• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ctrl Alt Del, Vista

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.22/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#26
The whole Ctrl+Shift+Esc should be used to get that crazy screen with those options and Ctrl+Alt+Del should bring up TM.
Depends on whether you have the Welcome Screen, or the Domain Logon screen at boot up.
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#27
The whole Ctrl+Shift+Esc should be used to get that crazy screen with those options and Ctrl+Alt+Del should bring up TM.
On a domain you won't get Task Manager when you hit Ctrl+Alt+Del. You get a crazy screen with a bunch of options.

Ctrl+Shift+Esc has always brought up just the Task Manager, even back to Windows XP days. You just weren't aware of it. ;)

Go ahead, try it in Windows XP too.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.55/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#28
I find Vista Lacking on my wifes Laptop. Its pretty neat, but its not as fast on her laptop which is pretty new (HP DV2610). Its awesome that it has media center built into it. However, on hanging programs, it tends to hang to close them down. I do love that it can restart a program for you. Now that Ive updated her lappy to SP1 it seems a bit smoother and more stable.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,490 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,212
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#29
IMHO general laptops arent fast enough to run Vista.
 
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
490 (0.14/day)
Likes
29
#30
Do you remember what happened when OSX came out? None of Macs software worked, but people didn't complain about like they do with Vista.

I'll admit, when Vista first released, I had many issues, but that was mostly because NVidia or Creative didn't release Vista drivers until later. They were all unstable, old beta drivers. Now my PC runs better than any I've ever pwned.

I did get a red screen of death once tho. I ran Crysis demo at 1920x1200 Max graphics with 2900xt and a q6600. Bad idea. 1fps for a few min then.... BOOM~!
ah but apple included a way to run older apps on osx, you could install os7/8/9 on a virtual install to give you the ability to run those apps, go check it out, ms SHOULD do something simlar to this for windows 7, not drop all past apps, but cut out lagacy app support as a default componant, apps like windows nt3/4, and 9x/dos apps, 2k,xp,2k3/vista are all in the same family and based on the same root core, so supporting those apps shouldnt be a big problem or cause perf or stab problems.

as to your assertion that vista is better because it lets task manager run no matter what, try having nvidia drivers go into "recovery" mode, it will lock on most any game/app that causes the drivers to trigger recovery mode, this is true in ALL windows versions, and task manager at times will show 100% cpu use by that app once you manage to get it open.

server 2003 and x64pro both will give task manager precedence over hung apps, and just like vista, it make take a few seconds for task manager to show up, OR you may be forced to just wait for gpu recovery to....well recover if its nvidia( ati's recovery tends to go smoother in my exp)

as to other hangs, i used vista for a solid month and really really tryed to like it, ms gave me vista ultimate, i just couldnt get past all the buggs and lack of what i consider polish.

xp was bad when it came out, but at least IMHO it was more polished then vista, and 2k, when it came out the only ppl who cryed it sucked where those who eather didnt have compatable hardware OR who didnt have enought ram, other then that 2k was a godsend, it worked just as well or better for gaming and work as my dual boot 98se and nt4( 98se=toy os....no good for working on important projects) when i got ahold of 2k, i started checking, only thing i had in any of my systems that i couldnt get decent drivers for was the rage128 videocard(back then ati's driver support for anything but 98 was abizmal)

XP was and still in my book is just patched beta ware, where server 2003 and x64pro are what xp SHOULD HAVE BEEN, and WOULD HAVE BEEN had ms given them the time to finnish getting xp to the state where it was server stable, but, alas, ms likes to push things out early, so we got xp with lots of buggs insted of 2003 with very few.

I use to be an ms beta tester, i beta'd ME,nt5/2k(started being called nt5 then name changed to 2k), xp, 2003, in all those experiances, i would put 2k and 2k3 as the best experiances, 2k early on was buggy as hell, but they where working out a new driver model and getting down the basick system manager vs the old skool nt3/4 management software(ewww) xp, in beta was horrible, unstable, unreliable, and alot of errors atributed back to the theming services, system restore and other noob babysitting services.

vista, well i tryed it in beta a few times, then the open beta, dispite not being in the beta i ofcorse can get ahold of them( lost my os beta access because i was offline during signup for a few betas ms offered me)

vistas task manager is just that of server 2003( and x64pro since its just server 2003 x64 in pro mode)

guess it could be worse, you could be bragging about how great noobuntu :p
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#31
I find Vista Lacking on my wifes Laptop. Its pretty neat, but its not as fast on her laptop which is pretty new (HP DV2610). Its awesome that it has media center built into it. However, on hanging programs, it tends to hang to close them down. I do love that it can restart a program for you. Now that Ive updated her lappy to SP1 it seems a bit smoother and more stable.
Yeah, SP1 resolved a LOT of issues that Vista had.

IMHO general laptops arent fast enough to run Vista.
So a 2.6GHz Core 2 Duo with 2GB DDR2-667 on a laptop isn't fast enough?

Vista ran perfectly fine on my Dell Latitude D400 which has a 1.8GHz Pentium M and 2GB DDR333. The only reason I don't run it is because SpeedStep didn't work at all even though it was enabled in the BIOS. I can't have a laptop running full speed all the time. Gets too hot and battery doesn't last for crap.

