• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis doesn't push PC to it's limit?!!?

Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.61/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro
Heat = Load, lower load lower heat. If you gpu temp is higher than normal and your cpu temp is lower its because they are being used more/less. duh!

lol, state the bleedin obvious, I KNOW THAT. Im not stupid

Just one would assume that such a high end game would utilise more of both, the GPU and the CPU. I know theGPU is working hard as, but the CPU deffo plays an important role (obvious) and consiquently It would have appeared logical to assume a greater, or high level of useage on the cpu also. I do realise that with ever increasingly powerful GPU's, more burden is placed upon them when playing a game, just didnt realise how much Crysis lobbed at the GPU against the CPU compared to other hi end games
 

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.13/day)
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium

Stryder75

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
97 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 920 @ Stock for now
Motherboard ASrock X58 extreme
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ
Memory 6GB Patriot Viper @ 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Vapor-X @ Stock for now
Storage Patriot Torqx 128 SSD; WD Black 640MB
Display(s) Samsung 245BW 24"
Case Lian Li V1000 plus II
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply TT ToughPower modular 700W
Software Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
After seeing a lot of the demo reviews and reading the forums. It seems that the GPU is the biggest limiting factor right now. But in all that reading, I came across this article--> http://www.shacknews.com/featuredarticle.x?id=639

Here is the main thing that stood out to me:

"Shack: What is the main limiter for Crysis in terms of GPU, CPU, or RAM? If users are near the low end of the requirements, which should they upgrade first?

Cevat Yerli: We would say first CPU, then GPU, then memory. But it must be in balance. If you are balanced, we are more CPU bound then GPU, but at the same time at higher CPU configurations we scale very well for GPUs."


So like many have said, the game is in BETA and by Christmas things should look better.

For me, I ran both benches. @ 1920 x 1200, High all settings, no AA. CPU bench = 25fps GPU bench = 27fps. No overclocks on GPU (RivaTuner not playing well with 169.01 driver) I would expect with GPU overclock I could see 30-35fps. Played the demo in very high first. Looked amazing just couldn't hit the broad side of a barn. Later realized I had AA set to 8x. Turned that off and it was much better, but still not the smoothest.

The 169.01 driver did make a huge difference in the MP beta though. 1920 x 1200, High all settings runs smoothly, around 45fps
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
forget crysis. I had a bad enough experience with Battlefield2142, i'd rather not take my chances. This game runs like piss on my rig, where Orange Box runs Max fps at max graphical settings.

If Crytek had such great CPU written code, then it would actually make use of my CPU during the CPU test.
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
Ok. WTF. I'm rendering a 3D image in Bryce 5. It's a free program for crying out loud. 8000x3000 resolution. All 4 cores of my Q6600 are being used to assist my GPU in the rendering. CRYSIS is fucked. It's terribly coded. It doesn't utilize shit. Keep in mind Bryce 5 is FREE! http://www.daz3d.com
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,809 (2.61/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
Well, I hope that your assumptions treat you well. I think we can take a lot from this demo, but it's like your system. You didn't know how far it was going to OC or perform when you purchased all the components pre-build, you had an idea of how well and maybe a goal or two. That's how I see this demo, it's there, we see it, and have a good idea of how it may be upon official release, but it's not the official release, it's a taste. I don't think assuming that just cause the demo doesn't support 4 cores, that the official game won't, I mean it's getting to be pretty standard that programs that need performance, a lot of CPU power, etc have some kind of SMP support. It'd be a HUGE mistake if they overlooked that IMO.

I will wait until release to make my opinions of the game, but that's cool if you feel that strongly about it, sorry it didn't go your way.

Final note, it plays decent on my rig at 1440x900, but no super hi, no dx10, about 50/50 with hi/medium settings, getting ~26fps avg, and really at that low of FPS I'm impressed how well the game plays, there are some games in this genre that would be annoying or worth losing some visuals just to play it. This game pulls off a good feat by creating a smooth playing, well animated game that doesn't need 60FPS to do a good job. That alone makes this game very impressive, even if it doesn't use my whole system, oh well it's only a demo atm.

I look forward to it's release, as-well-as a few others, I'm sure it will be a good gaming experience for those that enjoy this type of game and know what Crysis has to offer.

:toast:
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.64/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
Ok. WTF. I'm rendering a 3D image in Bryce 5. It's a free program for crying out loud. 8000x3000 resolution. All 4 cores of my Q6600 are being used to assist my GPU in the rendering. CRYSIS is fucked. It's terribly coded. It doesn't utilize shit. Keep in mind Bryce 5 is FREE! http://www.daz3d.com

You really have no idea what you are talking about, plain and simple. The 2900 is not that good of a card in games. That has been proven time and again. It may have 3dm06 records, but it will not top a gtx, gt, or ultra in games consistantly. You are limited by your 2900, hell you could be running a 6300 at stock and you may not even see a performance difference in the demo. If you are hung up on your video card (which you clearly are, yet you do not seem to understand) It does not matter what your cpu is as long as it can tow its weight.

