• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crysis just doesn't want to run at all

Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#1
What am I doing wrong? What ever settings I put on Crysis Warhead I can't get any higher than 25fps. Even on all low and all very high I get 20-25fps which is terrible and unplayable. I am still on my Intel E7200, I have tried 2.5/3.2/3.8/4.2ghz and it runs the same no matter what. I hope when I get my 9750 it plays atleast 30fps but I still want to play it.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
1,125 (0.31/day)
Likes
422
Location
Bitola, Macedonia
System Name Brutus
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @4.42GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2 @ P6X58D Premium
Cooling CoolerMaster Nepton 120XL + CM Nano
Memory Kingston DDR3 1600 (24GB) @1680MHz (9-9-9-24-1T)
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080Ti FE @1631/1538
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 24" S24D300 + 2x LG LED 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Sama Forza Modular 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Cooler Master Devastator II
Keyboard Cooler Master Devastator II
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#2
Ehm, have you tried re-installing the game?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#4
Do you have V-Sync enabled? If you do, then take it off and then put it back on.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#5
Nah I don't need vsync. Should I try turning on and then off again tho?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
475 (0.15/day)
Likes
50
Location
Chicago
#6
I had a similar issue with Warhead on my 3870, which runs the original Crysis without a problem. I have a feeling it is a driver issue because when I stepped up to a GTX 260 in the same system I had no problems whatsoever.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#7
I had a similar issue with Warhead on my 3870, which runs the original Crysis without a problem. I have a feeling it is a driver issue because when I stepped up to a GTX 260 in the same system I had no problems whatsoever.
Original Crysis runs good too.. I remember it running even better on my HD 3850 as well.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#8
I would try the Vsync bug fix anyway. If not turn down your Shader or Shadows setting.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#9
I would try the Vsync bug fix anyway. If not turn down your Shader or Shadows setting.
It runs the same no matter what I do. Even on all the lowest I get 20-25fps. Haven't seen 30fps at all.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#11
have you added your video card to the profile list?
 

Wartz

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2008
Messages
168 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
System Name Triton-XXXV
Processor Phenom II x4 940 3.6ghz 1.42
Motherboard Biostar TFORCE TA790GX A2+
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF
Memory 2 x 2048mb G.Skill PC-6400 @ 800mhz
Video Card(s) Crossfire Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 512mb
Storage 2x Seagate 500gb Sata 3.0gb/s + Seagate 750gb Sata 3.0gb/s
Display(s) Asus 24" 2ms + Viewsonic 19" 3ms
Case Thermaltake midtower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeGamer - Razer Barracuda 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic 650w
Software Windows XP/7
Benchmark Scores Vantage: P13017 3DMarks (Crossfire) 3DMark06: 15349 3DMarks (single GPU)
#12
It runs the same no matter what I do. Even on all the lowest I get 20-25fps. Haven't seen 30fps at all.
CPU bottleneck?

Tho a Phenom should be able to do just fine with crysis.

Edit: Try taking out your soiund card. I had a bitch of a time getting my Audigy 2 to stop causing FPS problems in Vista, so that might be a possibility.

Edit 2: didnt see that you mentioned trying with overclocks, so nvm first line of reply.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#13
I watch the video, you were getting over 50fps at one time, i guess look at the ground or away from the viewpoint, then it drop down to 25. Sometimes 15. I notice that you are playing a i guess ok resolution for 2008, and you have everything max out. But you have a 4870x2 , you should be able to play the game max, and get 50-70fps, maybe or 40-70.

Hey Wartz, i doubt the sound card is a issue. I have a Sound Blaster AE 2 PCI card, i done some testing on games to see if the sound card does decrease performance, i didnt.
Only thing tho, some good advice, when install the drivers for your sound card, only install the drivers. Do not install all that extra crap, so install the drivers only by doing the device manager , find the driver fine. If you install all that extra crap, yea performance will decrease in games.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#14
Do you really think its my sound card? Crysis is the only game that runs bad for me.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#15
ShadowFold, have you tried uninstalling the drivers for the sound, and then reinstall, but only install the drivers and not none of that extra stuff. That extra stuff you install slows down things.

Or you can turn down hardware acceleration for the sound card and try crysis. Also keep everything at stock settings, CPU, GPU. And what is windows 7 , that OS, try removing that and just run the game with Vista Ultimate 32bit.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#16
OK I am uninstalling all traces of sound drivers. I will use the new drivers they came out with a few days ago. The things I have after the /'s are things I am getting later. Windows 7 is going to be the new OS.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#17
Don't know if you've ever tried xp64, but it runs crysis perfect. In fact all my games run better and faster than under xp32 or vista64. And yes, win7 64 is better than all of them, can't wait for it to be final. (yearsssss)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#18
I hated XP 64. Everything ran like crap and it was slow compared to Vista x86.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#19
and 25 fps is A lot (at least if you live here), last week i got mass effect and half an hour ago i finished. Did you know how many times i got 30 fps, other than the cutscenes, NONE, just play it with 25 fps.

PD: i remember something that happened with me in the original crysis, that in the first levels, it was slow but then the system assimilated the game and it ran smooth (at least for me :D)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#20
Bizarre, guess I'm the only one who knows how to tweak xp64 . I have vista64 ultimate installed, vlited, tweaked, it's way faster than vista32, but it truly sucks at performance. I lose like 20% performance in games with it, and on a $500 video card, that's not acceptible..... Edit: and I don't even see 25fps min, and I run at 1920x1200 all high... typical is 30fps to 60fps, warhead starts at 40fps...
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#21
25 is not playable to me. Plus people with 4850's are getting well over 30fps with their cards.

Bizarre, guess I'm the only one who knows how to tweak xp64 . I have vista64 ultimate installed, vlited, tweaked, it's way faster than vista32, but it truly sucks at performance. I lose like 20% performance in games with it, and on a $500 video card, that's not acceptible.....
I don't like tweaking OS's I just let them run. I turned off UAC in Vista, thats about it. Everything ran faster for me in Vista x86 and XP x86. I guess I got a lemon of a xp x64 copy.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#22
I love tweaking, guess thats the diff, and no, my min is 30fps, and I only see that in really full scenes, and I use 4xaa. 8xaa can bring me down to 25, I think I even saw 22 flicker, ugggg! So I'll admit nvidia is weak at aa. I can't play below 30fps. But I have a weaka** athonx2, so I have no idea what this card could really do.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,036 (0.59/day)
Likes
113
Location
Dundalk, Maryland
System Name Xeon 2017
Processor Intel® Xeon® Processor X3360 12M Cache, 2.83 GHz, 1333 MHz
Motherboard Dell Inc. 0200DY (CPU)
Cooling Speed Fan
Memory 4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) Dell 1GB GDDR5 ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL V)
Storage WD 500GB + 465GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0
Display(s) Acer 21inch Monitor LCD
Case Dell Optiplex 780 SFF
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC ATX 430W Power Supply
Mouse Dynex Grey and Black
Keyboard HP Wireless
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#23
So the only game which you have trouble with is Crysis?
If that is so, is your Video card OC, did you OC it, put it back at stock and use the 8.12 drivers. And maybe just don't install CCC and use ATI tray tools.

Do you mind if you post your GPU-Z SHOT?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#24
Uninstalling sound drivers and updating them to the latest gets me to 30-35fps but its still choppy. When ever I turn or zoom in it just lags for like 5 seconds its fkin annoying.
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#25
you sure you don't have any programs running in the background that uses CPU or RAM? you sure you don't have any Spyware or Viruses?