• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crysis on Vista 64 bit

Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
105 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
System Name G.A.M.E.R.
Processor Intel i7 920 DO
Motherboard MSI Platinum SLI X58
Cooling Scythe Mugen II w/ single 120mm (for now)
Memory 6GB OCZ DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460 1GB
Storage 2x 500GB Samsung F2s in RAID 0 (OS) / 2x2TB WD Green(storage)
Display(s) 24" Acer HDMI P241w
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 650
Software Windows 7 64
#1
I've tried installing twice now; Crysis will not start because of a DX10 issue of sorts. I've Googled the problem but can't seem to figure it out. I've got the latest beta drivers for my 8800GT (175.12) I need to figure this out!
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.92/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Does it launch in DX9 mode?

Go to games in start menu, right click crysis, and click launch DX9.
If Crysis isn't there, create a shortcut to it an add " -DX9" in the target box in properties

I prefer to play in DX9 mode anyway because you get a much better FPS.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3
Do you have the latest Direct X installed?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
he says the game wont INSTALL. not that it wotn run.

edit: nevermind, misread.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.92/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#5
he says the game wont INSTALL. not that it wotn run.
He says it wont start due to a DX10 issue, maybe launching it in DX9 mode will work?

Anyway, have you also upated DirectX?
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.35/day)
Likes
81
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
#6
Same problem, but I had it with the GTS. I installed the patches up to 1.2 & I finally got the game to load under DX10. However it crashes when I try to start a game. Its just another vista 64 bug. I had the same problem with other games as well. I ended up giving up on vista 64 & going back to vista 32. I really wanted to test 8gb of ram too.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
105 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
System Name G.A.M.E.R.
Processor Intel i7 920 DO
Motherboard MSI Platinum SLI X58
Cooling Scythe Mugen II w/ single 120mm (for now)
Memory 6GB OCZ DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460 1GB
Storage 2x 500GB Samsung F2s in RAID 0 (OS) / 2x2TB WD Green(storage)
Display(s) 24" Acer HDMI P241w
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 650
Software Windows 7 64
#7
I'll try that. First I need to reinstall it though. (3rd time today). Let you know as soon as I'm done....
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
105 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
System Name G.A.M.E.R.
Processor Intel i7 920 DO
Motherboard MSI Platinum SLI X58
Cooling Scythe Mugen II w/ single 120mm (for now)
Memory 6GB OCZ DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460 1GB
Storage 2x 500GB Samsung F2s in RAID 0 (OS) / 2x2TB WD Green(storage)
Display(s) 24" Acer HDMI P241w
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 650
Software Windows 7 64
#8
got it..

got it to work finally. guess the 3rd times' a charm. runs MUCH better on 64 bit with 4 gigs of ram than on 32 bit with 2 gigs.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.45/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#9
i have vista64 and crysis runs fine on it or me...makes sure you have all possible updates for windows, crysis and latest drivers.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
i have vista64 and crysis runs fine on it or me...makes sure you have all possible updates for windows, crysis and latest drivers.
the post directly before yours indicates the problem has been solved.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.45/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#11
ha i saw that right after i posted...guess i wasnt fast enough...glad to see he got it working though!