This demo does NOT use much in terms of cpu power. AI, Physics, geometry...thats about all the cpu has to do. When you have a solid dual core, or quad in your case, that is a cakewalk. The gpu on the other hand has, rendering polygons, HDR, AA, AF, reflections, volumetric clouds, post processing effects (aura's metal shine), feild of focus (when you go to sights, and textures. That is a whole lot of shit for a single unit to do, let alone at high settings. Turn half of the extras off and watch your FPS increase two fold. In the mean time, quit whining, get a life, and learn a bit about the games you seem to care so much about.
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
You really have no idea what you are talking about, plain and simple. The 2900 is not that good of a card in games. That has been proven time and again. It may have 3dm06 records, but it will not top a gtx, gt, or ultra in games consistantly.

OK - wtf fanboy??? I never said 2900 was the best card. I said it's ONE OF THE BEST.... and it IS one of the best. It beats my 7950GX2 by quite a bit. The issue here is Crysis - not NVidia or ATI. The game runs like shit on both cards. The game doesn't use multiple cores. The game doesn't use SLI. Get a life, bozo.
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
BTW Kenny. Like I said in my previous post, I was using Bryce 5 to render an 8000x3000 image. It uses Depth of Field (which you tried to explain to me was called field of focus) HDR, AA, AF, Reflections, Volumetric clouds (a fukload of them), post processing effects, a FUCKLOAD of polygons, and Holy mother of god high res textures. If all of that is strictly done by the GPU (like you claim), then why in the hell was my CPU at 100% all four cores?

It's because Bryce was utilizing unused processing power to render the image. My 2900 Doesn't suck whatsoever. It may not consistantly beat 8800s, but it's better than the best non-dx10 card (7950gx2).

I don't know why you pissed me off so much. You're just a cult fanboy nerd running his mouth on the internet. Crysis is fucked. You know it. Many people will agree. You can try to explain to me all you want how it's ok for a CPU benchmark to not get even 1 core passed 70%, but I'll still think you're full of piss.
 

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.14/day)
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
You do know that when you render a picture, you dosent use the gpu? Its pure cpu power =) In a game they can't archive decent speeds with cpu power, so they use a gpu to speed things up =)
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
You do know that when you render a picture, you dosent use the gpu? Its pure cpu power =) In a game they can't archive decent speeds with cpu power, so they use a gpu to speed things up =)

You're being sarcastic.... right? I mean... seriously... you gotta be kidding.... right? No.... seriously.... you don't seriously....

...:wtf:
 

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.14/day)
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
Thats how it works. A render server usualy consist of a lowend gpu with lots and lots of cpu's in it =) The more cpu power, the faster it will render.
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
I think you have Web Servers and Render Farms confused.

http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadroplex_comparison_chart.html

Check the last one.... The S4 Graphics Server... It uses 4 GPUs. These are the kind of things used in making Toy Story type movies.

They don't call them graphics processors for nothing.
 

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.14/day)
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
They are mostly used for CAD. I only know of 2 renders that can use the gpu - Renderman and Gelato. And i dont think your using one of those

Anyway - I think they intended the game to run at about 25-40 fps. So they dont actualy have to use more cpu power and stress the componets more.
 
Last edited:

Richieb0y

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
471 (0.09/day)
Location
The Netherlands Almere
System Name Made by Richieb0y
Processor Intel I7 860 2,8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7P55D
Cooling CrosAir H50
Memory Crosair XMS DDR3 1600Mhz 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6950 2G >>> 6970 [C 880mhz\M 1375mhz]
Storage SSD OCZ Vertex 60GB AHCI + Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16Mb + WD Caviar SE16 250GB 16Mb Raid0
Display(s) 21' Samsung LCD TV/Monitor 1650x1050
Case Cooler Master CM 690 4x 12cm / 2x 12cm Outtake / Titan Slotcooller 8cm
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CorsairTX, 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate E x64
Benchmark Scores 18606 3DMarks06 P18690 3DMarksVantage P4966 3DMarks11
somethings in the demo are not YET supported like Quad SLI i think that the real retail is gona shine and use ur system in its whole
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.61/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro
You really have no idea what you are talking about, plain and simple. The 2900 is not that good of a card in games. That has been proven time and again. It may have 3dm06 records, but it will not top a gtx, gt, or ultra in games consistantly. You are limited by your 2900, hell you could be running a 6300 at stock and you may not even see a performance difference in the demo. If you are hung up on your video card (which you clearly are, yet you do not seem to understand) It does not matter what your cpu is as long as it can tow its weight.

