• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

crysis X64 any benefit ?

Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.66/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#1
is there any benefit in running crysis in x64 mode as opposed to 32bit ? i know in theory there should be but whats the difference in real life ? any comparisons etc ?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,374 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,277
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
i gained like 2-5fps.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.66/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#3
i gained like 2-5fps.
that could be cruicial in crysis lol, oh well if theres no downpoint to running x64 then i might aswell cause i can thanks solaris
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,374 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,277
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
np man go for i also noticed in places were i didnt gain fps they were more stable didnt low-high as much
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.66/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#5
is the "Benchmark_GPU" accurate as when i select "optimal settings" it sets everything to medium with those settings i get an average 55-58fps in the benchmark and when i set all settings turned to "high" average was 38fps ? so can i exppect in game reults similar to those fps ? would you reccomend i run it in high ?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,374 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,277
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
you can try it the fps will hover around the 38 range but ina fire fight or the end of the game your fps will plummit.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.66/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#7
you can try it the fps will hover around the 38 range but ina fire fight or the end of the game your fps will plummit.
any idea which things i could turn down but keeping most things on high just to run a bit smoother in heavy fighting etc ? ill probably turn shadows to medium, any others i could without losing much eye candy ?

thanks again solaris btw ;)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,374 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,277
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
post processing will give you a jump in FPS and or motion blur (i cant remember if their are 2 diff settings or if motion blur and post processing r the same thing) any way i turn that off. with those and shadows on med you sholdnt notice much of a drop at all and youll be able to keep high settings
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.85/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#10
you can try it the fps will hover around the 38 range but ina fire fight or the end of the game your fps will plummit.
He's right, at the end of the game I was only getting like 28fps on very high, no aa, 1200*880.
But for the x64 vs x32 I'm sure it's just a different optimization for the game (Granted I've never played it x32) because the way I understand things your os would just be running the game in 32bit mode instead of the native x64... I'm probably wrong though.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#11
I get better FPS with 32bit XP than I did with 64 bit Vista

(specs under my username)
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.24/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
I got lower max FPS, but they are more stable in x64 than x86.

And if you run x86 on an x64 OS, you are running an emulator underneath it. Granted, the SYSWow64 emulator is invisible, but it's still better to run at the native bits of your OS.
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#13
I got lower max FPS, but they are more stable in x64 than x86.

And if you run x86 on an x64 OS, you are running an emulator underneath it. Granted, the SYSWow64 emulator is invisible, but it's still better to run at the native bits of your OS.
Thankfully the x86-64 technology that AMD developed means that you don't lose any performance by running 32-bit applications on a 64-bit OS. In most cases, performance can even increase by a small percentage.

In all, the difference is negligible between the two. You'll be able to take advantage of 4GB RAM or more. You'll be able to use 64-bit applications as they become more available. You will also benefit from lack of fear of most viruses out there as they were encoded in 16 or 32-bit. A 32-bit virus cannot infect a 64-bit OS. A 16-bit virus? Forget about it.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#14
Thankfully the x86-64 technology that AMD developed means that you don't lose any performance by running 32-bit applications on a 64-bit OS. In most cases, performance can even increase by a small percentage.

In all, the difference is negligible between the two. You'll be able to take advantage of 4GB RAM or more. You'll be able to use 64-bit applications as they become more available. You will also benefit from lack of fear of most viruses out there as they were encoded in 16 or 32-bit. A 32-bit virus cannot infect a 64-bit OS. A 16-bit virus? Forget about it.
Is this actually true?

Wow.. never heard of that before!
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.24/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
Is this actually true?

Wow.. never heard of that before!
Yup, a 32-bit virus can only affect the 32-bit parts of the Operating system.

32-bit is incompatible with 64-bit, that's why all 64-bit OS's have a 32-bit emulator (SYSWow64 in Windows case), but it's invisible to the user.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#16
Yup, a 32-bit virus can only affect the 32-bit parts of the Operating system.

32-bit is incompatible with 64-bit, that's why all 64-bit OS's have a 32-bit emulator (SYSWow64 in Windows case), but it's invisible to the user.

Cool, thanks
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#17

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.09/day)
Likes
21
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
#18
Check out the link in my signature (now) for more info. :D
hmm.. interesting, thanks.

I had 64 bit Vista but had to leave it behind because of issues with SATA/RAID drivers. Back to 32 bit XP for now
 

antzen

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2005
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
Location
Dresden, Germany
System Name de kiste
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+
Motherboard MSI K9A Platinum
Cooling Zalman Reserator (blue)
Memory 4x 1GB OCZ DDR2 Crossfire Edition
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD3870 X2
Storage 4x Samsung SATA (900GB)
Display(s) LG L227WT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 530W
Software Win XP SP3 / Win Vista Ultimate x64 SP1
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=5674171
#19
I get better FPS with 32bit XP than I did with 64 bit Vista

(specs under my username)
same here. the difference is huge.

edit: the DX9-version under Vista 64 runs fine like under XP 32. but DX10 totally sux ...
 
Last edited:

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#20
I had 64 bit Vista but had to leave it behind because of issues with SATA/RAID drivers. Back to 32 bit XP for now
RAID is overrated anyway for onboard. I've never seen a significant performance boost using it at all (past or present).

same here. the difference is huge.

edit: the DX9-version under Vista 64 runs fine like under XP 32. but DX10 totally sux ...
DX10 doesn't suck, it's hardware that cannot push it that causes performance drop. Crysis runs as smooth in Vista 32/64 as it did in Windows XP for me.