• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Daniel Kawakami Realtek X-Fi drivers (these actually work on vista)

FryingWeesel

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
132 (0.03/day)
http://danielkawakami.blogspot.com/

Compiled by Daniel Kawakami on April 22, 2009
=============================================

This driver properly supports X-Fi MB software.

- Windows XP 32-bit and 64-bit (WHQL, no prompt during install)
- Windows Vista 32-bit and 64-bit (Warning during install)


How to install this driver:

- uninstall the X-Fi MB Software, reboot.

- uninstall Ketxxx's driver, reboot.

- install this driver, reboot.

- install the X-Fi MB Software, reboot.



Some Q&A:
========


- Why Ketxxx's driver works on XP?

Because the generic XP driver install Creative filter drivers
automatically.

32-bit: AMBFilt.sys and Monfilt.sys
64-bit: AMBFt64.sys and Monft64.sys

No need to change the Realtek HD Audio string like he did.

People need to learn that changing a device name mean nothing.

I could rename it to "Realcrap Audio" and it would still work.

This is the same Robert McClelland (PAX) does, simply put his own tag in
the device name and makes absolutely no improvements.



- Why Ketxxx's driver doesn't work on Vista?

Because he simply changed the "Realtek HD Audio" string to "Realtek X-Fi".

This doesn't affect the way the driver works. It is just a name.

No manufacturer uses the device name to validate it.

Because his driver is the same as the Realtek driver, there are missing
Creative files and registry entries.

Open Device Manager, locate the "Realtek X-Fi" device and open its
properties. Click on the Driver tab then "Driver Details".

For Vista 32-bit, these files are required:
MBAPO32.dll
MBPPCn32.dll
MBppld32.dll
MBWrp32.dll
APOPCH.exe

For Vista 64-bit, these files are required:
MBAPO32.dll
MBAPO64.dll
MBPPCn64.dll
MBppld64.dll
MBWrp64.dll
APOPCH.exe

There will be no matches.



- So why Ketxxx's driver gives me a quality improvement on Vista?

Because you believe it so. That's the infamous placebo effect.

His driver does not install any of the Creative files required to
support the X-Fi MB features.

You should also know that filter drivers (XP) and APOs (Vista) cannot
improve the audio quality.

A filter/APO runs ontop of an audio driver and it simply adds
effects to the audio.

The resulting audio quality is limited by the DACs in the codec.



- What about Ketxxx's RMAA improvements on Vista?

Either he is cheating everyone or he did not properly configure the mixer
controls before running the tests.

the quote above is from what amounts to a readme in the driver pack.

I am also going to upload the driver pack to zshare since i hate rapidshit(what DK used)
Realtek_XFi_MB_R221.exe - 25.78MB

thanks to ShRoOmAlIsTiC for the links, I hope this helps all the vista users out there, these are working great for me.

also gonna quote the blog post incase somebody cant load the page( 2 ppl I linked couldnt get the page to load)

Daniel_K

Apr 21, 2009
Proper Realtek / VIA HD Audio driver for X-Fi MB Software
X-Fi software is NOT a retail product, is intended to be sold to owners of a few motherboards.

It does work with the motherboards it was designed for.

If one cannot properly mod a driver, don't blame the manufacturer for your lack of expertise.

In response to many requests, I've modified the driver.

See ya.

Realtek HD Audio codecs:

- Read the XFi_MB_Information.txt for more details.

http://rapidshare.com/files/224367326/Realtek_XFi_MB_R221.exe (25.7Mb)
For Windows XP 32-bit and 64-bit WHQL, supports X-Fi MB and does need modifications.
For Windows 7/Vista 32-bit and 64-bit, modified to add X-Fi MB support.


VIA HD Audio codecs:

http://rapidshare.com/files/224588821/VIA_HDA_XP_Vista_Win7_v6.71.32.090107.exe (14.6 Mb)
For Windows XP and Vista, 32/64 bit WHQL, supports X-Fi MB and does not need modifications.
Posted by Daniel Kawakami at 11:26 PM Links to this post

EDIT: adding link to creative software since some ppl are dence you need to download the software sepratly from the drivers same as with kets drivers, diffrance here, the vista drivers WORK and arent a hackjob.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=LKKQMX2F
 

Attachments

  • XFi_MB_Infomation.txt
    2.4 KB · Views: 2,232
Last edited:

FryingWeesel

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
132 (0.03/day)
little tip, IF you remove the creative software, you will likely need to reinstall the driver to get back the EQ settings and some other stuff, i removed the creative software after testing and went back to just using alchemy universal and 3dsound back as they use less resorces and work as well(or better) then the x-fi software kit(also that trial bullshit sucks)
 

seriousClown

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Running Vista 64, Realtek ALC888S

I followed the instructions exactly, however, the software does not work.