But it ran smooth and without any problems either.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.93/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#32
I disagree. It may be fast for closing less resource processes but not for processes taking 1GB RAM or up. Once I got BSOD for clicking the termination thing.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.95/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#33
where is windows key + u + u?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.11/day)
Likes
12
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
#34
I don't know how my friend did it but he has different shortcut keys
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497 (0.13/day)
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#35
That's great that you think Vista sucks balls. I've never had any problems... but then again my PC isn't a POS. Runs extremely smooth. Better than XP. I love this os! Plus, it looks neat.:toast:
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,490 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,212
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#36
Yeah, SP1 resolved a LOT of issues that Vista had.



So a 2.6GHz Core 2 Duo with 2GB DDR2-667 on a laptop isn't fast enough?

Vista ran perfectly fine on my Dell Latitude D400 which has a 1.8GHz Pentium M and 2GB DDR333. The only reason I don't run it is because SpeedStep didn't work at all even though it was enabled in the BIOS. I can't have a laptop running full speed all the time. Gets too hot and battery doesn't last for crap.

But it ran smooth and without any problems either.
Every laptop I have seen have always had low end C2D's and run the OS like shit. It may be however, the fact that they dont put decent size hdd's in them either.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,414 (3.95/day)
Likes
4,824
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#37
That's great that you think Vista sucks balls. I've never had any problems... but then again my PC isn't a POS. Runs extremely smooth. Better than XP. I love this os! Plus, it looks neat.:toast:

I guess my PC sucks too. everyone to there own. BUT becouse i do not like Vista more and gives me more issue's than XP x64.

Saying Vista sucks balls is not the right way or right to say. And some people just hate change which i cannot blame them when there's talk of stuff like DRM.

Maybe i need to buy a comp as good as yours YEAH RIGHT. As i believe i said in the post before people just have to wait till all \ more \ most bugs are fixed. Funny though installing SP1 in Vista gives more problems than not installing it.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,490 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,212
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#38
That's great that you think Vista sucks balls. I've never had any problems... but then again my PC isn't a POS. Runs extremely smooth. Better than XP. I love this os! Plus, it looks neat.:toast:
He doesnt show system specs either.

And he calls Ubuntu noobuntu. :shadedshu
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,414 (3.95/day)
Likes
4,824
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#39
He doesnt show system specs either.

And he calls Ubuntu noobuntu. :shadedshu
Which to me how can he call is comp pos when he don't even know the guys specs lol.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.55/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#40
Well of course, she only has 1 gb of DDR2667 memory and about 128 of that is reserved for Video.
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#41
Every laptop I have seen have always had low end C2D's and run the OS like shit. It may be however, the fact that they dont put decent size hdd's in them either.
Like I said, my 1.8GHz Pentium M handled Vista fine. I've also used a Latitude D430 at work which has a 1.2GHz Core 2 Duo and it ran without problems as well.

Even an 80GB hard drive is fine for using Vista on a laptop plus installing any applications. Don't expect to store tons of music and video on it though. That's what external hard drives are for though.

Not sure what your points are as they don't reflect truth on laptops not being able to handle Vista. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
490 (0.14/day)
Likes
29
#42
That's great that you think Vista sucks balls. I've never had any problems... but then again my PC isn't a POS. Runs extremely smooth. Better than XP. I love this os! Plus, it looks neat.:toast:
i love how fanboi's alwase resport to insisting that somebodys puter must suck when they say an os sucks or runs worse then the fanboi's choice. real mature.

He doesnt show system specs either.

And he calls Ubuntu noobuntu. :shadedshu
yeah, and noobuntu is the proper name, its a crappy distro of linux pandering to the lowist common denominator among user base, it runs like crap compared to other *nix flavors, really noobuntu is the vista of linux os's its made for the retarded masses to make themselves feel leet because they can use linux......

i have linux on a couple boxes, i dont brag about it unlike many noobuntu users, because linux is just another os, good for some stuff bad for others, but unlike other os's linux is full or twats who think they are kool because they can install and run a noobie distro like
noobuntu or linspire or manderva..........real users dont run around pretending that the use of an os makes them kool, specly when if they ever fell to the command line they would be totaly lost and endup crying b4 they reinstalled.......i dont have that problem, i know my way around command line in dos/linux/os2 and a few other os's, not that i know every command, but i know the ones needed to unbreak a system ;)

now as to specs,

2gz@2.6gz athlon64 x2
Biostar TA770 A2+
4gb ddr2-800@1022 (wintek ampx 2x2gb kit)
4 hdd's
2 burners
x1900xtx(8800gt under RMA)

yeah so im not on core2, but im far from "shitty" by anybody but an intel elitist twats point of view.

my next upgrade will be a 4*50e cpu, to hold me over till the 45nm k10 dual, tri and quads come out, funny how people like you 2 will diss somebodys system or their skills or their intelegence when they dissagree with you, oh and how you will diss somebody elses prefered version of windows, because you yourself eather had no or very little experiance with it and only go by what you have read/heard other fools say.......

