• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

D5 Pump issues with PWM

Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
4 (0.67/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey all,

So I recently rebuilt my loop with a new pump/res combo because the old one started to get some really bad whining/noisey. It was 5 years old, I'm happy for what I got out of it, time to move on.

So I installed this EKWB D5 pump/res combo correctly according to the manual, and it still doesn't seem to work right. The green/blue cables connected to the motherboard W_PUMP+ header, set to PWM mode and 100% duty cycle for min, med and max. The Molex is connected. The pump moves water, but its a trickle. I have no idea if this is a pump issue or not, because both the pump and motherboard are brand new. ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING, plus EK-DBAY D5 PWM MX pump/res combo.

Anyone have experience with these have any suggestions? I want to get to overclocking but I am not sure how to get this loop bled and running right. I've also already opened cases with Asus and EKWB, both of them pointing at the other for the root cause, so no help there sadly. ASUS says the pump is clearly faulty, EKWB says the pump clearly isn't getting 5v on the PWM line for 100% duty. It's a nightmare.

Thanks!

https://photos.app.goo.gl/hyV3fAY58Yba6xp1A

The video file is too large to post directly, but here's a clip showing the trickle and the res/pump motion.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,225 (0.51/day)
Likes
906
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/Backup/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.9/X5650@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Asus P6TD Deluxe/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Coolermaster TPC-800/Antec C40
Memory HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Corsair Vengeance 10GB/Crucial Balistix Tactical 4GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 FE/GTX 690/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/OCZ Trion 100/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c + Asus VC239H + Sammy T200/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Aerocool Aero-500/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX+SMSL SA50(Tannoy F1)/AMD HD/ Intel HD Audio+ Logi Z323
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair TX650/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit
#2
have you tried tipping your PC? Looks like you've still got air in your loop.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
4 (0.67/day)
Likes
0
#3
I'm running this with the res top open, tipping it and shaking it best I can, but there is simply not enough power. The pump is not sending water through like any previous pump I have ever had.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,225 (0.51/day)
Likes
906
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/Backup/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.9/X5650@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Asus P6TD Deluxe/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Coolermaster TPC-800/Antec C40
Memory HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Corsair Vengeance 10GB/Crucial Balistix Tactical 4GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 FE/GTX 690/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/OCZ Trion 100/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c + Asus VC239H + Sammy T200/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Aerocool Aero-500/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX+SMSL SA50(Tannoy F1)/AMD HD/ Intel HD Audio+ Logi Z323
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair TX650/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit
#4
are there two plugs on the pump? one is a molex connector and the other is a 4pin pwm? if it is, disconnect the 4 pin and leave the molex in, that will make it run at max speed.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
4 (0.67/day)
Likes
0
#5
I've tried disconnecting the PWN 4 pin from the motherboard, as well as changing it to DC and Auto modes. No changes. Still just a trickle everywhere.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,225 (0.51/day)
Likes
906
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/Backup/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.9/X5650@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Asus P6TD Deluxe/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Coolermaster TPC-800/Antec C40
Memory HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Corsair Vengeance 10GB/Crucial Balistix Tactical 4GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 FE/GTX 690/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/OCZ Trion 100/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c + Asus VC239H + Sammy T200/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Aerocool Aero-500/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX+SMSL SA50(Tannoy F1)/AMD HD/ Intel HD Audio+ Logi Z323
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair TX650/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit
#6
I've tried disconnecting the PWN 4 pin from the motherboard, as well as changing it to DC and Auto modes. No changes. Still just a trickle everywhere.
That reminds me, I actually had this pump res combo before, it kept hydro locking (same issue as you have), so you have to close it up, put your PC in a horizontal position, but make sure the pump is covered by water, that way it will force all the air bubbles into the res and the water will start flowing properly.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
4 (0.67/day)
Likes
0
#7
I've been running it with the fill port at the top open to get air bubbles out, but I'll give the horizontal method a shot.

I'm positive the pump is defective at this point. Using my multimeter in a few different jumpers I've ensured that 5 volts is going directly to the pwm jumper and it still does not turn on. It still continues to run in this limp mode.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,105 (0.83/day)
Likes
645
Location
Long Island
#8
Yu have way too much air in that system and running dry can kill it. Filled the red to top ? Pump being fed by res which is higher ? No top ports in radiator ? If so open one of those ....

You need an open port downstream of the pump and higher than the loop. Open a top port on radiator or if that's not possible.....

One option .... put an tee below the top rad ... than elbow up with a rigid tube to about 8 inches above the radiator. Leave res cracked and fill thru the new 8" riser .... when air expelled from reservoir top, seal reservoir, fill riser tube ,,,, Plug or hold thumb on top of riser and start pump..... bleed out air till riser empty, fill tube again, repeat as necessary
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,225 (0.51/day)
Likes
906
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/Backup/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.9/X5650@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Asus P6TD Deluxe/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Coolermaster TPC-800/Antec C40
Memory HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Corsair Vengeance 10GB/Crucial Balistix Tactical 4GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 FE/GTX 690/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/OCZ Trion 100/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c + Asus VC239H + Sammy T200/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Aerocool Aero-500/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX+SMSL SA50(Tannoy F1)/AMD HD/ Intel HD Audio+ Logi Z323
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair TX650/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit/Win 10 Pro 64Bit
#9
I'm pretty sure the pump supposed to be running at 12 volts not 5 to reach its full speed
 
Top