Every application gives an error "cannot detect compatible hardware", only Alchemy and the (useless) volume control will open at all.

I don't see any point for anyone to install these drivers...
 

wakawakawaka

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
its not, it worked for me, the drivers do add function that kets do not, and it worked with alchemy for me, so i dont know what to tell you.

could be he was asked to take them down by creative since there are issues with the creative x-fi mb software on vista, i dont know why it worked for me, but it worked,
 

seriousClown

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
its not, it worked for me, the drivers do add function that kets do not, and it worked with alchemy for me, so i dont know what to tell you.

could be he was asked to take them down by creative since there are issues with the creative x-fi mb software on vista, i dont know why it worked for me, but it worked,

Could you please share your specs. Motherboard model and OS (Vista 32? 64?)
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,911 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
this thread was started by a user for trolling and ban evasion.

these drivers do *nothing* different to kets in vista. anyone saying otherwise is pulling your leg.
 

wakawakawaka

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
biostar ta770
a64 x2 6000+(windsor f3)
6gb ram
server 2008 x64(same os as vista x64 just less services and crap pre-enabled)

i removed the base realtek drivers, ran driver sweeper and drivercleaner.net on both realtek and creative, then installed these drivers, restarted, and installed alchemy from the x-fi mb pack, The x-fi software is blah anyway, but I figuared I would give it a shot, I can say that these drivers have let me get eax3 and 4 enabled in game without having to stick the games in alchemy, sold older games needed to be added to alchemy list, but most just seem to work.

also the DK drivers "bass management" seems to work where the default realtek drivers didn't work, or didn't work properly.

one warning, IF you have voices not work in movies, somehow you enabled voice cancellation, in control panel you need to go into speeker properties and uncheck it, im not sure how it got enabled( think the realtek mb software may have done it when I removed it) but a quick uncheck of the box and voices where back :)

cant explain why it works for me and not for other but well it workes.
 

wakawakawaka

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
this thread was started by a user for trolling and ban evasion.

these drivers do *nothing* different to kets in vista. anyone saying otherwise is pulling your leg.

humm, didnt you say in kets thred that you/mods dont talk about infractions of banns?
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,911 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
humm, didnt you say in kets thred that you/mods dont talk about infractions of banns?

its kinda obvious when the OP's name says 'banned' next to him.
 

Heatbag

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Location
Winnipeg
System Name Game Rig
Processor Core i5 2500k @ 4.45GHZ
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD65 G3
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16 GB of Samsung lopro DDR3 @2000mhz cas 9
Video Card(s) MSI N570GTX OC
Storage 1x Corsair force3 120GB 1x OCZ Vertex2 60GB 2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
Display(s) LG W2442PA
Case AZZA Hurrican 2000
Audio Device(s) auzentech XFi Forte
Power Supply Xigmatech 710watt
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
I did get this to work as well on vista 32, but it is a really stripped down version of the creative console. I have a whopping 3 options consisting of SVM or sound volume management, CMSS 3D or the crystalizer. None of them tweakable. Unless I am missing something. Unfortunatly the only way to get the x fi software to work is follow the steps in the OP's post.
 

Heatbag

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Location
Winnipeg
System Name Game Rig
Processor Core i5 2500k @ 4.45GHZ
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD65 G3
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Memory 16 GB of Samsung lopro DDR3 @2000mhz cas 9
Video Card(s) MSI N570GTX OC
Storage 1x Corsair force3 120GB 1x OCZ Vertex2 60GB 2x Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
Display(s) LG W2442PA
Case AZZA Hurrican 2000
Audio Device(s) auzentech XFi Forte
Power Supply Xigmatech 710watt
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Anyone know if this is really Daniel K's blog? I see there is a new driver up. I pm'd him on the creative forum with no reply as of yet. Anyone else trying to find out if it is his blog?
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,911 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
aww. daniels blog says bad things about us people who listened to KetXXX.

well, screw that. the only reason daniel_K has even attempted this, is because ketXXX tried first - and succeded, at least in XP.