Dangle, you lost all crediblilty with me when you said that all librals are nazi's........what a crock of shit....
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.84/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#43
2k early on was buggy as hell, but they where working out a new driver model and getting down the basick system manager vs the old skool nt3/4 management software(ewww)
Well, you make a lot of points, that are true for your experiences. None of those are true for me, well except XP x64 being rock stable, but then again, so has been Vista x64 for me. 2k3 was stable, but a general PITA to setup and use. Not to mention the crap you gotta go thru to install some apps, even ones from MS themselves, like WMP 11 (which I never could get to work, no matter how hard I tried). I wouldn't recommend 2k3 to many people at all for desktop use. I do like XP x64, but it's a bit redundant anymore with Vista x64 out there.

Anyway, back to what I quoted, you just defended 2k for being buggy at first because of a new driver model, but that's exactly why Vista has been unstable for many people.
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#44
Anyway, back to what I quoted, you just defended 2k for being buggy at first because of a new driver model, but that's exactly why Vista has been unstable for many people.
Microsoft doesn't make the drivers. It's not a Vista problem.
 
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
490 (0.14/day)
Likes
29
#45
Well, you make a lot of points, that are true for your experiences. None of those are true for me, well except XP x64 being rock stable, but then again, so has been Vista x64 for me. 2k3 was stable, but a general PITA to setup and use. Not to mention the crap you gotta go thru to install some apps, even ones from MS themselves, like WMP 11 (which I never could get to work, no matter how hard I tried). I wouldn't recommend 2k3 to many people at all for desktop use. I do like XP x64, but it's a bit redundant anymore with Vista x64 out there.

Anyway, back to what I quoted, you just defended 2k for being buggy at first because of a new driver model, but that's exactly why Vista has been unstable for many people.
no, thats not what i said, in the beta the drivers where buggy because they had full changed the driver model, by RTM i had ZERO driver issues with any common hardware i had, and even a good number of weird oddball devices worked fine, you just had to find the driver, in the beta device makers acctualy spent time making drivers and got good feedback from ms beta testers, vista i dont know, but my guess is that eather ms didnt do a good enought job, or hardware makers didnt want to support vista, eather way, this is ms's fault, they made the os, they made the driver model.

and 2k3, you must really not be good at googleing or following guides, i found all of maby 8 apps that wouldnt install by default and all of them where pretty much CAKE to get working, plenty of guides of what to edit, and orca is easy to get.

same apps have issues with x64pro(xp 64) and vista mind you, wana know why, because they are set to only work on nt500,501 and not 502(5.0 and 5.1 work, 5.2 and newer arent in the supported list, and as such dont work by default)

as to wmp11, it wasnt hard to get working, i found 10+ guides on how to get it working, mind you i know where to look and how to google for that stuff, it sometimes takes swaping words around many times to get the proper combo for it to give you the results you want.

best places to look for info on 2k3 as a workstation, msfn and neowin to a lesser extent, that or just ask me, im quite skilled dealing with it, and its not hard, my buddy rod whos below the avg skill level of a tech forums user has no problem setting up and configuaring 2003 to run games and apps, if he hits an app he cant get to install, he asks and i eather tell him how to fix it, or i fix it for him, or in 2 rare cases, i just gave him better choices(stupid online desktop games he wanted to play with his gf who lives down here(5hrs away from where he moved to take care of his ageing mother), the ones she found didnt support anything bug xp, and tho there where fixes for this, i had a ready list of better places to get the same kinda games, such as yahoo :)

basickly i feel that ms shouldnt have put vista out RTM till it had 1/2 decent driver support and they had made sure that at least the majority of common apps worked, like say adoby acrobat reader!!!!!!!(that was one app that would just crash or lock up vista when it first came out......how can you not assure that acrobat will work......its only the most common app used by buisness to swap information.........)

like is said, i have tryed vista, and its not the gui that bothers me, its the fact that its so damn buggy and requiered far more fucking around to get apps installed/working then even server 2003 did for me.

now WileE may have had no problems, but he breaks stuff all the time so how long does his typical windows install last? ;)
 
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
490 (0.14/day)
Likes
29
#46
Microsoft doesn't make the drivers. It's not a Vista problem.
acctualy ms and vista are part of the problem, its what happens when you rush out a product without enought testing and debuging with hardware makers, had they waited another year, till server 2008 was ready, kept vista as an open beta, then started selling it once it had matured, MORE people would have bought it,because they would have been addicted to it, AND would have been getting an already matured and debuted product.....as it is they put vista out in at best a beta1 or 2 stage, and expected 3rd party program and driver makers to fix their mistakes...........

saying its all a 3rd partys fault or all other companys fault is like saying that its not ms's fault that they leaft the hole the blaster bugg exploited open, dispite years of security experts warrning ms about it....or like saying its not dangels fault that he called librals nazi's.....
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,567 (10.05/day)
Likes
18,330
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#47
This thread spews nothing but argumentative garbage, starting from the original post onwards. I've had enough of people reporting garbage posts from this thread made of filth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.