• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Crysis Performance issues

Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2 Nforce 570 SLI
Memory 4GB Kingmax DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD4870 512MB 256Bit
Display(s) 19" Samsung Widescreen
Case X-Blade Extreme
Power Supply I-Sonic 600Watt PSU
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit
#1
Hi there, im guessing that someone already posted a thread about this topic,but i just wanted some quick feeback.

Well, we have probably all watched the Crysis previews, and heard about the hype, but I just want to know if any other people are getting the same performance issues that im getting.

Im running an AMD 64 AM2 X2 Dual Core 4400+
4GB Kingmax DDR2 800 Ram
Gigabyte SLI Nforce 570 Motherboard
Nvidia Geforce XFX 8800 GTS 320MB
Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit
And in comparrison with COD 4 wich i can run smooth on 1280x1024 on absolutely everything on highest and it looks amazing, im currently running Crysis on 1024x768 and with everything on High, i get around 24-32 frames, on Medium Im running around 32-40fps
wich does not seem right,I mean ffs, after all the jaw dropping visuals that this game showed us in the previews, I really don't feel like spending a fortune on 2x 8800GTX or Ultras on SLI just to run it as pretty as the Previews,or Pictures.

Anyone else getting slow frame rates, and are my specs good enough to run this game on high settings at decent frame rates, or should i consider upgrading when I only get around 32frams Max on high settings, or is there an upcoming patch that will sort out this problem, hopefully someone can provide me with some feeback, as im really not happy about buying the collecters addition, and having to play everything on medium. I mean yes,the game is good,but after all the previews/pics, and being able to run anything(other than Crysis) thats on the market at Full without low fps, I really expected to get some pretty visuals+great gameplay and nice framerates to go along with it.
 

Rob!

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
157 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
East Taunton, MA, USA
System Name iMac \\ Macbook
Processor Core2Duo 2.4GHz \\ Core Duo 1.83GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2-667 \\ 2GB DDR2-667
Video Card(s) Radeon HD2600 Mobile \\ Intel GMA950 :(
Storage 320GB \\ 120GB \\ 500GB backup
Display(s) 20" 16:10 \\ 13.3" 16:10
Case Aluminum iMac \\ white Macbook
Software OSX 10.5 \\ OSX 10.5 & Windows XP Pro
#2
Everyone gets slower frame rates than other games. Just look at some reviews, even with super high end systems it's not running at high frames.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#3
You main setback is your cpu, but even my system only gets 27FPS in the demo at 1680x1050 max.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#4
Hi there, im guessing that someone already posted a thread about this topic,but i just wanted some quick feeback.

Well, we have probably all watched the Crysis previews, and heard about the hype, but I just want to know if any other people are getting the same performance issues that im getting.

Im running an AMD 64 AM2 X2 Dual Core 4400+
4GB Kingmax DDR2 800 Ram
Gigabyte SLI Nforce 570 Motherboard
Nvidia Geforce XFX 8800 GTS 320MB
Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit
And in comparrison with COD 4 wich i can run smooth on 1280x1024 on absolutely everything on highest and it looks amazing, im currently running Crysis on 1024x768 and with everything on High, i get around 24-32 frames, on Medium Im running around 32-40fps
wich does not seem right,I mean ffs, after all the jaw dropping visuals that this game showed us in the previews, I really don't feel like spending a fortune on 2x 8800GTX or Ultras on SLI just to run it as pretty as the Previews,or Pictures.

Anyone else getting slow frame rates, and are my specs good enough to run this game on high settings at decent frame rates, or should i consider upgrading when I only get around 32frams Max on high settings, or is there an upcoming patch that will sort out this problem, hopefully someone can provide me with some feeback, as im really not happy about buying the collecters addition, and having to play everything on medium. I mean yes,the game is good,but after all the previews/pics, and being able to run anything(other than Crysis) thats on the market at Full without low fps, I really expected to get some pretty visuals+great gameplay and nice framerates to go along with it.
Crysis is a power hungry bitch of a game! Your CPU is the main thing holding you back (I would even go as far to say that its bottlenecking your GPU).

Have you tried overclocking your CPU & graphics card?

PS: Vista Ultimate may be holding you back also :( You should try Vista Home Premium ;)
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.61/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#5
I run the game at 1280x1024 all high with sunshafts turned on. Did you try running the game in DX9 mode(that helped me gain smoothness). You just right click the shortcut and click "PlayDX9". Im not sure if it will help as you have a Nvidia card....but it might.

PS: I get like 21+ FPS.....and its playable for me
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#6
Please read the 4th post provided by the admin of Crysis forums:
4th post

Does anyone need to say any more?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#7
^^ Agrees.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#8
Im just hoping the performance patch will sort out some of the issues some people are getting. The main one for me is sorting it out so I can run both of my cards with Crysis :(
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#9
could be your cpu hlding you back a little bit but its just one of those games that kills gaming rigs :mad: just got it 2 days ago, looks awesome and plays alright 35fps+ most of the time on high settings 1440x900 on my main rig which im extremely happy with as it looks so damn nice i think the foliage (sp?) looks absolutely awesome even better looking than oblivion
 

goober

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
10
Location
Florida
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI
Memory 8 GB Mushkin
Video Card(s) Nvidia 560ti
Storage Seagate 1TB, Seagate 320GB
Display(s) 25" Hannspree 1920x1080 and 22" LG 1680x1050
Case Cooler Master
Power Supply 750 Watt Corsair
Software Windows 8 Pro NFR
#10
I know this is a noob question but how do you know your FPS in game. What do you use FRAPS?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2 Nforce 570 SLI
Memory 4GB Kingmax DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD4870 512MB 256Bit
Display(s) 19" Samsung Widescreen
Case X-Blade Extreme
Power Supply I-Sonic 600Watt PSU
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit
#11
Fraps, nope. I dl'd a config that allows you to see your ingame res, frames, etc. I may be wrong,but i think that the console command is r_displayinfo = 1 or something. Thanks for the posts, just wanted to add that just cuz of some of the CPU specs(as i work in a pc shop) I tried out a Fresh installation of Vista today with a brand spanking new AMD64 X2 AM2 6000+ with that nice little cooler it comes with,and latest Nvidia Drivers think its 169.12
and still get the same frame rates, so me finks that if going from a 4400+ to a 6000+ makes no dif in frame rates, they had better get patching imo.