Daniel_K's rudeness and ket's hatred of vista aside, i present thee a screenshot.



Crystaliser is so pathetic, it sounds like an EQ tweaker... which i guess is all it is (mostly seems to boost bass and treble)
 
Last edited:

seriousClown

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
aww. daniels blog says bad things about us people who listened to KetXXX.

well, screw that. the only reason daniel_K has even attempted this, is because ketXXX tried first - and succeded, at least in XP.

Daniel_K's rudeness and ket's hatred of vista aside, i present thee a screenshot.

http://img.techpowerup.org/090425/Daniel_K wins.jpg

Crystaliser is so pathetic, it sounds like an EQ tweaker... which i guess is all it is (mostly seems to boost bass and treble)


Xfi-MB software pack still doesn't work for me. Installed DK's 2.22 on Vista64, ALC888S on Asus IPIBL-LB motherboard.

Prior to installing, uninstalled all realtek/creative software/drivers. Restarted, then ran Driver sweeper, restarted and then followed installation instructions.

When luanching audio console, it says cannot find supported device.

Has anyone gotten it to work on VISTA64 with Realtek ALC888S?

Also, insterestingly the DK version does not require me to disable driver signing.

Did you guys who got it to work do Full install or Custom?
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,911 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Xfi-MB software pack still doesn't work for me. Installed DK's 2.22 on Vista64, ALC888S on Asus IPIBL-LB motherboard.

Prior to installing, uninstalled all realtek/creative software/drivers. Restarted, then ran Driver sweeper, restarted and then followed installation instructions.

When luanching audio console, it says cannot find supported device.

Has anyone gotten it to work on VISTA64 with Realtek ALC888S?

Also, insterestingly the DK version does not require me to disable driver signing.

Did you guys who got it to work do Full install or Custom?

I did custom. didnt install the stuff i didnt want. I didnt run driversweeper either.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
906 (0.14/day)
Location
La Quinta, CA
System Name The Shroomiest One!
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8gb Team Dark Pro 3200C14
Video Card(s) Evga Rtx2070 Black
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB / 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital 2Tb Black
Display(s) LG 42" HDTV LED 1080p
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite Grey
Audio Device(s) SoundBlasterX AE-5
Power Supply EVGA 1000w Supernova
Mouse Razor Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
anyone have a different link other then rapidshare for the dk r2.22 x-fi drivers? Rapid shares not letting me download for some reason
 

hema

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
me too
I need a different link other then rapidshare and zshare link for last driver
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,226 (0.24/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name Silent allround
Processor i5 750 @ 3,0Ghz 1.04v / 3.4Ghz 1.11v/ 3,6Ghz 1.15v
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-USB3
Cooling Thermalright IFX-14 + Scythe Slip Stream 140mm @ 600RPM
Memory 2 x 4GB Samsung M378B5273DH0-CH9 @ 2000 MHz 9-10-10-27 T1
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5870 Vapor-X @ 940/1270
Storage Intel Postville 80GB SSD & Western Digital Green 2TB
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2412M
Case Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2 with Unified Drivers
Power Supply Nexus NX-5000 R3 530W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Super pi 1M : 8,549s @ 4,7Ghz (Core i7 920)
I'm going to try this as well
 

seriousClown

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
theres a a new fixed vista version up.


EDIT:

after trying these new fixed drivers, in combination with the updated XFI MB software pack, I've got all the creative software working FINALLY. For som reason it had never worked before with Ketxxx's (no offense to him).
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
54,911 (8.35/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to either 1500Mhz 0.737v | 1700Mhz 0.75v | 1900Mhz 0.9v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
theres a a new fixed vista version up.


EDIT:

after trying these new fixed drivers, in combination with the updated XFI MB software pack, I've got all the creative software working FINALLY. For som reason it had never worked before with Ketxxx's (no offense to him).

kets never had the software working in vista. Kets worked fine in XP however.
 

huntersvk

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
not working in my Dell Studio 1555
It has "IDT 92HD73C1 Audio" i think

The software is saying "NO supported audio device found"

OS:Vista 32bit
 
Top