• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DDR4 Dual Channel ? ? ?

HC1Gunner

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Its been awhile since I've built a new PC. I'm either installing a total 32GB or 64GB of RAM. If my memory serves me right, Dual Channel uses the first (2) dimm slots. Meaning that if you're running a total of 32GB, your system will see better performance if you buy a memory kit that is (2) sticks of 16GB, verses buying a kit that is (4) sticks of 8GB, as only the first two dimm slots are "dual channel".
Am I correct in my thoughts?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,470 (0.26/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
Its been awhile since I've built a new PC. I'm either installing a total 32GB or 64GB of RAM. If my memory serves me right, Dual Channel uses the first (2) dimm slots. Meaning that if you're running a total of 32GB, your system will see better performance if you buy a memory kit that is (2) sticks of 16GB, verses buying a kit that is (4) sticks of 8GB, as only the first two dimm slots are "dual channel".
Am I correct in my thoughts?
If you buy 4 matching sticks they will all be in dual channel mode. 2 sticks depends on the motherboard it's not always the first 2 slots, sometimes it can be slot 1/3 2/4 etc depends on the particular board in that case
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,168 (1.94/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory F4-4000C18D-32GVK @ 16-20-20-24-64 1.40v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
most boards these days skip a slot x M x M or M x M x
where m=memory consult your board manual for the proper dual channel config
and no in quad stick configs two sticks share a channel, that being said its generally accepted that two sticks are better then 4 not only for future expansion but its easier on the imc which can be a factor at higher frequencys (>3866)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
17,334 (3.31/day)
Location
UK\USA
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 2x8GB \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB Sabrent 1TB Rocket
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG 43UN700
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 650w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Yes better get the manual out for best confiig these days.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,210 (5.31/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
No need to worry about slot orientation for dual channel until you get a board, as said they are different and the web pdf or paper manual will clear that up
I would download in advance the boards pdf to get info on it I was thinking of buying.
 

HC1Gunner

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
New boards uses the 2nd (A2) and 4th (B2) slots for dual channel with (2) sticks.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
331 (0.15/day)
System Name My system is my pet?
Processor Intel Core i5 9400f 2.9GHz/4.0 Turbo (NoOC)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370M D3H rev. 1.0
Cooling An okayish Cooler but it is better than Intel's stock
Memory Corsair Red Line 8x2 16GB 3000MHz (NoOC) DDR4-3000 15-17-17-35 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R) V1.35 ver 4.24
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce MSI 980 Ti Golden Edition (NoOC)| Spare: GTX 650 Ti 1 GB
Storage Samsun 860 EVO 1 TB | Spare: WDC Black 930 GiB WD1003FZEX
Display(s) Asus VG248QZ 1920x1080 144hz 24" (Current: 60hz, because Contrast is lowered with 60+ Hz)
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair 850W RMi power supply (Overkill I know -long story-)
Mouse Logitech M187 wireless (First day of use 30-9-2021)
Keyboard Logitech K120 USB Cable
Software Windows 10 21H2
New boards uses the 2nd (A2) and 4th (B2) slots for dual channel with (2) sticks.
Don't just put a general rule for that. Just check the manual for each motherboard you buy as TPU fellas recommend.
 

HC1Gunner

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Let me straighten part of this out, I'm a retired IT professional who has built tons of PC since 1988. As soon as I knew what board I was purchasing, the very first thing I did was download the its manual, that's why I posted the slots as I did, it was not made-up / generic. Electronics are changing (advancing) all the time with motherboards, the rule use to be, to have dual channel, it only worked with using two of the four dim slots. If you placed the same memory type in the remaining two slots, you would add to the total of overall memory, but the last (2) sticks added, do not run as "dual channel". And those last (2) sticks not get used until you run out of memory with the (2) sticks running under dual channel. For all I know, board architecture could have advanced where you have have all four dimm slots filled, with all (4) sticks running as dual channel.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,829 (2.37/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H1
For all I know, board architecture could have advanced where you have have all four dimm slots filled, with all (4) sticks running as dual channel.
All the recent boards I've had suggest populating the 2nd slot for one stick, and 4th slot with a kit for dual channel.
From the MSI B450 Tomahawk manual:
DDR4 Slot Config.jpg
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,168 (1.94/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory F4-4000C18D-32GVK @ 16-20-20-24-64 1.40v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
most boards are color coded with the primary color being your two stick dual channel config
the reason for skipping a slot is that puts the ram sticks at the end of the buss where there is the least noise as well as depending on how the board is wired and what platform you are using
some-boards will not boot if you don't use the correct slots or if they do it may not run at the rated speed or have the full capacity


this is also partly the reason you can get higher memory frequency with two sticks vs 4

I don't know why this thread is going on and on just consult the manual and you will be fine
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,829 (2.37/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H1
the reason for skipping a slot is that puts the ram sticks at the end of the buss where there is the least noise
I didn't know that, thank you.
 

HC1Gunner

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Colored dimm slots seem to disappear awhile ago, most boards, especially gaming or enthusiast broads, the slots are all black now. What OneMoar said is correct, most boards will not post if two sticks are installed incorrectly.
I did look at the manual, read my reply. The manual shows where (2) sticks need to be placed for dual channel. But then also makes it appear that if you buy a (4) stick memory kit, you get dual channel benefits across "all four" sticks. In the past I have never seen any board support dual channel on all for slots.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,168 (1.94/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory F4-4000C18D-32GVK @ 16-20-20-24-64 1.40v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
with four sticks all its doing is interleaving and while boards don't make a point of it every board I have ever seen has dual channel in a quad stick config unless you are talking 10 years ago
but I would just get two 8GB 3600Mz sticks and call it a day
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,210 (5.31/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Daisy chain verses topology mother boards
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,233 (4.86/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I did look at the manual, read my reply. The manual shows where (2) sticks need to be placed for dual channel. But then also makes it appear that if you buy a (4) stick memory kit, you get dual channel benefits across "all four" sticks. In the past I have never seen any board support dual channel on all for slots.

All recent boards work with dual-channel on all 4 slots. Since at least the 775 days, 4 sticks work in dual-channel.
 
Top