooling Liquid
Memory 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD6970
Display(s) 24" LCD 1920X1080
Audio Device(s) X-FI Xtreme Music
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software W7 Ultimate 64BIT
I have a I7 920, I read that this game has better performance by enabling the HT, but if I do that the game only uses 4 threads and the other 4 are not used for anything do you know if there is a way to turn all the threads and if I draw really benefits?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.76/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Is the multiplayer on this game going to survive? I know that Crysis 2 Multiplayer was fairly dead after less than a year and I am really hoping Crysis 3 has what it takes to stick around.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,569 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
This is a bench and tweak simulator not a game, much less a MP game, as one can easily deduce from this thread :)