woah.. mate, Ive proven that the 2900 is good at gaming, lol. just look at the fps i was getting compared to those from gtx, ultra. its pretty close to them, and beats the gts. The gtx etx MAY score a few fps more, but stating the 2900 is not that good of a card is idiotic...:roll:

im running 1920x1200, obj detail, tex and something else on v high, rest on high and its playable. even with my shite cpu. So really kenny, plz dont make urself sound silly, as its been proven IT IS a good card, not the best, but once overclocked it rocks
 

Sky

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
133 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 OC 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe
Cooling [CPU]Thermaltake Slient 775D, [GPU]Custom Watercooled
Memory OCZ DDR2 800 2x1GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Storage 250GB Seagate, 80GB IBM
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen @ 1440x900
Case Xcilo A380
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy SE
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700W SLI Certified
Software Windows XP Pro SP2, Windows Vista Business
Helvetica lets just wait for the release dude. i like to see how well it pushes the hardware also.
 
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (1.70/day)
@Helvetica

Please change your tone, I'm not liking your language right now.


As for your argument, you can't compare rendering with a game. And if you really want to do so, check GPU load in Bryce while doing your render, you'll get the same result but the other way around.
 

Helvetica

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP
Memory 2GB DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) HD2900XT
Storage WD 10,000RPM
Display(s) 1920x1200
Audio Device(s) Creative
Power Supply 700w
When I start a render, my 2900's Fan goes full blast. How can I check GPU load?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,895 (0.78/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name HP z800 workstation
Processor Intel Xeon X5687 3,60ghz 12mb cache x2
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling All stock fans replaced with noctua brand fans
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse Vega 56 8gb hbm2
Storage 300gb hdd. 1tb hdd. 240gb ssd OS. 160gb ssd. 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive. 3tb raid 1 hdd
Display(s) AOC display 1080p
Case HP z800 workstation case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP z800 1100 watt
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5&7, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 P18 135. Cinebench 1033. timespy 6151
@Helvetica

Please change your tone, I'm not liking your language right now.


As for your argument, you can't compare rendering with a game. And if you really want to do so, check GPU load in Bryce while doing your render, you'll get the same result but the other way around.

i vote ban :rockout:
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,895 (0.78/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name HP z800 workstation
Processor Intel Xeon X5687 3,60ghz 12mb cache x2
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling All stock fans replaced with noctua brand fans
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse Vega 56 8gb hbm2
Storage 300gb hdd. 1tb hdd. 240gb ssd OS. 160gb ssd. 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive. 3tb raid 1 hdd
Display(s) AOC display 1080p
Case HP z800 workstation case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP z800 1100 watt
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5&7, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 P18 135. Cinebench 1033. timespy 6151
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,278 (0.61/day)
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I9 9900KS @ 5.3Ghz
Motherboard Gagabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Nexxxos Nova 1080 + 360 rad
Memory 32Gb Crucial Balliastix RGB 4.4GHz
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Trio RTX 3090 (Bios and Shunt Modded) 2.17GHz @ 38C
Storage NVME / SSD RAID arrays
Display(s) 38" LG 38GN950-B, 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.6Kw Silverstone
Mouse Roccat Kone EMP
Keyboard Corsair Viper Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro
i vote ban :rockout:

I vote everyone plz calm down. No need to get so angered about a thread on crysis.

*Radiates peaceful go game and chill out vibes
 

d44ve

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
2,520 (0.49/day)
Processor Intel E6600 @ 4.2GHZ Wo0t!
Motherboard ASUS Striker Extreme & eVGA 680i A1
Cooling Phase Change !!
Memory OCZ SLI 1066MHZ (2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTX
Storage Western Digital 320 GB
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Lian-Li V2000
Software Vista Ultimate
you dont have much hair left do you? I bet you have already pulled it all out and about to have your third heart attack
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,108 (3.87/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
i just wanted to put my input into this thread by adding a little quote kk?


Crysis doesn't push PC to it's limit?!!?

O NOES!!!! :eek:
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.64/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w

Thing is morgoth, rendering programs are not programed for FPS for one, just getting it done as fast as possible. They also do not have AI, physics, etc to calculate in rendering. Rendering programs make use of the cpu power as otherwise it would just sit there, and make customers unhappy.

Games such as crysis have cpu tasks that are totally seperate from the gpu side of things. There would be no point in coding to make use of the cpu either, as the average gamer has say a 2.4ghz amd dual core or 1.86ghz c2d. By the time the game finished calculating the cpu only tasks, there would be little time left for helping out the gpu, and thats not even mentioning the latencies involved with it.

Gamers looking for good fps usually go in the order of new gpu, then cpu or ram, then whatever is left. The one commonality is the thought of gpu first. It would be a waste of time and money to code cpu dependent (look at the failure of supreme commander) vs gpu. Few people have the cash for high end quad cores and 8800gtx sli (remember also, they code for stock components) so they will take the route with best performance for most.
 
Top