• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CSS, Video Stress Test Problems

Joined
Mar 15, 2005
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
When i first run the stress test, the 5 different rectangular textures that are meant to be roatating (at the start) are all replaced with ERROR written in big red block letters. This happens on what ever settings im running, I've got the latest drivers...Im running a Nvidia 6600gt clocked at 572/1100, and amd sempron 2400+ (at 1.8ghz), 512 drr400 ram, 80 gb 7200rpm segate hdd and an abit nf7 mobo.....any idea on how to fix this?
 

ReconCX

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
400 (0.08/day)
Likes
1
Location
California
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws 16GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 480
Storage Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD x2
Display(s) ASUS VH242H 23.6"
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Trooper
Power Supply COOLER MASTER Silent Pro 700W
Software Microsoft® Windows 8 Professional
#2
not enough juice from your PSU. did you plug in the required auxilary adapter? NV says you need a 300W psu minimum but you really need at least a 350W, and that has to be a really good one. you need at least a 12V@15A rail too... anything over 20A is preferred.

I got that error when running my 6800LE without the additional power. the new NV drivers don't seem to care that the card isn't getting enough power anymore and don't pop up that annoying message.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#4
I get this problem too on all of my machines. They worked before. So it can't be anything to do with specs. I have both nvidia and ati cards doing it. I think it has something to do with file of css since I am using it on all my pcs since i only have 56k and can't afford to delete it.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#6
I notice you have x800 pro, hard modded to what ? to pro or xt?
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2004
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Perth, Western Australia
#7
It's an X800 Pro that I hard modded to unlock the extra 4 pipelines. It's still running with a Pro bios (ATI X800 Pro, to be precise) because it's not a VIVO. Whenever I tried to use an X800 XT or XT PE bios, it kept crashing because it was trying to install VIVO drivers (I know this would happen, but I gave it a crack anyway).
 
N

nightelf84

Guest
#8
Valve has decided to disable the built in Stress Test in CS:Source for the time being. WHich is why you get those ERRORs. Wait for the next update and see if Valve decides to enable it again. Nothing wront with your system or the game itself.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#9
Does it run hotter with 16p in comparsion to 12?
Thanks.
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.53/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#10
No, just a lot faster. :D Pipelines make a much bigger difference than overclocking does.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#11
My brother just sold his x800 pro pcie, it had a passive cooler on it. He got to 5800 in 3dmark 05. To get any higher he would have had to oc even more, since i told him not to try hard modding since he has no experience in it. What score do you get with 16p
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.53/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#12
I get about 6,000 at 526/573. However, that 200pts could just be becuase of CPU/RAM as well.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#13
I don't think the cpu has any ability to push up the result in 3dmark05, it can limit it but my bro's machine was a 4Ghz(3.4ghz s775) pcie 925x with ddr600 mode ram which is actually capable of more (the corsair ones with the leds that show the usage levels), he is younger than me but he has a better pc than me, so clearly I am quite jealous.
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.53/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#14
CPU does play a part in 3dMark, but it is very little.